We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matreshka

Matreshka
Boxhagener Strasse 60, 10245 Berlin, Germany
0163 9870767
Improve this listing
Ranked #707 of 5,899 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We do not regret our decision to try Matreshka during our week in Berlin. We did not have a reservation and arrived at about 8:45 pm. We were told that a table would be available in about 20 minutes, so we came back after a short walk. The table was just being cleared and the owner welcomed us explained that he would translate the Russian menu for us. He was very personable and explained what each dish was and he explained how the pricing worked (a main dish, a starter, and a dessert for a "prix fixe". He also came over with the vodka bottle on more than one occassion. We both had pelmeni (chicken/pork) and we each had a different soup. All were delicious and the prices were very reasonable. And the staff were warm and friendly. Two thumbs up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just like mama makes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Great food at great prices! Friendly service in German, Russian and English. Pilmeni just like mama makes! And the vodka - brilliant! Well worth a visit :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

When we were here the staff was one short, but did a terrific job anyway. The food felt gunine and the staff was incredibly nice and spoke good English. The place has a nice atmosphere too even though it may look a little simple at the first glance. The food is made with love and not pricy at all. Extra plus for the dessert-vodka!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fantastic food, full of flavour and well prepared. The Beef Stroganoff was wonderful, the beef was very tender and well spiced. The soups and blinis are very good too. Good-sized portions to fill you up.

It's a small restaurant and hard to get a table around dinner time. Reservations recommended, especially during the weekend and when you're with a group.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, bc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of the best meals I've had in Berlin, rich, tons of flavor, I'll be back as often as I can before I leave.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matreshka also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Matreshka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matreshka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.