We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Stadium (Olympiastadion)

Olympic Stadium (Olympiastadion)
Olympischer Platz 3, 14053 Berlin, Germany (Westend)
49 30 306 88 100
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$15*
and up
Berlin Christmas Markets Walking Tour
Ranked #39 of 404 Attractions in Berlin
Type: Historic Sites, Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The stadium used for the Nazi's 1936 Olympics. Easily accessible by underground, this monumental attraction is a recommended visit outside the hustle and bustle of the city.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you know your history then you will know the significance of this place and its very special place in history. It is monumental and perhaps is best left at that. It is not to be celebrated or enjoyed it is part of History.

Our guide was amazing and really bought the place alive which is essential if you are to get the most out of this place.

I don't need to say more as this is a historical place so you can do your own research and find out about it yourself and deice if you want to go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    243
    45
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The English Home Counties
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Just a stadium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited the Olympic Stadium due to an interest in the history of the place, ie, Jessie Owens. We did enjoy the visit for this reason, ie, walking in the footsteps of history. However, on the day of our visit only half of the stadium was open, due to a concert the next day. The stadium itself, is just a stadium. It cost 7 Euros to enter. However, we did get a reasonably priced hot dog and coffee from the coffee shop in the stadium, which offset the price of entry.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Surprisingly uplifting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Easy to get to, very striking building, lots of history involved so real link between the city's troubled past and the present. But not in a bad way!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Definitely go here. It's beautiful in a disturbing way, the view from the top of the bell tower is amazing, and the ride out from the city is super easy. Do this. You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Olympic Stadium if you have the time and a car”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It's a pretty amazing piece of history and remarkable structure, but it's also a bit of a hike to the outskirts of town and not the most interesting thing to do in Berlin. I'm glad I went--but we had easy access to a car. Try to get a tour of the grounds and definitely check out the 20 minute film in the base of the tower.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Stadium (Olympiastadion) also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Stadium (Olympiastadion)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Stadium (Olympiastadion), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.