We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on the way to Potsdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Eselin von A. am Wannsee - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Die Eselin von A. am Wannsee
Wannseebadweg 55 | 14129 Berlin, 14109 Berlin, Germany (Wannsee)
+49 30 2141284
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: German, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Wannsee
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem on the way to Potsdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

On a bike trip from berlin to Potsdam my husband and i stumbled on this delightful restaurant after getting soaked in torrential rain
We looked dreadful ,like drowned rats but the. Restaurant welcomed us and served us the most delicious lunch we have had in a long time
Fabulous friendly service,delicious wine,great prices and the food as outstanding
It truly is a gem ,you must try and eat there

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    40
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant with an extravagant name "Die Eselin von A."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a family dinner in this wonderful restaurant. Outstanding warm hearted welcome by the owner and his staff. Excellent food and small but good wine list with reasonable prices. Try the "Wiener Schnitzel", the best I had since many years and the Scampis with 3 spicy, very spicy and very hot sauces.

This restaurant is really different from many others less good ones in the area. Al fresco dining possible. Easy access with somewhat difficult parking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellence in Wannsee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I first discovered Harry and Die Eselin when i moved to Wannsee. It, now the go to place for my wife and me, for special occassions or to drop by for a nite cap. Creative menu, super quality and great people!

Terry J

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Greatest gastronomical experience in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I discovered this restaurant through the Gault & Millau guide. I was in the area of Wansee lake and this restaurant showed up on the list.

What a great surprise!! The charming athmosphere was a nice start but the best was about to arrive. The cuisine has an Asian touch, but keeping the essence of the Mediterranean ingredients. As appetizer, we ordered a chestnut soup. The scallops with a cream of peas, carrot salad and almonds were just delicious. As a main dish, I took the Argentiean beef tenderloin with a meat sauce, truffle hummus and tomato-mozzarella salad.

The wine list is short but good quality. We had the wine pairing and it was a great choice.

When we went there it was a bit cold but I saw a terrace in a courtyard that looked lovely.

Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect in All Respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We found this excellent restaurant via Trip Advisor and it was first class in all respects.
The S-Bahn journey to Wannsee takes 30 minutes from the Berlin city centre but is well worth the effort. Passing the botanical gardens and 3 lakes, the journey is lovely and you arrive beside the beautiful Wannsee waterfront.
A 10 minute walk over the Wannsee bridge takes you to 'Die Eselin' which is part of the Hotel Petit.
Top quality food - where German quality meets International cuisine, lovely staff and nice wines.
And NO I don't work for them I'm just a lucky English guy who found this place by sheer good luck!
Good luck. God bless. Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Die Eselin von A. am Wannsee also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Eselin von A. am Wannsee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.