We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great East-European food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matreshka

Matreshka
Boxhagener Strasse 60, 10245 Berlin, Germany
0163 9870767
Improve this listing
Ranked #229 of 5,816 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great East-European food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I can't claim to be any kind of expert on East-European food, but I can certainly say that the food here is excellent. Some of the food is standard East-European dishes that you can get in plenty of other Berlin restaurants (e.g. goulash, stroganoff), but the standard here is exceptionally good. Other things are more unusual, such as the pelmeni dumplings: absolutely delicious! It's also extremely good value.

It's a small and simple restaurant: pleasant decor, but nothing fancy. Booking advisable as there aren't many tables. A nice place to enjoy a dinner with friends and try something a bit different.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

What can I say- it is even better than my grandmother cooks. I am Ukrainian and in this restaurant you can try food as we cook it and like it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“What a place, what a taste.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is located in the Ostkreutz area of Berlin, when you get of the S-bahn you kinda worry if you are on the right spot, but then you get into the streets and the authentic nightlife of Berlin reveals itself. Matreshka is definitly not a flashy restaurant, the interior is minimalistic and quite boring. The atmosphere on the other hand is just the opposite. Lively and exploding. The chef is the young owners mum, and we all know that mums food, is great food. We started of with borscht and a layered salad of beetroot, potato and carrot. Then we had moskower schnitzel and kartoffelnie zrazi. The schnitzel is perfectly cooked. Mash potatoes are fresh and homemade, and the free vodka keeps making you happy. David the owner, has done a great job with this place. And he takes good care of his customers. Although service can be a bit slow. There are also loads of bars in the area so if you want the night to continue. And away from tourist traps and poor service this is the place to go. If you however fall into the category spoiled bratt - you are probably better of not going!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy Russian restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Good food and excellent value for money. Nice and polite service. Menu in German only but the staff speak English very well. Cozy atmosphere, mainly locals.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My first ever visit to a Russian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have a very open mind when it comes to explore new cusines from around the globe, and visiting the Russian Matreshka restaurant was a very surprise.

The establishment is very clean, this includes plates, cutlery and the rest room. The decore is very modern and minimalisti with a very responsive waiter.

I visited the Matreshka with my mother on the 03/09/12 and we had 2 starters "Borscht soup" and 2 portions of "Kartoffelschnitzel" with mushrooms and garnished with an appetising salad, which was delicious. Looking at the quality of the food, and the way it was presented one could
escape the praise the cook enough for this truly International meal cooked very much in a Jewish style.

The total bill come to just over Euro 23, which included the starter, the main meal and one glass of fine wine, and a glass of mineral water, which presented an excellent value for money.

And as a big surprise 2 glasses of Vodka where served on the house.

Come early or make a booking in advance if you come after 5.00 P.M.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matreshka also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Matreshka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matreshka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.