We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mandala Hotel to your Saves list
The Mandala Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

What a beautiful place! My husband and I arrived around 6am after a long, overnight train ride. We were so happy to hear that our room was ready because we desperately needed a rest! The executive suite was huge. Plenty of room to spread out and relax and the bathroom was just superb! I especially loved the deep tub and towel warmer. Sleeping here is easy, as the windows block out all of the street noise - even the minor construction happening across the street from our side of the building. My only complaint is that we would have liked to have our room a little cooler than 20 deg C (it felt warmer), but were unable to drop the thermostat lower.

We enjoyed the spa on the top floor every afternoon when we returned from sight seeing. Having a sauna and using the foot reflexology path, followed by naps in the super comfortable loungers with beautiful floor to ceiling views of the city was the perfect way to relax before dinner.

One thing we were very surprised with was the quality of the food in the lounge. We had big plans to explore the city and try lots of different restaurants, but we ended up eating dinner at the hotel lounge twice because it was so good. I believe they share a kitchen with the restaurant on the 5th floor, Facil. The first night we had the truffle spaghetti and asparagus soup. It was one of the best pasta dishes I have ever had. Fresh spaghetti and a truffle cream sauce that wasn't too heavy with cream or heady with truffles. Perfect! The soup was served with smoked salmon and was out of this world. The second night we had the nicoise salad and the gnocci and were equally impressed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    195
    36
    16
    19
See reviews for
81
421
80
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed here for three days. The room are big and delicate, the breakfast perfect, the staff very very nice and Service minded. We see no reason to try a new hotel for our next Berlin trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

I've stayed at the Mandala a number of times, and have loved it every time.
Wonderfully attentive staff, beautiful suites, with lots of attention to detail, from the minibar, to the CD's provided for entertainment. I brought my 1yr old son on one trip last year, and along with the cot they provided him with his own dressing gown, wash bag and slippers.
A perfect location to get to wherever you want to go, tourist areas, business, U-bahn, shopping, eating, cinema, it's all there.
A VERY classy affair.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Funny how different experiences for the same weekend at the same hotel can be. Easter in Berlin on arrival we were shown a studio room even though I had booked an executive suite. This was rectified within 10 minutes. When we arrived there the double bed had only been made with one single duvet and two tiny decorative pillows and we had to call three times to get a second duvet and more pillows. The rooms are huge comfortable but not as designy as i had hoped but that's a matter of taste. Everything else about the hotel thereafter was brilliant. Excellent service, brilliant location and a wonderful breakfast with a huge selection of stuff from the buffet and eggs cooked to order everyday. The spa area while not huge is very relaxing and boasts some of the best views of Berlin. Would defintiely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We spend Easter in The Mandala and was very dissapointet of the hotel and its service. The hotel was chosen for its spa, location and because we love design hotels. First the service at breakfast was poor not to mention the selection of food for breakfast which was to be nice very poor. The staff gave a short presentation of what was avalible of warm food two out of three days and all we managed to get was a softboiled egg and some scrambled eggs. Further the spa at The Mandala which consists of two saunas and a sunbed is not worth spending much time in. Our expectations when choosing The Mandala was in no way meet and we will for sure not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Highly rate this hotel - from minute you walk through door you start feeling very spoilt. Superb room, excellent service from Reservation staff, reception staff, all staff in breakfast restaurant who completely spoil you with attention - special thanks to the increadibly pleasant gentleman who makes sure you are not kept waiting long for a table at breakfast - and all handled with a fabulous smile. Superb bar with high level of service and great cocktails offered. Unfortunately did not have time to use Spa - so cannot comment. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed in the Mandala Berlin for 5 nights and loved it. The hotel is very well situated at Potsdamer Platz and is across the road from the Sony Centre, so it was convenient for bars, restaurants and shops as well as public transport. It is also close enough to walk to many of the attractions of this vibrant city.
The hotel is very smart and stylish and our room on the 10th floor was very spacious with a large comfortable bed, walk in dressing area and beautiful bathroom. There was also a good desk if you are there on business We had an excellent view of the modern Sony Centre, but there was no traffic noise to disturb our sleep. It was definitely in the luxury class. The hotel restaurant is Michelin starred.
The staff were all brilliant and spoke good English. They were helpful, polite and efficient at all times. The breakfast is expensive if it is not included in your booking, but if you shop around you can find an inclusive deal. It did make the perfect start to the day as there was everything there you could want, including a large selection of fresh juices.
I highly recommend this beautiful hotel - we could find no fault in it whatsoever and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mandala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.