We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All what you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Side City Hotel

Save Saved
You added East Side City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
East Side City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muhlenstrasse 6, 10243 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #446 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“All what you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located. Just 5 minuts walking from U-Bahn Warschauer Station, S-Bahn or O2 Arena where we saw Beyonce show. Sightseeng double-decker bus stop is just 10 steps away from hotel doorstep. Hotel bar open 24/7. Breakfast was not overhelming but enough. I assume if you want to have hotter breakfast - you probably should presence yourself much before 10.00. Nice Spree view. Big bathroom. Lack of courtain or any other potection results of getting bathroom floor vet. Another drawback in my opinion is very limited elecrtric sockets for charging mobile or cameras. Electronic magnetic room key - sometimes needs to be re-programmed if stored next to your cellphone...
Close to few pubs over the bridge. First one - Magnet club really close. Tresor - better take a taxi. Most of clubs are closed on Thursdays.
Slightly earlier check-in or a little later check-out - no problem.
I would reccommend this hotel to everybody.

Room Tip: Nice Spree view is much better from second floor and higher situated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    14
    5
    10
See reviews for
1
22
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Room was clean and good size. The bed was a little short for me and you can't move the side table out of the way (resulting in me hitting my head in my sleep oops) but otherwise a great room. Directly opposite the East Side Gallery and you can see parts of it if you sit near a window at breakfast. Wifi works great! I had a back view room and was looking at a concrete yard full of streetsweepers but I imagine the front rooms looking out on the river and east side gallery would be nicer. I wasn't there for the view though so didn't really matter to me. Short walk from the U and S Bahn. A few night clubs in the vicinity and the bottom of the hotel has a bar but I didn't go there except for breakfast. Great stay overall! :)

Room Tip: Views out the back are a little ordinary if you care about that sort of stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have been returning to this hotel for the last ten years. It's convenient--a moderate walk from the Ostbahnhof and a short hop from U and S stations on nearby Warschauer Strasse. But the East Side is also an independent enterprise and totally unique. It has character. You feel the pulse of Berlin here. The building (as the very gregarious man who runs it once told me) is a 19th-century former tenement that managed to survive the WW2 bombing. Rooms are not huge but they are comfortable. Front rooms offer a superb view of the Spree and the East Side Gallery. Back rooms are a little quieter. The bar is a snug place for a nightcap with a chiefly 40- and 50-something clientele.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, OK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Our go-to place in Berlin. Very clean and comfortable (fantastic FIRM beds), relatively inexpensive for a big city, fresh and ample buffet breakfast, good coffee, and an in-hotel bar that stays open really late and is a cozy place to end the day. Mostly youthful or young-at-heart clientele. Just around the corner (really about 90 seconds!) from trains and buses, but very quiet. Get a room on a higher floor, and you'll have an exhilarating view of Berlin.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We popped in for a drink while we were checking out the East Side gallery and honestly thought the hotel was a sleazy motel due to the soft porn pic's everywhere. Thankfully, it turned out to be a decent place for a beer, non sleazy, nice friendly barman although a little pricey.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed in the hotel with my girlfriend as we were trying to stay longer in berlin so our options based on looking something affordable which made us consider this hotel as our option. starting with the one side of the coin,First of all,the hotel is ok, as its close to the train stations, so getting to the city centre or any part of berlin is a click on your finger tips,(big up for that), secondly, the hotel staffs were really really friendly and helpful, and thirdly, the breakfast was good over the hotel value. The other side of the coin is, The room they first gave us was less more value than a cheapest hostel you can ever imagine, but we complained on it then they gave us a top floor which was ok looking room, and those are the one you see on their hotel room images. other problem with the hotel was about the bed since it was kind of broken as you feel better sleep on the floor (since they dont have sofas in the rooms as you see on the picture) rather than the bed we found in the room. also there is no wifi internet reach in the top floor, so we were suppose to go down the bar/restaurant to get a wifi and this was such a disappointment i most felt. also the room TV have less than 4 boring germany channels only. another thing is the noice from the main road since their windows are not sound proof which forced us to wakeup early everyday as u can not sleep more than 6am and it was also supported with the sun light getting all in your room since the curtains were so thin. Therefore, i recommend this hotel to high school teenagers or something like that but not for couples or other backpackers since we found out that, in berlin there are alot other cheap hotels worthing the price.

Room Tip: rooms facing the gallery side have a good view but noice since they are close to main road, beware t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We booked this hotel for our stay while running the Berlin Marathon in 2011. The location is fine, its near clubs and restaurants although a little outside the center of Berlin. Its very close to transport so no compaints. The rooms are basic but clean. My only complaint would be that there are no blackout blinds so you wake up when the sun comes up. The staff are very good and friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really good and theres a good atmosphere in the bar in the evenings. Overall good option for a budget weekend but budget is the word!

Room Tip: call the hotel directly, I paid over the odds through expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Side City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Side City Hotel

Address: Muhlenstrasse 6, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #446 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Side City Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your East Side City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Side City Berlin
Hotel East Side City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Side City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.