We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Berlin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Berlin to your Saves list
Swissotel Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Augsburger Strasse 44 | Am Kurfürstendamm, 10789 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #29 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booking this hotel was a no-brainer, based on the excellent Tripadvisor reviews and the overall reputation of the Swissotel chain. I booked a room through the website and got the 30% Berlin City Break deal, which includes a free upgrade for a min 2-night stay. Upon check-in, I asked what the free upgrade was and they told me that instead of a courtyard-facing room, I was given a room facing the street.

The location is ideal for my purpose, which is to be close to the main shopping area, and it is only a 20-min taxi ride from Tegel airport. It costs about 16 euros from Tegel to the hotel. As for the main shopping area, it is about a 10-minute leisurely walk to KaDeWe and to many other stores and shops.

The reception staff are friendly and helpful. Our requests were met with a smile and were promptly attended to.

The hotel itself is modern and the rooms are of good size. I like that there's a separate shower and tub. Kudos to housekeeping since the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. I love the bed but only because I like firm beds. I think the mattress may be a Tempur mattress since it didn't have any springs/coils.

Wi-fi access to the Internet is free in the lobby/lounge area but it costs over 10 euros per day if you get wi-fi access in your room. However, if you include wi-fi in advance when you reserve a room through the website, it is only about 6.50 euros per day. Still a good deal, although free would have been better. Internet access is fast though and there is no limit that I know of to the number of devices you can use on any given day.

I also booked the breakfast buffet in advance and paid 14 euros per person per day. Not a bad deal, considering it was a good spread with both hot and cold options. As is usual with any hotel breakfast, it's best to be at the breakfast room before 9am since there's usually a queue otherwise.

Should I ever find myself in Berlin again, I wouldn't hesitate going back to Swissotel Berlin. Definitely and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    475
    101
    27
    8
See reviews for
171
723
144
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I arrived on the 8th of March and was staying for 3 nights , for a tradeshow. The service was extremely pleasant and loved my room with a view to KU DAMM that I decided to stay for another 4 nights which ended being lovely, a very good memory.
Lisa Marie (FO), Natalie (from the restaurant) ( Hi Natalie) were extremely helpful, as well as the night manager the day I left on the 15th.
The rooms are very spacious, extremly neat and clean ( and housekeeping did an excellent job as I felt as home) and the views are also very nice.
The hotel is very modern and I liked the window elevators with views to a garden where there are two cows in a garden...
I ate two nights from the menu at the bar and maybe the food can improve.
Otherwise, everything was perfect!!! ... Even the lemon water at the front desk for guests...
Thank you so much for making my Berlin first time visit so wonderful.
I hope to stay in your property next year.

Room Tip: Sixth floor Kuddam view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The zone were it is located this hotel is not now the most active in Berlin. However the hotel is really excellent. Luxurious rooms. The ones in the upper floors have great views of Berlin. The room prices are high.

Room Tip: Rooms in upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First of all, I have to say, this hotel has one of the best locations in Berlin. It is situated directly on KU Damm, main shopping street full of good restaurans.
So now something about service. We have booked a KDW package incl. parking and some discounts in KDW - big shopping mall nearby.
There was no vallet parking - as in 5* star hotel expected.
There was not enought seats in restaurant during the breakfast - hotel was almost fully booked because of the exhibition and we have to wait 10 minutes while to be seated for breakfast.
Not enough service staff - no orange juice, long time waiting to order pancakes or coffee.
Check out - no one asked to help us with luggage, as also in 5* star hotel expected.
Room and sleep quality - excellent.
They have to work hardly with staff training or downgrade into 4* - in this case, would be best 4 star hotel in Berlin probably.

Room Tip: try to ask for room with a view, if you stay in "inside" room, your only view is on other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Fantastic experience - from the warmth and friendliness of the reception staff, to the "above and beyond" attitude of the breakfast staff the staff really make this hotel exceptional. The hotel is well designed, rooms are spacious and spotless and fit in very well with the surroundings. The location is excellent - accross the road from the U-Bahn and 2 blocks form the Zoological Gardens station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice hotel located in West Berlin.

Close to the Zoo Garden stop for Buses into the main area's of Berlin.

Rooms were spotlessly clean and the reception staff very helpful and friendly. Had a problem with the water temperature on the first day and was sorted immediately with some nice chocolates by way of an apology.

Room temperature was a bit difficult to control and seem generally quite warm.

Breakfast very good, maybe a bit expensive at 21 Euros but a good selection to choose from.

Hotel very modern, maybe a bit soulless but that is not uncommon for this type of accomodation.

Overall a good experience and would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights here with my partner on a weekend break. As other reviewers have said it doesn't look much from the outside above C&A on a busy junction but inside the immediate impression is calm and minimalist. The lobby area isn't opulent with a small bar area and cafe but adequate for a business hotel. Our standard room was simple, clean with a Nespresso machine and a great bathroom with separate tub however be aware that the mattresses vary from rock hard to slightly less so. You can request a topper which makes the bed more comfortable. You can also request a fantastic selection of pillows. Breakfast is an amazing buffet with just about everything you could possibly want and very efficient staff who keep everything topped up. Well worth getting an all in rate if you can. Overall the hotel was exceptional value for the price we paid but due to the minimalist style doesn't feel particularly luxurious or indeed 5 star.
As for Berlin itself we regretted not staying over in the old East of the city as most of the tourist sites are over there, but it is an easy u bahn journey if you don't mind public transport and the Swissotel is perfectly placed for shopping and the zoo. The Ka De We dept store is worth a visit particularly the food hall where you can get a wonderful lunch from virtually any of the counters along with a beer or glass of wine. Potzdamer Platz is also worth a visit but go at nighttime to get the full effect. One tip which we would have appreciated, if you want to visit the Reichstag you are likely to need to queue and book the day before and you will need photo id with you. One final recommendation, if you want great wood fired pizza try the 12 Apostles pizzeria, great food and a good price (cash only)

Room Tip: Reception staff seem to know the mattress firmness so check beforecaccepting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Berlin

Address: Augsburger Strasse 44 | Am Kurfürstendamm, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Berlin is located at legendary Kurfurstendamm in the heart of city center west! Upon entering the modern, light-flooded lobby you will immediately sense the tranquility. The contemporary design, as unobtrusive as the friendly service promises a pleasant and relaxing visit. Guests appreciate the convenience of free wireless LAN, DSL Internet connection, as well as the Nespresso coffee maker in all of the hotel's 316 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Swissotel Hotel Berlin
Berlin Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.