We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum to your Saves list
Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buelowstrasse 19-22 | Schoeneberg, 10783 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel in December for 3 nights with my boyfriend, and I have to say it was one of the best I've been in. The staff were very friendly, and all fluent in English, which was helpful as my German leaves a lot to be desired.

We stayed in a double room at the back of the hotel, which I requested due to reviews of noise, and it was beautifully quiet. The room was also spotlessly clean, very well heated, and had good facilities (the bathroom was fantastic!). We did however have twin beds pushed together to form a double, with two single duvets, but we didn't find this a problem, and the beds were extremely comfortable.

When booking the hotel, we also pre-booked breakfast, and I'm glad we did, as the selection available was fantastic, and set us up for long days exploring the city. On offer was toast, cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad, eggs, meats, cheese, bread rolls and jams, as well as coffee, fruit juices, and teas, so there really was something for everyone. The only issue was that because the hotel was so full, finding a free table to sit at was hard, so try to avoid going between 9-10am!

The hotel is very close to the Bülowstraße U-bahn stop, and you can get to all the major attractions in a matter of minutes, which makes the Aldea ideally situated for sightseeing. There are a lot of bars and food shops close by, although we didn't go to any of them, preferring to eat out at the Christmas markets, so I can't comment on their quality. I can say however, that unlike other reviewers, we didn't see a single prostitute in the area (maybe it was too cold?).

Oddly the room keys are attached to weights, and the hotel requires you to give them to reception if you go out, but it does stop you worrying about losing them. The reception is 24 hours, and are always happy to help, and they will even post any postcards for you. In the room there is also a list of additional available facilities, including wifi and a valuables safe, although we didn't use any of them.

All in all, this hotel is fantastic, and great value for money. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a room away from the noise of the U-bahn, request a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    403
    224
    47
    33
See reviews for
113
262
96
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly helpful staff, comfortable beds in spacious functional rooms, yes the bathrooms are the "pod" type and are very compact but you will find this in many European hotels of the 60,s and 70,s era? Excellent public transport links around the hotel and a good array of local shops and restaurants for all your day to day needs. Altogether a good value pleasant hotel . Thanks to all for a memorable stay .

Room Tip: The hotel has a floor of 3 bed family rooms so discuss your needs when booking and remember this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel or two nights I. December. The hotel is an excellent location for the city. The famous department store KaDeWe is on the door step with easy access to the sights in the town.

The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly. Visiting in winter it was good to find the rooms were well heated.

I didn't book breakfast there - if you opt for room only there are ample places to eat within a very short work.

The hotel does not have tea or coffee making facilities in the room. There are vending machines in the lobby or alternatively there is a 24 hour supermarket only a 2 minute walk away to stock up on fluids.

TRAVEL TIP: If flying into Berlin to Schönfeld Airport take the S45 train to Innsbruck Platz. From there take the Yellow Line to Nollendorfplaz (only four stops). Out of the tube look for Kaisers Supermarket on Nollendorfplaz - walk with the supermarket on your right and the tube line on your left and the hotel is 2 minutes away.

This is a good reasonably priced hotel and I will stay there on my next visit as I know it will have a warm welcome and central location.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

positives-freindly staff excelent breakfast for price of 7 euros ,negative-shoddy area full of prostitutes and avoid cafe bar opposite at all cost,charged us 48 euros for 2 beers and a bottle of wine,the safe in the room did not work,pillows are very flat and uncomfortable

Room Tip: room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a week in this no frills hotel that is conveniently located near Buelowstrasse U-bahn station. Key must be drop at the reception when leaving hotel. Room are big with lots of space. A jug kettle would fit what this hotel lacking of. Overall I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Location: Nice kebab, Vietnamese restaurant and Kaiser supermarket within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have been to Berlin a "million" times and after a disappointing trip to Nuremburg last year we decided to come back for the Berlin Christmas markets. On arrival at the hotel it seemed like the old Military Barracks I used to stay in whilst serving in Berlin in the late 60s. The build date of the lift was the give away with 1965. We have stayed at the Crowne Plaza, Holiday Inn and Swiss Hotel on previous visits. First impressions were that we should have done that again. However, the hotel grew on us and although it may not be the plushest in Town was adequate enough and strictly could not be faulted. Even the location, although not the Ku'Damm, was two minutes from the U Bahn station. Not quite our style but "gut genuch". Recommended for budget travellers. There was ample breakfast, scrambled Eggs, sausage meat, boiled eggs rye breads and fruit juice, enough calories to walk off during the course of the day, but it could get busy, so choose your time to save a queue. We travelled with AVIOS and I think they ripped us off on price. Not the hotel's fault but greedy AVIOS.

Room Tip: Not sure really except we had a back room and therefore no street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a 3 nighter with Easyjet Holidays for just £120 each including the breakfast which was excellent fare.
In a nutshell you can compare the standard with that of Premier Inn in the UK.
I personally can find no fault with the hotel or staff and would definitely use it on any return trips to Berlin.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum

Address: Buelowstrasse 19-22 | Schoeneberg, 10783 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aldea Novum Hotel is comfortable and contemporary furnishings. Functional rooms in various categories, free Wi-Fi, big breakfast buffets await every visitor. The majority of our rooms are suitable for small families. (3 Or 4 people) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agon Aldea Berlin
Hotel Agon Aldea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.