We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long March Canteen

Long March Canteen
Wrangelstr. 20 | Ecke Pückler, 10997 Berlin, Germany
01788849599
Improve this listing
Ranked #962 of 5,978 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $13 - $53
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The new chinese place in town! Fresh original food with a modern touch served on trolleys to your table. Great interior and a charming service plus a cool basement bar round up an evening you´ll tell your folks back home about.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had the Tascehckrabs, which was really good, the baby squid Spiess and the chicken Spiess, also excellent. The steamed dumplings with prawns were the best ever tried. Drinks are a bit overpriced and not of very good quality (only an impression, not a fact). To become the best restaurant in town, it could be a little bit less pricey and have a better wine list.
I will go back.
They have a guardrobe, wooden interiors, and if you go down the stairs you'll find yourself in the real Berlin underground ambiance: tables where you can smoke, and toilets (not so clean). It is excellent with your friends and clients, and also for a romantic dinner. We were with some people we had just met at a vernissage, and something unpleasant happened with the tip (the owner or waiter was not happy with the amount of tip left. Not sure about the details, but seemed a bit inappropriate - they also left us deal with splitting the bill among 10 people, which is uncommon in Berlin, and maybe that's why the misunderstanding. I think, anyway, that no one should ever point out that the tip is too low. It is off, and tips are voluntary, so...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chinese food totally reinvented OR the perfect Chinese tapas place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This is the perfect Asian restaurant you can imagine. Dim Sum galore in the wildest variations. Great ambience with perfect lighting. Cool crowd and lovely food. Totally high-tech with every Apple gear imaginable. Super friendly and accommodating staff.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“C O O L!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is amazing; cool atmosphere, excellent food, attentive service. Do try it if you get the chance!

I really liked the simple yet cool style of this place: quite minimalistic and pleasently dark; a few big round tables, modern reinterpretation of those we all know from classic Chinese restaurant, and several plain wood rectangular tables and benches allow bigger parties to feel comfortable too. We were just two on this occasion and shared a bench with other people.

The service is very good, corteous, fast, precise. We've been served by a superfriendly Argentinian guy who's fluent in several languages and very knowledgeable about the food served.

The offer is very big and everything we've tried was absolutely spot on. It's a dim sum restaurant, so you'll find all sorts of small cold and warm dishes, from dumplings to spring rolls, to fish or meat skewers, just to mention a few. We've tried some tasty baked spring rolls, filled with entrecote (unusual but really nice!), the pork belly with baby asparagus (so tasty!) and three different types of steamed dumplings: I can highly recommend the "deluxe" ones (fish filling, so delicate in their taste, not at all..."fishy") and the big sweet pork dumpling (amazing!). The pork/caviar ones are good too, but not as good as the other two. Oh! The cold starters are good too: we tried the grilled tuna/beetroot combination and some spicy beef.

Prices are quite modest for the quality offered, I'd say. 70 Euros for two including drinks.

I'd recommend you book a table as the place was almost full on on a Thursday evening.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A real modern Chinese.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Excellent food, great athmosphere, attentive service.
Dumplings like in Hongkong on my Berlin backstreet.
Without a doubt one of the better eateries around in Berlin at the moment.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic evening at Long March”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

We had such a great dinner in that newly opened canteen! Lots of different great tasting small dishes that we shared, the round tables with the lazy susi on it are perfectly made for bigger groups. We felt like in the streets of Shanghai... The place is awesome, great design, perfect lights. The staff was dressed in very cool uniforms chinese worker style, and the girls were also very friendly and explained all the good plates. Zhe food was very classic with a modern style, never had anything similar before. Better call in on weekends, it opened a month ago and is already packed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long March Canteen also viewed

 

Been to Long March Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long March Canteen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.