We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky and stylish places in Kreuzberg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East London

East London
Mehringdamm 33, Berlin, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,829 of 5,646 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Funky and stylish places in Kreuzberg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

When i heard of this place, i was really excited to get there as i love England and British food.
I arrived there to celebrate a friend's birthday and i really enjoyed the interior design and the atmosphere and more especially the food!!!
For a starter i had a cornish pasty, and it was delicious, and for main course a more obvious dish, Fish and chips which was equally delicious. I was also extremely happy to see on the menu Pimms, which is one of my favorite drinks.
It was a pleasant visit and i will for sure get back there when i will visit Berlin again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    10
    7
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun and stylish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was wary of this restaurant from the other reviews, but it proved to be a good bet. Portions were generous , and staff were warm and friendly (not so often does that happen in this city). It's nice having an oasis of Britishness in Berlin's coolest district. Amazingly easy to reach too, with Mehringdamm U-Bahn just outside the door.

The outdoor seating to the side is a real suntrap and a nice place to get some rays on one of Berlin's rare sunny days.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shocked by poor quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went for lunch today for 20th anniversary. Chips and dip ok, tomato soup poor quality. Decided not to stay for anything else. Place smells like a bad chippie (old fat), staff member very unfriendly. Staff member sat on tables when delivering bill and getting money to patrons - never seen that before (yuck). Paid our bill, expected change but staff member said thanks and walked off to kitchen with change - I had not indicated there was a tip (and I would not have given a tip voluntarily). Would not recommend this restaurant. If this is authentic Brit food and place then not a good look for GB.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“I wish I could say it was great, but it was only ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I've been to East London a couple of times before for lunch with friends and also at tea time and found both food and atmosphere very nice. Good choice of cakes and tea, friendly service.

Unfortunately I found things have changed when I last visited for a dinner with my husband; it was his first time at East London and was really looking forward to some nice proper British food, but he was quite disappointed. First of all, we were surprised that the place was completely empty; a little sad when you go out for dinner on a Sunday evening. What a shame; it's such a lovely place, I don't understand why that is, but suspect it may be that the quality of the food served got slightly worse...

The food. I had tried their meat filled pasties before and found them very tasty; this time they weren't as fresh, I'm sorry to say. The stuffed roasted chicken with mash was nice, if a little heavy due to its creamy sauce. Not much meat on the plate, but the price was so low (€ 7,90) that I don't feel I should complain. My husband was disappointed with his rib eye steak; the portion was massive, which is such a shame as so much food goes wasted... The plate was so full of sauce, wedge potatoes, salad and sauce that he did not have enough space to cut the meat properly. The meat was ok quality but not cooked properly: very high temperature in the pan probably made the surface extremely hard and spoiled the taste. All in all, an average dish.

I'm sorry to say this, as we do like the place and the staff is very friendly...and we liked the idea of good, modern British food as there's not many other places that serve it in Berlin...but it needs to be better quality! Hopefully reviews can motivate the kitchen stuff to go back to their initial good standard!

Still, I would recommend this place for a nice tea and a slice of cake or some scones, in the afternoon.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

East London offers a special English roast every Sunday, but on Sunday evening (even after getting confirmation by mail there was still some roast) there was no roast left.
I have chosen a marinated chicken fillet that was quite good. Cheesecakes are ok. Service on average.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East London also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to East London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.