We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location, but very nice otherwise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hallesche Str 10-14, 10963 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not the best location, but very nice otherwise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Clean, beautiful, quite spacious rooms and friendly service. Location is not the best; you need to use U-bah or S-bahn to reach Prenzlauerberg and Mitte, which are the nicest areas. It takes about 30-45 minutes to get there from the hotel, and little bit less to Alexanderplatz. U-bahn station called Möckernbrucke is the nearest station when going east and north, with S-bahn (train) it takes little bit more time. I would love to go back to Wyndham grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz, if it wasn't that far away from centrum.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Miss Elli,

First, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us!

I hope that even though the location was not ideal for you, you enjoyed the time at our House.

As Berlin is such a big city, there are always places that are closer or farther away. There are actually several attractions in walking distance from our House, which you hopefully explored, too.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Holger König
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    139
    32
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
171
18
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel is quite new (2013), with very clean and comfortable rooms. For the price we paid on 2013 new year holidays (about 90 eur per night a double room) I think it's worth it.
It's quite well located: 15 minutes walk from Potsdamer platz, 5 minutes walk to the nearest U-bahn station (Mockernbruke, or something similar).
Did not try the breakfast, and for those of you not wanting to spend about 15 eur or more on it, there is a place where you can have a croissant or some other kind of pastry and a coffee for less than 5 eur, very close to the hotel: it's in the street just above the hotel. In that same street there is a quite nice italian restaurant: Diomira. Nice cheap pizzas.
Absolutely recommended!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear amarrako,

I greatly appreciate your kind review and hope that you spent wonderful New Year's holidays in Berlin and at the Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz.

Thank you also for your recommendations which we were happy to hear.

We would be pleased to welcome you back as our guests in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Holger König
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Having researched the hotel and its location, I was aware that the hotel name was a tad misleading. The hotel is about a 6 minute walk from the S-bahn station Anhalter Bahnhof and a good 10 mins from Potsdamer Platz. This, however, did not detract from the experience and it was actually no bad thing for me not being directly in the massive tourist spot of Potsdamer Platz. The hotel is opposite the event centre 'Tempodrom' but this caused no problem even for my room, which overlooked this.
The welcome upon arrival was friendly and efficient although the reception area was a little cavernous, cold and empty. I was disappointed to discover that Internet was not complimentary and cost €11 per day but the connection speed was good and I have had worse for more money. The room was of an average size with all mod cons including a large chair for relaxing, tea/coffee making facilities, enough hanging and storage space, small desk and 'office' chair, plenty of power points, comfortable bed with quality linen, room safe, small mini bar and a fair sized bathroom with power/rain shower, toiletries and space for one's own personal possessions.
Room was well insulated against both outside noise and other guest rooms and I slept well on both nights.
Whilst I did not eat in the hotel (breakfast is never worth it for me and I enjoy eating out when in Berlin), I did make use of the hotel's fitness room in the basement and found it adequate for my needs with cross-trainers, bikes and weight machine. There is also a nice sauna and spa area but I did not use these.
Minor quibbles for me during the stay were
English TV channels weren't working and despite reporting this the first night, the problem had not been fixed by my departure 2 days later
Laminate flooring in room (I prefer carpet but appreciate this is a personal preference)
Hotel shampoo was not replaced after first night - I left about 1/3 of the bottle and had to make do with this on the 2nd morning (I did not report this though)
Room safe malfunctioned and needed to be opened by staff. I didn't trust it again!
Mini bar prices were not value for money (same in most higher chain hotels though!)


Check out experience was also friendly and efficient.

On the whole a pleasant stay in an attractive hotel for a fair price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Mr. P.,

Thank you so much for your detailed review which you kindly shared with us on Tripadvisor.com!

First of all I want to tell you that I greatly appreciate your compliments and I am glad that you felt comfortable and valued our central, but quiet location. I hope that you had the chance to see a lot of Berlin.

I regret that you had technical problems with your TV. My colleagues in the Engineering Department will take care of it.

It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will welcome you back soon.

Kind regards from Berlin

Holger König
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great hotel in a good location to explore the city on foot or by U bahn.

Friendly reception staff especially Sandra who helped us connect with KLM as our case did not arrive until the next day.

Room was fab with amazing tv with good choice of English channels and a city guide as well.
Room had a safe with tea and coffee facilities and a nice view of some apartment blocks that had blue sky sort of mural on them. You could also see the East German tower.

Bathroom was spacious, with an amazing 3 showers and bath. The rain shower was brilliant. Good selection of toiletries.

Breakfast was exceptional. Excellent selection of hot and cold food. Fine selection of drinks.
This is a fabulous modern, new hotel that used to be a former Post office. Definitely recommend staying here and will be agin for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Ms. staremesto7,

It was such a pleasure to read your review full of compliments!

My team and I are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay and we would like to thank you for your recommendation.

I will certainly forward your special thanks to Sandra who will appreciate them as much as we all do.

Thank you again for being our guests and hopefully we will welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Holger König
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I arrived on a freezing Winter's night for a 4 night stay. The staff were very helpful, professional and curious.

My Superior Room (which was a twin), located on the 3rd floor was big with plenty of space. The beds can be separated for individual space.
The bathroom was BIG, with a large separate shower with a huge rainfall shower head and handheld hose as well. No bath though, but I didn't mind. The food was definitely worth it.

There were only two downfalls I can think of. Firstly, the € 11 EUR per day was too much. It should be included in the price of the room (or for a smaller fee of maybe € 5 EUR). However, the speed and signal was very good. The second point is the € 5 EUR fee charged every time an order is placed. This fee should be charged once per stay. I believe these practices are common place amongst other 4-Star hotels.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Mr. sleepyhead2028,

First of all, I want to thank you for reviewing our House and for giving us such a wonderful feedback.

With regards to the internet fee, I understand your concerns and we know that the pressure is high to take steps. We are working on a satisfactory solution for our guests and us.

We hope that your travels will bring you back to Berlin, so that we can soon welcome you back as our guest.

Warm regards,

Holger König
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was a very good experience. My rooms was comfortable and clean. The service was excellent as well as the breakfast. The location of this hotel is huge, 5 minutes from the Potsdamer Plaz center. I recommend very much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Mr. W.,

I was pleased to read your gratifying review full of praising words and I appreciate very much that you recommend us!

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Holger König
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Address: Hallesche Str 10-14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz: Timeless Chic Behind Historical Walls The Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz is a four star superior hotel, located centrally at the Potsdamer Platz. The hotel is ideal for business travelers, as well as for leisure travelers. Since it is ideally connected to the Berlin transport system, a comfortable arrival is guaranteed. Numerous restaurants, bars, shopping outlets, museums and sights are located around the hotel. The hotel's wellness area includes sauna, steam bath, rain shower, relaxation area and a gym. Besides, THE POST Restaurant with an open show-kitchen completes the hotel. The Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz offers 256 classy and comfortable designed rooms, including 19 suites. Air conditioning, LED-TV, safe, minibar, coffee- and tea stations, as well as Wi-Fi are part of the standard. All rooms are decorated with natural and warm colors. Designer furniture made from high quality materials show simple understatement. Eight variable conference rooms on 500m² can hold up to 250 people. From classical conference rooms, to a lounge-like meeting area with a library and an innovative creative room: it contains moveable mirror walls, as well as wall surfaces made from cliff and cork to pin or write notes onto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.