We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alexander-Meissner-Str. 1, 12526 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

After arriving at the hotel straight from the airport at 9:30am after 30+ hours of travelling, being told I could check in and go to my room straight away rather than loitering in the lobby until normal check-in time (which is what I was expecting to have to do) was so very much appreciated. Really friendly staff and clean, modern rooms. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks a lot for the great feedback!
We`re glad to have been able to make your arrival to Berlin a lot more comfortable by offering an early check-in. Our reception is staffed 24/7 and we are doing our best to help wherever we can to make things easier for you. Why not make use of our free luggage storing after check-out?

Hope to see you soon again!
Take care, your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    79
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
34
33
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Good location very close to the airport but around 20 minutes from downton area. The rooms were clean and the right size for a family of four or maybe five with a small kid sleeping on parents bed (a large queen size bed and a bunk bed). Parking was free and they have a shuttle to the airport. There is a supermarket right next to the hotel wich was very convenient. They offer breaksfast for 10 euro adults and younger kids eat free (11 and down I think). The breakfast was ok but not the best, they offer bread, ham, cheese, boiled egss, some fruits, yogurts, juice, cereal and after trying other breaksfast spots in the downtown area I realized I saved a lot of money by eating there.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for your feedback!
It sounds like you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport.
To make your stay even more comfortable, there are a couple of things you can add to your reservation, like our rich breakfast buffet for 7.90 Euros per adult, parking and also a shuttle service to / from SXF Airport.
Of course our reception is staffed 24/7, so for any questions or regards, feel free to give us a call.

Hope to see you again one day!
Take care, your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasbree, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This place is very good. Nice staff, train to city centre (45 min) nearby (500 mtr.)
Nice concept, could use the special guest kitchen for prepairing my meal.
It has an exellent price quality value. Very closed to the Airport.


Room Tip: I can't give any tips. It was TOP of the bill
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review!
Great to hear that everything has been to your full satisfaction during your stay at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again one day. Why not check out our other locations, like Amsterdam, Hamburg or maybe Vienna?

All the best, your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Great location close to the airport and offering a courtesy shuttle from the airport and to it for only 3€. Super clean rooms with TV and WiFi. Nice communal area offering drinks and food. A big supermarket is next door and an S Bahn Station is a 5 minute walk away.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Thank you for the great review!
Great to hear that you had such a good time at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte and that you loved the modern common area, also offering a guest kitchen for free use 24/7.

We`re looking forward to welcoming you again one day!
Did you know we also have hotels in destinations such as Amsterdam, Hamburg and London?

Take care, your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

The design of the room was good and it had basic needs and nothing more. The blankets in the bed were thin and a bit short, so it was making sleeping a bit uncomfortable. The worst thing was that the walls were too thin. I could hear the man in next door snoring, I had to wear earplugs in order to be able to sleep. The reception doesn't have any earplugs, so if you plan to stay there don't forget to bring your earplugs if you want to sleep.
The dinner options are poor. They only offer some snacks like pizza and sandwiches. I found out too late that there was a guest kitchen. You can prepare your own meal by getting ingredients from Aldi.
It is 10 min. walk from an S-bahn station, and there are trains every 10 min, but it is far from the city, so travelling to other locations in Berlin still takes a lot of time.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Thank you for rating us!
We hope you enjoyed your time in Berlin. MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport is especially convenient for those with an early / night flight from / to SXF Airport. With our shuttle service you won`t need more than 5mins to the hotel.
The S-Bahn takes you pretty much everywhere and as it runs quite frequently, you can reach e.g. Potsdamer Platz within 35mins. Ostkreuz, which is a popular area with loads of restaurants, bars and clubs, can be reached even faster. Great place to have dinner!
For those not wanting to go out at night, we have a few snacks on our bar menu, available 24/7.

We hope to see you again one day to fully convince you!
Until then, all the best!
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

To quote the great Bill Cosby, "walls so thin you can hear a fly crawl on the other side." Do not stay at this hotel if you plan on sleeping. You will hear everything your neighbor three rooms away does. And to further drive you crazy they disable climate control in the room during the day. So you will boil away on hot days. The TV is mounted directly to the wall. This does not seem like a problem until your neighbor turns on the TV which is on the wall behind your bed. Jet lagged people like to watch TV when they get in so you get to hear everything. I was stuck for 8 days at this hotel. Do not waste your money on their breakfast. It is rubbish for the 8 euro. They also charge for parking which is ridiculous because it shares a parking lot with the Aldis next door which is free. the hotel boasts of sound proofing but it is a total lie. It is incredibly loud and you will not sleep.
The good: They have a kitchen so you can cook your own food and laundry machine you can use for 5 euro. It is next to an Aldis so you can get groceries for cooking. The WiFi is fast and reliable. It is close to the Shonefeld airport. You can jump on the train two blocks away and head in to Berlin but it will take 50 minutes to get downtown. The place has a lounge area so you can meet people from all over the world. The bed was comfortable.
The bads far outweight the goods. There are no restaurants to be had in the area. The food at the hotel snackbar is horrid. Towels for the shower are paper thin. The bedsheets are so thin you can see through them.

I will be travelling to Berlin many times for work in the next couple years and will definately NOT be staying here again. I can think of no reason to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you must stay insist on the north side. My room was above the parking lot and smoking area so I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review.
We are always greateful receiving feedback from former guests and open to constructive criticism.

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport offers a couple of optional services which you are welcome to add to your reservation. Parking at a supermarket is only allowed for a maximum of 2 hours to prevent abuse. If you arrive by car, the hotel has its own parking lot for 8 Euros per night. Arriving by plane, we offer a shuttle service from / to SXF. A rich breakfast all-you-can-eat buffet is offered from 6.30am-10.30am daily.

Taking the S-Bahn you will be able to reach Potsdamer Platz within 30mins. Also many restaurants can be found at Ostkreuz, very easy to get to, or a German restaurant, very typical food, is located withing a 5mins walk from the hotel.

Please do not hesitate to ask for help at our 24/7 reception, we are doing our best to help wherever we can.


We wish you all the best!
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Meininger Hotel Berlin Airport is a comfortable hotel for a budget traveller. Its biggest asset is the staff. The ladies at the reception as well as in the restaurant are extremely friendly, warm and helpful. A big thank you to all of them!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Thanks a lot for your lovely review!
We are glad to have made your stay at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport a great one and are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
It`s nice to hear that you especially valued the friendly atmosphere. We think it`s very important to make you feel home away from home.
Why not check out our hotels in Brussels or Frankfurt?

All the best, your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport

Address: Alexander-Meissner-Str. 1, 12526 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport is located exactly where the modern traveller needs it: in the Business Park Berlin close to Schonefeld airport. The airport hotel was opened in April 2012 and offers shuttle services, early-bird breakfast and soundproof, darkened windows. Public transport connections including airport, city train and motorways are excellent. The roof terrace has swing hammocks - MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Berlin Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.