We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Berlin City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Berlin City to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Berlin City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Invalidenstrasse 38, 10115 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Berlin an der Charite)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Standard hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this centrally located hotel. The reception was very nice and helpful, the breakfast was plenty and it was even possibly to eat outside in the garden. We used it also for having a drink in the evening
The elevators was a mess, so slooooow.
The room was not very big but functional enough. I felt that the soundproofing was OK, despite de roadworks, no noise was heard in the room.
The bed was comfortable and even though it was tiny, the bathroom was sufficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHHHC, Manager at Mercure Hotel Berlin City, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Bernd Mensing & Team
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    358
    83
    10
    9
See reviews for
88
256
96
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a 5 day stay in a standard room and it was clean and well serviced daily.
The air conditioning wasn't working so we needed to have the window open for air and the noise of the heavy equipment working on the road in the day and the people traffic at night was at times very loud.
The location is hampered by the U line being disrupted by work which will continue for some time and the Internet was very patchy even in the lobby area.
The staff in the bar were very friendly unlike the reservation staff who were very serious.
We emailed the hotel twice before our stay for help with directions and received no replies.
Altogether a disappointing stay at a Mercure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street, at the front as they are working with heavy equipment from early i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is very nice - the room was clean if slightly small, nice bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location is good and bad. Bad because there is nothing in the way of bars and restaurants in the immediate neighbourhood, but good because it is only roughly 100 metres from a U-bahn stop which is serviced by 2 lines (we could not hear the trains from our room).

I would not have a problem staying here again, but I'd probably try and find somewhere with some nightlife in around it first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a "Privilege Room" (included Wifi, but no breakfast) for four nights in mid May. Although it claims to be in the city centre it's doesn't seem to be within short walking distance to anything of tourist interest. It's 10-15 minutes walk from the pubs and restaurants of Oranienburger Strasse and 50 metres or so from Naturkundemuseum UBahn station, which we did find a little inconvenient at times due to ongoing works on the U9 line which it's on.
The rooms are typical modern Mercure; compact, clean and functional.
If you book one of the cheaper room options be prepared for some pricey extras; internet is 9 Euros/day and breakfast is an eye watering 19 Euro. There's a coffee shop around the corner where you can get coffee and a snack for about 6 Euro, with 30 minutes WiFi gratis. If you don't speak German then TV entertainment in your room may end up being an extra cost also, as despite the flat screen TV having about 50 free channels only a couple are in English, with no free English movie or lifestyle (NatGeo, Discovery, etc) seen during our stay. To be fair, it does seem that gouging for extras is common practice in this part of the world.
If you're hoping to bypass Wifi charges with a local data SIM don't bring a useless iPhone 5. I tried 5 local telco shops (including Vodafone and O2), but none could supply a prepaid data nano SIM.
Probably try somewhere different next time I'm in Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is rated 4 star but however having stayed here I would probably give it a 2 star. I have stayed in 3 star hotels that I would give a 4/5 star rating to. Before arriving I emailed the hotel for directions via public transport and received a fairly rude email. Although the staff were polite and ok in terms of being friendly the hotel itself was not very good. There's no wifi in the hotel which is not what I expect from a 4 star hotel, the hotel has a computer that guests can use but the printer didn't work, the room did not look very clean and dirty tea cups were left in my room which I had to ask reception to replace with clean cups (this was never done unless I asked at reception). The pillows are rubbish, the room lacked space and there was no iron in the room. I also emailed the hotel several times after my trip as I had left a personal item by mistake in my room but the hotel never replied. The level of customer service was terrible and the only good thing about the hotel is location. I wouldn't recommend the hotel and would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is located about 100 mt. from the U Bahn, so there is no problem to get anyplace. No free WIFI in the room. There is free Internet in the lobby. The reception staff was very polite and help us with all our needs, in English.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echternach, Luxembourg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good city hotel (as usual with Mercure) in attractive and quiet location... Sub station only 2 minutes away which connects you to the whole city within minutes... Very competent and friendly staff at the reception...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Berlin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Berlin City

Address: Invalidenstrasse 38, 10115 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Berlin an der Charite)
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Berlin
#63 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#78 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#80 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Berlin City 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern hotel in the heart of the city is the ideal starting point for exploring the vibrant metropolis of Berlin.The direct proximity of the Mercure Hotel Berlin City to the new central station, the government quarter, the Humboldt University and the gastronomic scene in the Oranienburger Strasse emphasises the unique location in the middle of the vibrant metropolis Berlin. The hotel’s neighbourhood around the Friedrichstadtpalast, which is known for its world famous revue, the architectural heritage “Unter den Linden”, “the Brandenburg Gate” and “the German Reichstag” makes the hotel to an ideal starting point for all Berlin visitors. The connection to urban and interurban public transports is perfect. Bus, underground and tram service stops are close to the hotel. And for shopping tourists the perfect place in the immediate vicinity is the Friedrichstrasse with its exquisite boutiques.In 245 modern, bright and fully air-conditioned rooms with shower and WC, telephone, flatscreen TV, safe,high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi, you will enjoy all theamenities of a modern city hotel. Choose between our Standard rooms and our Superior rooms overlooking the landscaped courtyard. Our public underground garage is available for your car.Indulge yourself in our restaurant with outstanding regional and international specialities, complemented by our Grands Vins Mercure, a selection of exquisite wines. To round off the day nicely, our hotel bar with delicious snacks and cocktails is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Berlin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Berlin City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.