We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mami Camilla

Mami Camilla
Hufelandstrasse 36 | 10407 Berlin, 10407 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)
+49 176 24686552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 5,980 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $4 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Proper Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There are lots of pizzeria's and pasta restaurants in Berlin, but I've been looking for a proper Italian for a while - with good meat and fish and cheese, and freshly made pasta. The pizza is also good - it's like in Italy - but I mostly go there for a three course treat in a nice, quiet atmosphere. You can see the kitchen and it's run by Italians so it's authentic, and they change their menus.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    9
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Missed opportunity...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived, a family with two young boys (approx. 3 years), were in the restaurant. The boys, however, were playing out on the street near the door, opening, closing, opening, closing. The propietor asked the boys to stop, but neither parent intervened. Given the outside temperatures and the draught resulting from the door being opened and closed continuously, our seating was not very pleasant.

However, based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, I really wanted to try the food. When my wife order the canneloni, at 19.00 hours, the proprietor informed us that this dish was not available (yet)? At which point we decided to leave and had a really excellent meal at the Block House...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Homely and quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were a group of 5 that had late dinner at Mami Camilla. The restaurant has a very friendly atmosphere, a simple, white room with wooden tables and chairs. The meny is not big, but more than enough to cater for different needs. Our daughter had a ravioli that was excellent, it was clearly freshly made. The pizza was good, but the ossobucco quite standard. All in all it a very good choice to go when in Prenzlauer Berg.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grazie a Camilla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Giuseppe met the German Helen at the faire (Messe) in Berlin. He fell in love. They decided to start living in Berlin. Quite a common love story, and you'll ask yourself: what does this have to do with Italian fod in the neighborhood of Friedrichshain? Well, Giuseppe comes from Amalfi, at the sole of Italy. His mother, Camilla, runs a cooking school in Amalfi and a restaurant in Amalfi, with the same name. So this little restaurant at Hufelandstrasse is the first foreign branch of famous Mami Camilla. After a long day sightseeing in Berlin, we had a very nice varied vegetarian antipaste verdura with homemade focacia for two persons. Along with a very nice sizzling proseco it totally knocked us of our feet. To top it of i took a little "flan a chocolate", sizzling hot and crispy from outside and almost fluid the inside... I promised Giuseppe to come back in two days. Let's hope this wasn't just a lucky shot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herev laet
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“exelent food and servise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we enjoiyied because of the food. graet piza' saledes and pasta. the restorant is uniqe, a lot of pepole sitting' eating ' and having a graet time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mami Camilla also viewed

 

Been to Mami Camilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mami Camilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.