We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, pretentious vibe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Berlin to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hardenbergstrasse 28, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #41 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“nice hotel, pretentious vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had a free Hilton certificate so I decided to try the Waldorf. It is a lovely hotel and my room was pretty and cool looking. The Ferragamo products smell great. The huge shower stall was wonderful. It's right across from the zoologischer garten train station, so it was really easy to get to. The only thing I didn't love was a slight feel of pretentious-ness. The staff was certainly nice, nobody was rude, it was just a feeling that I had while I was there. I've stayed in some very expensive hotels around the world and they had a more welcoming vibe. But, again, the room was great and nobody was unfriendly. Location was a short walk to Ka Da We department store, lots of other shopping and the zoo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrich N, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Waldorf Astoria Berlin and taking the time to write your experiences at Waldorf Astoria Berlin. That way we are able to review what already works and what we have to improve.

Of course we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit in Berlin and that we exceeded your expectations despite your feeling of pretentious-ness. Please, be assured that we do not want to communicate that impression to our guests.

Should your travels bring you back this way, we hope that you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,
the team of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    91
    44
    17
    13
See reviews for
56
178
47
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

From the moment we pulled up to the front door our experience with the Waldorf Astoria Berlin was beyond amazing. As soon as we checked in...the staff was warm and friendly. The front desk attendant, Andreas was outstanding. He walked us to our room and explained the hotel/room features. When we got to our room our luggage was already waiting for us, which is outstanding when you are tired and don't want to deal with your bags. The staff at the hotel is above and beyond some of the best staff I have ever encountered in a European hotel. I loved the fact that they remember my name! The room was equally outstanding. And you can't beat the location, which is across from the Berlin Zoo, train/subway stations and shopping. Excellent job Waldorf!

Room Tip: Location is across from the Berlin Zoo, train/subway stations and shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrich N, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your detailed and friendly feedback regarding your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Berlin. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be happy to forward your comments to our team members, especialliy to Andreas.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations. It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our staff and service was good and that you felt well taken care of during your stay.

We are looking forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,
your team of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

the room was very nice the servise was correct,not more,we had aircondition at the room at the last night of our stay,they came up to the room to check they said that they have no technitian at the moment,they ofered to change the roombut we were closing our logage and there was a big mass in the room.i think they should take in cosideration this fact when we pay and they did not, i think for luxury hotel we can expect more.

Room Tip: brekfast is 36 eur
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrich N, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your detailed and important feedback regarding your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Berlin.

We do apologize that your visit in Berlin was not to your satisfaction, especially the issues with our aircondition. The mentioned inconsistencies should certainly not happen in a hotel like a Waldorf Astoria with high service standards. Please be ensure that we already working on an improvement with the impacted departments as well as all our employees.

Should you have any further comments or questions please feel free to contact us at any time.

We hope to, despite our shortcomings during your last stay, welcome you again at the Waldorf Astoria Berlin and prove that your feedback did not go unnoticed.

Kind regards,
the team of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Returning to Berlin this summer I chose to stay at the Waldorf Astoria Berlin based on a previous stay. This trip was just as impressive and the accommodation was stunning. I wasn't on the top floor this time, but the room I stayed in more than made up for it.

The best part of the hotel is the staff, from the front desk team to the doormen it was professional and welcoming service. One staff member actually stands out, Andrew remembered my name from my previous visit and welcomed me to the hotel while I was sitting in the lobby. He wasn't at the computer so no cheating there, but a warm welcome made it feel good to be back. I had drinks last evening out on the roof terrace which was comfortable and a great place to unwind and enjoy an afternoon cold drink. The concierge was helpful my last visit and offered some great advice this trip as well.

This will not be my last visit to Berlin and I will expect to stay at the Waldorf Astoria Berlin in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrich N, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your friendly review on Tripadvisor!

We are verry delighted to forward your feedback to our colleagues who will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay. The team at the Waldorf Astoria Berlin takes pleasure in creating moments of magic for our guests. We are pleased that we were able to do so for you.

We are happy to welcome you back in the not so distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance for your next stay.

Best regards,
your team of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wanted to try this sparkling new property whilst in Berlin, coupled with high expectations one can assume when staying at a WA property. I apparently fell for the oldest trick in the book - do not trust the information on the web and particularly the pictures. Good and vibrant use of colors showcased on their website was stripped down to plain white bedding, elegant chaise longue was replaced with a bench and further elements of furniture described also missing. I was told that they had "streamlined their rooms" since opening. In my book, you could also call it downgrading. Arriving at 14.00, the room had already been turned-down for the night. A no-no at this level of accommodation. Keep stripping things further and you'll end-up with same destiny as London Syon Park. The over-promising and consequent under-delivery is reflected in my ratings for rooms and value. Descriptions for the pictures included are from the WA Berlin website.

It is not all bad. Staff try hard to fix things where they can, they are readily and easily available, and the 15th floor Library is a great place a classy drink. Spa area is ok, but for some reason the outdoor space seems a bit underutilized and as a result feels a bit neglected. Comes with great potential though (weather permitting).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrich N, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your friendly review on Tripadvisor!

We do apologize that your visit in Berlin was not to your satisfaction, especially your impression from the guest room. Unfortunately, your room was already prepared for the night. Such a handling is not the standard at the hotel and we have discussed this issue with the team.

Not every room has the described chaiselonge but instead armchairs. Thank you for understanding that we want to show the frequently used rooms in our prospects and on our website.

We hope to, despite our shortcomings during your last stay, welcome you again at the Waldorf Astoria Berlin and prove that your feedback did not go unnoticed.

Kind regards,
the team of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed one night and the hotel was what you would expect. Great service (the guys who work at the door are brilliant) and the room had a double aspect view. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was big and luxurious. Only had breakfast here, sand it was nothing special. Located in a good spot for exploring. I don't often stay in these really smart places, so I enjoyed this experience. I was slightly amazed that the hotel charged 12 Euros for 1 hours internet use. I think that is a bit mean spirited.

Room Tip: On a corner looking towards what was East Germany
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrich N, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Berlin. Of course we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit in Berlin and that we reached your expectations despite a few inconsistencies.

We will gladly forward your comments to our team - especially the doormen - and will use the feedback to further improve the service at our hotel to meet our guests’ needs.

We are looking forward to your next stay!

Best regards,
your team of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had four wonderful nights on the 15th floor of this hotel using our Hilton Honors points. The view from the large windows overlooked the zoo - we could see the giraffes. The windows have parts that open for fresh air, and electric blinds that shut tightly to block out light.

The elegant room had more amenities and features than we imagined. A lovely bathroom with a heated floor and a shower with normal and rain shower heads. The bed was comfortable. Internet was available via the Apple TV system in the room and in the nice business center.

Room service was prompt and extravagant with a full table brought in and all the extras. The cafe provided a nice, low-key dinner and we took advantage of spargel season. Breakfast was very good if a bit formal - egg timers provided to make sure your tea did not over-steep. Oh, and it was EXPENSIVE, so if not included in your rate you might want to eat enough to tide you over until dinner or skip it most mornings.

The hotel was quiet and did not seem to be full.

The concierges were outstanding - we received an email from our "personal concierge" a few days ahead of our arrival. They were able to arrange our train tickets for further travel, make touring suggestions and arrange for various visitor passes.

Leave your shoes in the shoe bag and hang them on your door at night - they will come back polished, at no charge!

If we ever have enough points again (or win the lottery) we'll be back!

Room Tip: High floor facing the zoo is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor A, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
What a nice post! Thank you so much for your words of praise which I will very proudly forward to my whole staff.We would love to welcome you very soon again at our elegant property only one stone´s throw away from the recently beautiful restored Kaiser Wilhelm Gedächtniskirche. Warmest regards from Berlin to the Old Line State!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Berlin

Address: Hardenbergstrasse 28, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte , Tiergarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Waldorf Astoria Berlin is defined by its inspirational environment, residential comforts and breathtaking views over Germany’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.