We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the doctor ordered!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Kurfuerstendamm Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Kurfuerstendamm Berlin to your Saves list
Citadines Kurfuerstendamm Berlin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Olivaer Platz 1, 10707 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Found Citadines ApartHotel easily enough after transferring from the airport by train to the Zoological Gardens and bus to Olivaer Platz. Just a little concerned on approaching the place to see that there appeared to be some major renovation taking place at ground level. But when we walked around the corner our minds were set at rest. From there on, we really enjoyed our stay. The first enjoyable finding was that there is a high quality coffee machine right next to Reception, offering free coffee 7x24. Then our room on the 6th floor was ideal for our purposes. We like to self-cater for breakfast and odd meals, so having a full service self-contained kitchenette, was very welcome. That, combined with a good size supermarket and greengrocer across the street, meant that we were easily able to set up for comfortable, convenient ad hoc meals.

For sleeping, we found the mattress to be of high quality and king size, so slept pretty well. The room is automatically air-conditioned, preset to 20C, which we found too high for our tastes, so we opened an external window, which allowed cooler air (and traffic noise) to waft in. The air-conditioner cuts out when you open a window. But this was preferable for us. The traffic sound was quite tolerable. The bathroom was pretty good too, with good water pressure.

The TV in our room, which we did not use much, was old and poorly positioned. But as this was very low on our priorities, not really an issue.

Internet connection was excellent, which was provided free, after having to read and sign a long 3 page declaration that I would not abuse the service. Maybe its a German thing, I have not seen this before.

The overall location was ideal. Very easy to jump on a bus or train to go in any direction. This, combined with a Berlin Pass, made travelling around a delight. I really recommend buying a Berlin Pass at the airport on arrival. It means that the rest of your travel for the next 3 or 5 days is free. It is a great deal, even includes Potsdam, which we visited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    133
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
137
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

very well situated in the expensive part of kuDamm street- approx. 10 min walk to Gedächtnisskirche. 1/2 hour by taxi from Schönefeld airport/SXF. Across the street you will find a Kaiser supermarket, take away imbiss, bakery and eateries.

Hotel is well kept with free internet/wifi in lobby and free printer, free coffee and water. Breakfast available each morning for EUR11. Lobby and commonareas well kept and clean.

Rooms are well equipped, sat tv, aircon, lovely bathroom, comfy beds, eatingtable and well equipped kitchen with microwawe and dishwasher (tabs provided)- they have a cleaning policy of 1 weekly cleaning, so if you stay less you wont have any. You can buy a daily service in the reception. they did change our towels without a fee.

A great hotel to stay at- only complaint is the frontdesk staff which, with few exeptions, were not all overly friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The location was superb and easy to access from the airport (a quick bus trip). And there was a bus-stop round the corner from the hotel, which made it extremely easy to go out and see the sights. The room and hotel itself was extremely clean and very comfortable, with a great breakfast spread.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Upon arrival (late night) and discovering that we'd been given a sofa bed to sleep (which we were unaware of) on we promptly went down to reception to see if this could be rectified. The gentlemen on the desk suggested we take a look at another room, or upgrade to a newly upgraded room - which had a newer tv, an actual bed, and wooden floors. When we viewed the first room it was dusty though it did feature a bed instead of a sofa fold out, he then guided us to the newly updated room when he suggested that "We get what we paid for, why would we stay here... " etc. When a majority of overseas travelers holidays are still booked by travel agent you aren't always aware of rooms booked.

That said, the location is great and the staff during the day and during checkout were excellent - maybe a night time swap is needed? Travelers arriving at night are probably more irritable...

Room Tip: Request an actual bed! Check for sofa beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The 2 room suites are awesome, with a great view. Citadines has made some upgrades in the rooms and now offers coffee drinks for free round the clock. Lively atmosphere and guests. Fun and young. This hotel has all the amenities you need without the cold decor and stiffness of some other comparable hotels I tried. I mean, who wants to slide their room card every time you need to use the elevator ( like in the Adina Hotels)? The area is totally safe. Definetely recommended.

BTW, staff was - as always - very nice. Had problems with our window and Samy offered to come check it out after his shift was over because maintenance had gone for the day. (Window did work after all).

Room Tip: The rooms to the front have a nice view but it does get noisy because of the QBA restaurant and stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent 8 days in this hotel in July 2012. A lovely clean and modern hotel/studio that has comfortable beds and a wonderful little kitchen that is perfect for breakfast and preparation of light meals - it even has a mini dishwasher! I also have to note that the free "real" coffee machine in the lobby is a real boon! The Hotel is in a pleasantly green area that is neither totally residential nor too commercial close to the (light blue) U2 underground and 100 bus service, although it is can be a bit "fiddly" and time consuming getting to some places by rail as you often need to change trains more than once to go to tourist destinations -stick to the bus instead. All services go to/near to zoo station and you can make your way from there easily. There is a mini supermarket across the road for supplies and a number of good quality pubs and restaurants in the area - although I would avoid eating directly across the road as these places are very "touristy" in quality and price. I have to say that the hotel staff were very professional and eager to help - even helping us choose places to go and things to see.The rooms do not have wi-fi; instead you have to plug in a network cable for which we used a mini laptop. If you want or need wi-fi (for example if you have a smartphone or tablet) you can use the wi-fi in the lobby on the couches or on the veranda. All internet is free. For the price we paid I am really struggling to think of negatives to this hotel - but I would double check the hotel website/give them a call before using a hotel or holiday comparison website as the hotel can offer better deals - we think we paid about Euro 100 over what we should have by using a comparison site!?! The only downside I can think of with this hotel is that some people may expect bed linen and towels changed every day and a cleaner to be in; but we were pleased not to be disturbed all the time and we had a clean and change of linen/towels once which was all we really needed. We would like to go back to this hotel and next time perhaps drive across and make use of the secure car parking under the hotel, we would also be tempted not bring as many clothes as there are professional grade washer/drier facilities in the basement.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are much quieter, but rooms facing the road have a really interesting vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights in Belin during may 2011 at Citadines. This apart-hotel has a good location and it takes about 30 minutes from/to airport. The area is quiet and and staff very helpful. They provide bicycle (12 € per all day) and cycling is very pleasant in Berlin. Room is very clean altough kitchen is small but there is enough place to prepare breakfast. It is not a real bed but a divan-bed but it was comfortable. Berlin is an urprising city and very pleasant with little places.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Kurfuerstendamm Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Kurfuerstendamm Berlin

Address: Olivaer Platz 1, 10707 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Business Hotel in Berlin
#116 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Kurfuerstendamm Berlin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadinse Kurfuerstendamm Berlin is located in the city center west close to Kurfuerstendamm. Kudamm - as the locals call it - is full with shops, restaurants, boutiques, theatres and cinemas. The Apart'Hotel offers 118 Studios and 1-Bedroom Apartments. The cleverly configured apartments have everything you need for rest, work and play - a comfortable living space that doubles up as a home office with free high speed internet access. All apartments have a fully equipped kitchen, TV, telephone, in room safe, iron and ironing board, hairdryer. The reception is open 24/7. Continental breakfast buffet is available every morning at a surcharge. A supermarket and a bakery are across the street. Washing machine and dryer are available at a surcharge. The experienced and friendly staff will help you settle in quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Kurfuerstendamm Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kurfuerstendamm Berlin Hotel Berlin
Citadines Apart Hotel Berlin
Citadines Apart Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Kurfuerstendamm Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.