We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best ramen west of Japan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolo Ramen

Cocolo Ramen
Gipsstr. 3, 10119 Berlin, Germany
0172 3047584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 5,649 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Noodle
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Possibly the best ramen west of Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've waited more than a year to write this review because I first wanted to try some of the top-reviewed ramen offered places like London, New York and LA. So two years later I can say with confidence that Cocolo possibly offers the best ramen outside Japan.

Great: outstanding broth, fantastic atmosphere, incredibly friendly staff, good variety of ramen (try Tantan for something other than the typical pork belly ramen)
Good: the noodles themselves are good but probably a tad too firm
Bad: Waiting times during peak hour, only open after 6m,

This is my go-to restaurant for any friends visiting Berlin.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    58
    24
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Best. Ramen. Ever!
If you blink you might just walk right past it.
What a great little, hidden gem in the heart of Berlin.
They food is made at an authentic noodle bar and the music reminds me of anime :)
Decent prices, super quick, very friendly and totally delicious.
Can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice place to have a soup when it's raining outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

There is a choice of six Ramen soups and some Japanese starters. Everything is made behind the tight wooden bar. The food is of good quality and taste and reasonably priced. At the time of my visit the place was over crowded with tourists, including me :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Modena, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Only Ramen, but excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The place is pretty small (not easy to find) and crowded. You just sit and choose your favorite Ramen among a list of 6 (unfortunately menu only in German). We choose 2 dishes randomly and they were both very good! Just lucky? Well... looking at the faces of the other people, it seems everything you choose here is excellent. So I suggest to try...
If you are looking for more japanese stuff, just enter in the next door. It is the same owner!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best tonkotsu ramen outside Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

There is nothing like a good tonkotsu ramen, and a good tonkotsu ramen is not so easy to come by -- and thus, Cocolo is surely a gem in Berlin.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocolo Ramen also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Cocolo Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolo Ramen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.