We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berkis Greek Art

Berkis Greek Art
Winterfeldtstr. 45, 10781 Berlin, Germany
030-77 900 402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,163 of 5,813 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Berkis is basically a takeaway place with a small connecting room and some tables. Hence the prices are Ok for what it is. The staff are really nice and the service good. I liked the cold messe starters, they tasted fresh. The warm messe plate however was expensive for 8€ it consisted of deep fried aubergine, corggette and cheese balls. But the taste was good it was just a bit small and lacked variety. For the mains I would stick to the grills. I tried a beef dish cooked with rice noodles. Frankly it was over microwaved. The noodles stuck to the dish and the meat was tough. The place is busy and clearly popular. If I went again I would stick to the basics which are good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Four stars for food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very simple little restaurant with some tables on the street.
A lot of cold or hot starters, with vegetables, cheese or sea food.
All the main dishes are salads or different kind of meats.
The service is very good

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not just Greek but Cretan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The food was great, a selection that left you wanting it all, good value and even though in Berlin loving every moment closed my eyes and I was back in Crete and all that was missing was the sun beating down. Service was top notch and the waitress who secured us a table on a busy evening was attentive.
It's a little crowded which doesn't help when you're part of a team of big lads who get scowled at by a German matriarch as who ask to squeeze in to your seat. It added to the evenings entertainment. Highly recommend if you are in and around Nollendorf district.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WOW great greek food! and ... golden Retsina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I really do like the cold starters... lovely tzaziki and tarama and feta... and beans... yummy. I have been there twice because the mousaka is delicious! Super friendly people but mostly fully booked so go there early!
thx!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

First day in Berlin and we were around a market while wondering around to find this restaurant. Being greek i thought i would be dissapointed but i was so wrong. We tried gyros and as i said to my partner ''I died and went to heaven'' when i had the first bite! Excellent for food on the go but also we tried the restaurant next door another day and i couldnt say anything bad for the course. I had rabbit stifado and the feeling that overwhelmed me was : mum's cooking. Cooked to perfection with all the flavours i remembered since i was a child. My partner had lamb souvlaki which was soft and it was melting in the mouth.

Couldnt recommend it more if you want some home cooking that will comfort you and make you feel nice with all the bursting flavours!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkis Greek Art also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Berkis Greek Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkis Greek Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.