We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good business hotel, well located but without charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Berlin Mitte

Save Saved
You added Novotel Berlin Mitte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Berlin Mitte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fischerinsel 12, 10179 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Frühbucher zahlen weniger
Ranked #76 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A good business hotel, well located but without charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Good functionnal hotel. Clean, good services.
Globally well located on FisherInsel, at the end of Museum Insel, 10 to 15 minutes walk from Unter den Linden and the Berliner Dom, 5 minutes to Nikolaikirche district. Located on Ubahn line 2 : 3 stations to Alexanderplatz, 4 stations to Potsdamer Platz, But very little animation, bars or restaurants in the neighborhood.
A good business or family hotel without real charm

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with even number located on the courtyard if you are claustrophobic or neurasthenic ! R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    840
    142
    34
    8
See reviews for
645
343
101
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay but the first with the family (3 kids). Accommodation quality is fine, and location is excellent. To me though, the buffet breakfast is a huge draw card. The selection and quality is outstanding and, in true Novotel fashion, the kids all ate free. So under €40 for our whole family to feast is great. Subsequent stay in the Novotel Vienna was no where near as good as the Novotel Berlin Mitte

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived Saturday and stayed through Friday for a business trip, extended for some visiting as this was my first trip to Berlin. After a 30-minuted taxi from Tegel Airport and I arrived at this clean, friendly, well-located hotel. My first Novotel.

Decent sized "Standard" room on the 6th floor... with intermittent Wi-Fi connection from the room (had to use the lobby for a more reliable signal), fine shower, thin towels, shampoo in a bottle not on wall tube, no shower soap only liquid gel. Good lighting and work space with in-room safe. Elevators were quite fast and four of them minimized wait time. Quiet room, good A/C.

Breakfast buffet seemed unusually well stocked.. too many choices to describe here but if you can't find what you want you are fussy indeed. A colleague noted "three types of honey!" Note: if you want coffee right away, ask as you are seated as this piece of service could be slow. A wait person will bring a pot to your seat. All else you will get for yourself. Quite crowded on Sunday, other days no waiting at 7 AM or so.

Convenient to U-Bahn stop and an easy walk to Museum island museums (the hotel is at the lower end of the island) around various construction projects. If you like to walk, not too far to walk to Brandenburg Gate and Checkpoint Charlie.

Hotel staff were friendly and efficient.. and had patience with my lack of any German skills.

Liked that in the evening you could order small portions of each entrée... restaurant food (served in the bar, in my case), exceeded expectations and service here was excellent.

Room Tip: Some rooms on each floor are directly opposite elevators... I'd avoid these if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my daughter for the weekend. The staff were pleasant both in reception and the bar. The hotel itself was clean and well decorated. The hotel is ideally situated and we had a most enjoyable weekend. We did find the breakfast overpriced but that happens in most hotels.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for a week and really enjoyed our stay. Really lovely hotel with clean facilities. Had booked the breakfast buffet. The breakfast was the usual sumptuous novotel array. Very easy to get everywhere in Berlin from this hotel. 5-10 minutes walk to Alexanderplatz and the huge shopping complex there. 5-10 minutes from Museum Island. 10-15 minutes bus ride to the Berlin Wall and Ostbahnhof. The staff were also quite friendly and helpful. Only issues were with having to request hot drinks of coffee/cappucino from staff and given it could get quite busy we were often left waiting a long time for our drinks. Also they could provide more chocolate croissants as all the kids there seemed to want these but there were usually very few provided. Also although there was the usual Novotel games corner, only one game was provided which the kids got bored of after the first day. Despite these, we had a very good time at this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is perfect. A 10 minute walk from Alexanderplaz and 15 minute walk to musuem island and 30 minute walk to the Brandenburger Tor. We flew into Schoenefeld airport where we took the Airport Express Train to Alexanderplaz (20 minutes). The Schoenefeld train station signs aren't very clear so check the Yellow Times Table in the showcase for the platform number. We got the Berlin Welcomecard, good for ABC travel (including airport express train) and museum Island for 72 hours. You need to stamp the card before starting the journey in the little red box at the train station. You can avoid the ticket lines at the museum island musuems but for the Neus you can print a time slot a head. It is hard to find hotels that have 4 beds in a room so this was perfect for our 2 children to sleep on the sofa bed. The hotel was really clean, the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was impressive. Lots of choices of hot and cold items with some German specialties. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Berlin Mitte

Address: Fischerinsel 12, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Berlin
#58 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#88 Business Hotel in Berlin
#93 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Berlin Mitte 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Berlin Mitte is a 4 star hotel in the heart of Berlin, between Alexanderplatz and Potsdamer Platz and within walking distance of major attractions such as Museum Island, the Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag. Guests on a business trip or holiday will find the highest level of comfort in our 238 rooms and seven modern meeting rooms. A restaurant serving refined Mediterranean cuisine, 24 hour room service, Wave Bar and spacious sauna and fitness area provide relaxation for body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Berlin Mitte Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Mitte
Berlin Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Berlin Mitte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.