We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, quiet and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Berlin to your Saves list
Swissotel Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Augsburger Strasse 44 | Am Kurfürstendamm, 10789 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #30 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect location, quiet and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hotel is located right in the heart of Ku-dam, near all the shopping areas and next to almost every mean to transportation. Hotel is clean and neat. Rooms are well equipped having all needful for a leisure and business travelers (iron and ironing board, flat-screen TV, comfortable bed, air-conditioning, separate bath and shower cabin, mini safe, nespressomachine in every room etc). Walls are thick enough to not hear your neighbors; still you can hear throw the door the people talking in corridor. Despite the high rate for accommodation, WiFi is free of charge only in lobby and for internet in your room you have to pay ridiculously high additional price.

Staff is very friendly and helpful and with their smile they can make your day.

Pay attention to hotel room cleaning policy which seems to differ from that usually hotels have. The bed linen are changed only in case if you put special note on the bed (usually it works vice versa in other hotels) and if you want to change your towels, you should really throw them in the middle of the floor, otherwise they will hang your wet towels again for reusing.

Breakfast buffet is great and taste. You can order, beside that is already served, omelet at your taste, pancakes and waffles, also coffee as you like it (latte, cappuccino etc). Still, on busy morning you may wait for your omelet for 20 minutes, No sparkling wine/champagne is offered. With fine weather you can have your breakfast at the terrace with nice view to busy Ku-dam.

Room Tip: Although rooms have soundproof windows, the siren from driving by emergency or police car (and for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,129
    477
    103
    28
    8
See reviews for
174
727
144
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Swissotel Berlin comes close to getting five stars, but isn't quite perfect. The hotel is in a very convenient location -- not close to the main tourist areas, but everything is easily reachable by public transportation, which is very close by. I would prefer staying in this location over any other in the city.

The room we had was very comfortable: a good size with enough closet space, clean, very comfortable bed and bedding, and a nice view of the city. The only drawback was the awkward layout of the bathroom, which made getting in and out of the shower a bit of a tight squeeze. The in-room Nespresso machine was a nice amenity.

Overall the service was good, especially the front desk staff. On the occasions we asked for a map or had questions, they were friendly, patient, and informative. The concierge present at the time was less friendly; seemed in a hurry to get rid of us.

I would definitely go back to this hotel; it was a good value for the quality, and I really liked the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Central location on a famous street lots of shops cafes rest ..
Clean hotel
Very friendly staff and very helpful
But doesnt look lıke a 5 star hotel looks lıke a 4 star hotel

But if you catch a good price offer than
Stıll a good hotel

Room Tip: Very very long corridors if you dont lıke to walk too much you should book a room near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Take advantage of joining the Swissôtel Circle, for the many perks it offers after a few nights stay, including free WIFI. We booked a room that included free breakfast, a well-stock bountiful buffet.
The front desk staff were congenial, helpful and willing to go the extra mile. We had an early departure and found coffee and croissants waiting when we checked out. An optional pre-dawn lunch-to-go was also an easy option we were presented. Cheerful staff top to bottom.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in--hands down.

First of all, the location is amazing. From TXL, just hop on the X09 bus and in 30 minutes you will be right outside of the hotel. The central location makes it the best possible starting point to explore Berlin.

Upon check-in we were greeted by the amazing Sandra at reception. She was simply the best and answered all of our questions. Join Swisshotel Circle of Friends for free wifi in the rooms!

The room was big and comfortable and very soundproof--we didn't hear any noise at all the entire stay. Love the Nespresso machine in the room with 6 pods for free daily!

The bathroom had a tub and a shower and the room was very clean and looked new.

The value of this hotel is exceptional--we paid a little over 400 USD for three nights and will most definitely be staying at this and more Swisshotel's in the future!

Room Tip: Room 5043 was where we stayed--was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is great - steps away from a subway line & just 3 blocks from a major subway hub. The concierge were not that helpful or friendly (on our first day, we asked how to get somewhere & he had us walking all over town before we realized the subway was right next the hotel...he should've told us that!). The front desk staff were very helpful and kind but a bit disappointing. They placed us in a room with a terribly hard mattress (it didn't even move when I sat on the edge). I asked for a new room & they said that Americans typically don't like that type as they find the beds too hard...so then why exactly would you put Americans in that room?!?! We switched rooms to one that was decent. The rooms overall are exceptionally clean!

Overall, the location and the price make this a good find and one I would stay in again if I'm ever in Berlin again.

Room Tip: Be sure to say that as an American, you don't want a room with a hard bed (unless you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed two nights in the middle of the week. Front desk give us very good first impression beeing friendly and professional. We were there before official check in time and the room was still ready though the hotel was fully booked. We got also upgrade for free and without requesting it. Service was great all the time, hotel was very clean and functional. Location is near to park, restaurants and shopping street which was perfect for us. No disturbing noises anyhow. From airport (Tegel) it took some 20 minutes by bus each way, bus stop 100 meters from the hotel. Great stay, definitely would come again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Berlin

Address: Augsburger Strasse 44 | Am Kurfürstendamm, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#7 Family Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Berlin is located at legendary Kurfurstendamm in the heart of city center west! Upon entering the modern, light-flooded lobby you will immediately sense the tranquility. The contemporary design, as unobtrusive as the friendly service promises a pleasant and relaxing visit. Guests appreciate the convenience of free wireless LAN, DSL Internet connection, as well as the Nespresso coffee maker in all of the hotel's 316 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Swissotel Hotel Berlin
Berlin Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.