We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, service is terrible.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ku' Damm 101

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ku' Damm 101 to your Saves list
Ku' Damm 101
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurfuerstendamm 101, 10711 Berlin, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Avoid, service is terrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Overall the service was terrible. The reception staff was extremely unfriendly and to a certain extend even rude. The location of the hotel is average. Don't be fooled by the address: it is locate on Kurfuersendamm but not really at walking distance from tourist sites. The rooms are clean but nothing special.

I didn't enjoy my stay there and I wont be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel B, Front Office Manager at Ku' Damm 101, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Meierpat,
thanks a lot for taking the time to review your visit from last November. We are really sorry to hear, that you had the impression that our staff was unfriendly or even rude. We checked again with our receptionists and we would like to apologize for any misunderstanding and, that we created separate bills instead of one bill with all the rooms which actually were part of your company. As your rooms were reserved via an external agency, our staff wasn´t aware that these rooms should have received one company invoice only. As you can see in former reviews, Service is really important to us and all our staff members are always happy to assist our guests in a friendly and professional manner. We talked again to all our team members about your review.

Our Ku’ Damm 101 Design-Hotel is located directly on the upper end of Berlins famous Kurfürstendamm and with our great access to public transport, all parts of Berlin can be reached easily. Berlin is a wide spread city with many different districts (or “Kieze”, as the Berliner says) and our staff from reception is always there to help with any questions. The closest train station is just 5 walking minutes away and the train of the circle line carries you to the North of Berlin (districts like Prenzlauer Berg and Wedding), to the East (districts like Friedrichshain and Kreuzberg) and also to the South (Neukölln). Directly in front of the hotel you have a bus stop (with buses departing usually every 5 minutes). The bus lines M19 or M29 drive along the Kurfürstendamm, with its many shops and restaurant, directly to the center of Berlin. In 9 walking minutes you can also reach the tube station Adenauerplatz.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Berlin.
Best regards,
Yours Ku’ Damm 101 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    181
    63
    16
    3
See reviews for
43
153
39
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is pretty good. The staff is nice and diligent. Not far from the metro. I like breakfasts. If you need slippers or bathrobe, just ask. And they will bring it you. Not far from the street, where the best stores and shopping malls are located. It takes only 7-10 minutes by buss.
10-15 from the main airport. It costs 17 €

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sompting, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very nice hotel the rooms are spacious and clean, very modern interior. Good location, close to bus stops and a short walk to the train station. Excellent value for money, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is located in West Berlin, far from most tourist sites but access to U-bahn (Adenauerplatz) and S-bahn (Halensee) is conveniently located... just a short trip to the O2 land for concerts etc.....

The front desk staff were all wonderful, changed rooms for us very easily to accommodate the need for air conditioning... they were easy to converse with and helpful. There are many restaurants and convenience stores within a minutes walk. The house of the 100 beers is just around the corner....

The rooms are simple and clean. Modern in look...

Its a good quality hotel would definitely recommend it....

Stayed july... family live near by...

Room Tip: Make sure you get air conditioning if you travel in summer....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Ku'Damm is a very special street in Berlin and almost at the end is the Ku'Damm 101 hotel. Upon entering you sense a vibe, see the bar at the back of the lounge area, and find some smiling faces at the reception desk. The staff could not have been nicer, always willing to help and offer suggestions. The rooms were very nice in size and decor with a large white tiled bathroom and very nice shower. The pillows were small roundish bolster like things, easily replaced by large fluffy, comfortable ones. Mattresses seem to be very firm in Germany. We had no issues with noise and the room was easily cooled by opening the window for a bit. Bathroom amenities were very average, nothing great insoaps, shampoos or lotions. Although the neighborhood was very nice, getting to the sites required train or tram transportation. We bought 5 day passes and went almost everywhere. But it did take a little longer as we were located in Charlottenberg. Train stations on two different lines were 5-15 minute walks. The bus was right across the street. We were very happy at Ku'Damm 101.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel is located in West Berlin, far from most tourist sites but access to U-bahn (Adenauerplatz) and S-bahn (Halensee) is conveniently located as well as the buses on Ku'Damm. The front desk staff were all wonderful, easy to converse with and helpful. There are many restaurants and convenience stores within a stone's throw.

The rooms are simple and clean. Ive never been a fan of the twin beds pushed together and separate bed spreads. The smell of cigarette smoke permeates the hallways. Thankfully, the smell didn't make it into the rooms. The hotel is also quiet expect when guests are in the hallways. With no carpeting, the hallways are echo chambers.

My biggest complaint was with the so-called free wi-fi. The free wi-fi is complicated to log on to and only allows you to use 300MB of data per day for free. It then boots you off and forces you to pay. I would rather just pay up front and not deal with the frustration.

Its a good quality hotel and at 68 euros per night. it can't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel B, Leiter Front Office at Ku' Damm 101, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Motowninchapelhill,

Thanks a lot for your review of the Ku’ Damm 101 Design-Hotel. We are really happy, that you liked the location and our value for money. As the hotel is close to train and bus stations, you can actually get to all the important tourist attractions within minutes. The hotel is also located at the legendary Ku’Damm Boulevard, so you can find a lot of nice restaurants and stores close by.

Most of the rooms are non-smoking in our hotel, but we still have some smoking rooms on one floor. We are sorry, that you smelled smoke in the hallway.

If you have problems with logging in to our Wifi network, please let us know and the colleagues from reception will be happy to help. If you visit us next time and you require more data usage than 300MB per day, our business package might be interesting for you. For only 19€, you get parking, breakfast and unlimited wifi.

We would be very happy to see you again in our Hotel in Berlin.

Your Ku’ Damm 101 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Inexpensive, clean and convenient. Staff responsive, helpful and friendly. Want to commend especially, Linda and Carina at the front desk and Jan and Mohammed at the bar. They were all great!!! The hotel is convenient to bus and U-Bahn line, as well as, great Italian and German resturants. Parking is under the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the patio side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ku' Damm 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ku' Damm 101

Address: Kurfuerstendamm 101, 10711 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Berlin
#115 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ku' Damm 101 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like a visit to Berlin to be urbane and relaxed, you will be in good hands at the Hotel Ku’ Damm 101. The superior hotel, located at Kurfürstendamm 101, opened in 2003 and has been making an impression ever since, with its incisive design concept and young team. Zurich-based creative agency Kessler+Kessler, who designed the interior together with international architects and designers, bought into functionalism and purism combined with mellow colours and creative detail. The guiding aesthetic principle from the lobby to the guestrooms was reduction: no frills, no superfluous decor just clean lines and warm light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ku' Damm 101 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ku Damm 101 Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ku' Damm 101, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.