We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality for a 3-star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum to your Saves list
Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buelowstrasse 19-22 | Schoeneberg, 10783 Berlin, Germany (Schoneberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good quality for a 3-star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Good value for money. Free wifi, though the signal in the room is disappearing from time to time. But the signal in the lobby and on the stairs is excellent. Friendly personnel at the reception. You should leave your key at the reception when you leave the hotel. The hotel card is required when you get back. Breakfast cost is 7,5 euro per person.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    432
    243
    53
    34
See reviews for
122
290
103
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked well in advance the price was extremely favourable for this budget hotel that is clean, friendly but basic in quality. Our twin room was at the front of the hotel, but not too noisy. Breakfast, priced at 7.50 € was a good standard, plentiful and varied. Situated on Bulowstrasse it is not far from the centre. The staff all spoke English to a reasonable standard Nd gave good information on local restaurants etc. my friend had been twice in the past and enjoyed an evening meal there. This is no longer an option though there is a small 'cocktail bar'. Plenty of budget eating places within walking distance and trains to the city centre close by.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimar, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was a nice stay.The rooms were clean and cozy, the hotel overall looks nice.Good and helpful staff.Didn't slept that well because of the Strassenbahn that is driving on the main street.We've spent Christmas there, it was nice.I recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice, the area has all you need, very close to the tube and very cill in my view. My and my friends only problem was with the smoking place, just a small spot outside the hotel, in the cold and rain. That is just stupid to ask some good euros for a stay and let your clients smoke outside like some homeles dudes. Install a bench, make it accesible, do it better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My colleague and I stayed here in early September 2013.

We were in separate rooms on the second and third floor. The hotel WIFI is strong in reception but does NOT work in any of the rooms. Several guests have commented on this, despite it being advertised as WIFI throughout the hotel.

Breakfast was also very poor, some bread, youghart and cerial, plus eggs. Nothing amazing and a 20minute cue to get into breakfast, despite there being numerous tables empty that simply needed clearing.

Having had to work from the breakfast room, as there is only one plug in reception, we were then rudely asked to leave as the room was being 'closed'. The short tubby woman who rudely asked us to leave then ate an entire roast chicken in the restaurant.

When we asked if we could simply sit at an empty table with a laptop, we were told 'NO! We must leave'.

Reception staff are competent but not overly helpful. Location is poor, we are nowhere near any of the tourist attractions or restaurants.

When we returned from dinner last night (cabs are 15Euro each way to the main areas) the side of the hotel has 3-4 prostitutes waiting outside.

The rooms are very basis. The bathroom is a suitable size for a six year-old but to small for an adult. Beds are Ok. When I asked why my double room has two single beds on opposite sides of the room, and one single duvet, the staff said this is normal for a double room?!?

I do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Don't take the word 'grand' to mean luxurious, superior or exquisite; in no way is this place the Four Seasons. Grand is to have a more Irish interpretation here; clean, accommodating, sufficient, convenient. Basic but not unbearable.

Hotel snobs avoid. This place is not for you.

Myself and two friends stayed in this place for the second time coming to Berlin. We found it just perfect for our needs - only wanting somewhere nice clean and convenient to lie our heads down at the end of the day.

Located on the Red U2 line on Bullowstraße, this is quite easy to reach. The station is literally a stones throw away from the hotel. If you haven't come to understand the German rail network busses regularly run on Postdamer Straße - which is just around the corner from the hotel - to and from the city centre.

The rooms can accommodate up to at least three people. While the decor is a bit dated it is clean. The bathroom is equipped with the basic essentials;hair dryer, mirror, shower, toilet, sink. It is small. But if I can do it sharing with two girls then anyone can. The room is equipped with a safe to store valuables etc. but is void of any air conditioning but you can open windows to allow air in to cool the room - this carries with it a risk of being disturbed/ woken by noise.

There is a bar and breakfast lounge which you can avail of - the bar is like any typical bar but if you would like a breakfast buffet and it isn't included in your reservation an additional fee will have to be paid. The reception is 24 hours which is convenient, and the staff (or at least the staff that we encountered) all spoke very good English. And also, there are a lot of small cafés, restaurants, chemists, ATM's, green-grocers and supermarkets in the vicinity.

On the downside the noise levels in the corridors can be elevated at times by noisy guests, cleaning staff etc. and depending on where your room is the traffic noise can be a small disturbance.

All in all a grand hotel like I said. Ideal for the typical traveller. Honeymooners and the upperclass look else where. This probably wouldn't be ideal for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just back from 5 day stay in Aldea Novum. First impressions were not good, girl on reception had terrible manner, so abrupt. Actually three women on reception had appalling manner but one tall blonde girl was very courteous and helpful. The guys were very pleasant and helpful. Pleasantly surprised with room,bright, spacious, clean with daily linen and towel change. Small bathroom but great shower - towels could be bigger! . Soundproofing great, we were at side of hotel overlooking coach park. Breakfast was very good, plenty of cereals/yogurts/jams/boiled and scrambled eggs and cold meats and cheese. Assorted fresh breads and rolls. Flask of coffee on table each morning and great selection of teas. Pleasant staff in dining area. As reviewers have said, 3 minutes from UBahn with maximum wait of 6 minutes for a train, what a service! This is a great value for money hotel. One drawback is that Guest Guide says you can request to stay in your room until 3 p.m. on day of departure our flight was not until 10pm. When we asked. we were told we could stay until 12, after that we would be charged and that the Guest Guide was not accurate!! Wouldn't have thought it was red light district, never saw any working girls/guys. This is a fantastic city, so much history, so much to see and do. Great steaks, great value and customer service in Maredo on Freidrickstrasse. Steaks in Block great too but waitress was appallingly abrupt, my husband went to ask for a menu n English and he was told to "Sit down", I thought he was going to be sent to the naughty step!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum

Address: Buelowstrasse 19-22 | Schoeneberg, 10783 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aldea Novum Hotel is comfortable and contemporary furnishings. Functional rooms in various categories, free Wi-Fi, big breakfast buffets await every visitor. The majority of our rooms are suitable for small families. (3 Or 4 people) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agon Aldea Berlin
Hotel Agon Aldea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.