We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic collection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Musical Instruments (Musikinstrumenten Museum)

Museum of Musical Instruments (Musikinstrumenten Museum)
Tiergartenstrasse 1, 25-48-10 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$90*
and up
Ranked #182 of 999 things to do in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Collection of a variety of musical instruments from the 16th to the 20th century.
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Large and diverse collection of musical instruments dating back to the 16th c. The audioguide lets you know what some of them sound like. Even better if you can afford a guided tour, then you'll get a professional musician who will make you a live demonstration on some of the most special instruments. Very educational for children. Might be a good idea to combine a visit with a concert at this top level Philharmonic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Europo-centric…”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I liked this museum because I like music and I am interested in instruments, but it was really rather disappointing: it's only European instruments of 16–20 centuries. If you go there, make sure you get an audio guide, which allows you to listen to some (too few!) of the instruments on the display; without it the museum would be dead boring. Don't expect any interactivity – you're not allowed to touch anything. (A separate room for children with instruments they could play would be great – why has nobody thought of it?)

The best pieces from the audio guide? A bit of Pink Floyd's "Wish You Were Here" illustrating a synthesiser (or such), and a fugue by JSB illustrating the organ.

What I missed? No saxophones! It could be a fascinating story about how Sax patented a number of instruments derived from a bass clarinet, which are "woodwinds" only in the sense of wood reeds… Also, no instruments from outside of Europe, so don't expect any sitars, etc.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best music museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If interested in the history of musical instruments (or even decorative arts &c), this is your place to visit in Berlin. The MIM collection is one the best of its kind, and especially generous is the selection of high-quality keyboard instruments from 16th century on. For those not yet familiar with the characteristic sound qualities of the exhibits, there is a possibility to loan audio guides. This is one of my must-to-see places in Berlin.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved this museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I really liked this museum. Full of old instruments of all kinds. There is an audioguide for free and you can hear the sound of all these instruments. Most of them are no longer played in the modern times anymore, so i find it very valuable and unique to be able to hear the music the used to make. Very beautiful and interesting indeed!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was in Berlin rather briefly this summer, so this ended up being the only museum I had time to visit. Even knowing that Berlin is loaded with top-notch museums, I don't regret this decision at all. I highly recommend getting the portable audio guides, through which you can hear examples of the instruments that you view.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Musical Instruments (Musikinstrumenten Museum) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Musical Instruments (Musikinstrumenten Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Musical Instruments (Musikinstrumenten Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.