We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, modern and a bit quirky in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honigmond Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Honigmond Hotel to your Saves list
Honigmond Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tieckstrasse 11 | Mitte, 10115 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxed, modern and a bit quirky in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

My husband had booked an apartment in the Honigmond Hotel for my birthday as a suprise. It was lovely, relaxing, quite romantic and very quiet given its location, which is excellent. The decor is modern with some quirky touches which distinguishes it from any chains. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the buffet breakers had plenty of choice and was as substantial as one wanted.
Berlin was wonderful albeit with a very small sprinkling of rudness from some officials but don't let that put you off going to this amazing city. We got o lot of value form our 25 euro travel cards ( make sure you validate tickets before you travel) which give you a reduction into some attractions. The puplic transport system is excellent, clean and we felt pretty safe using it at night too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    29
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
37
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Fantastic hotel. Tastefully decorated. Staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant attached to the hotel serves superb food at reasonable prices. Breakfast offers an amazing choice of fish, meats ,cheeses, cereals, fruits and a variety of breads etc. We stayed in an apartment which was incredibly spacious though I do believe some of the bedrooms can be on the small side.
It is in a good location only a 15min walk to the Haschermarket area and a 3 min walk to the nearest metro.
The hotel enhanced our stay in Berlin

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

My sister and her boyfriend live in Berlin and booked this hotel for our parents when we came to visit them (I stayed at their place). They booked the Honigmond because it looked lovely when they had passed there once and it was just 2 streets away from their home.

My parents are used to very high standard hotels and service and were absolutely very satisfied with this hotel.

The location is superb, in a very quiet street just 5 minutes walking from the galleries and little shops of Mitte and not even 5 min walking from the Nordbahnhof metro station.

The reception area is just lovely, with leather chairs, tables with travel guides and newspapers, a bowl full of lovely chocolates, chocolates at the reception, a free internet pc, etc.

The staff is very friendly and helpful as well.

Rooms are just adorable, with four-poster beds, charming decoration and ceiling ornaments, and an impeccable bathroom. Only downside perhaps is that the rooms are not extremely big and there was no place to put the suitcase on.

Breakfast is excellent and plentyful, including some brunch items. The 3 of us went to have breakfast with my parents, and it was just 8,50€ each + drinks. One downside: no fresh orange juice.

All in all a great experience !

  • Liked — The overall atmosphere of the hotel
  • Disliked — They preferred cash payments.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

- Beautiful hotel full of antiques
- Fantastic room (4 poster bed!) - each room is unique
- Happy to do a special breakfast for us on the morning of the Berlin marathon
- Reception staff very friendly
- Excellent Restaurant
- Good value

  • Liked — The decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

This hotel is ideally situated for exploring Berlin. Located on a quiet residential street in Mitte, it is just 2 blocks from restaurants, cafes and quirky shops (art galleries, clothes designers, retro furniture) and another couple of minutes from the Museum Island and Unter den Linden.
The reception is cosy and welcoming ('though a little overheated for our taste). There are 2 extremely comfortable seating areas with an honesty bar and furnished with guidebooks, international newspapers and coffee table books/magazines about german style and design.
The staff are helpful but not intrusive. Everyone (reception, cleaners, waiting staff at breakfast) has a cheerful 'Guten Tag' and 'Tschuss'.
We booked an apartment which was €200 per night including breakfast. It (A3) was to the rear of the hotel overlooking the courtyard. The lift only serves the ground, 1st and 2nd floors. We were on the 3rd and had to climb a further flight of stairs. Anyone with mobility problems (or who doesn't feel like climbing) should make sure their room is accessible. There was no porter.
The main room was spacious and well furnished having sufficient storage etc. The bed end was a bit dark - but we were out all day and it meant that the room was blacked out at night for better sleeping. It was also unseasonably warm during our stay and the room was lovely and cool.
The bed was large and really comfortable - as often found on the continent, it had 2 separate mattresses and duvets. The bathroom was fully tiled and had a bath and shower. It was clean and definitely big enough for 2 people to use at once. Shower/Bath gel was provided but nothing else.
The kitchen was equipped with a hob, an oven, fridge-freezer etc. but no washing up liquid or basic condiments etc. A welcome basket would have been pleasant; those items should be automatically provided.
That would sum up our only quibble - there was an extra touch that was missing in some areas even though it was provided in others.
The breakfast was gargantuan. Served in the Honigmond restaurant downstairs till 11am, the buffet tables were replenished constantly. Cereal, breads, cheese, eggs, salads, ham, smoked fish, fruits, yoghurts......the list goes on. Delicious and enough to keep you going till mid afternoon cake!
Try the restaurant for dinner - the Klopsche (meatballs in caper sauce) are well worth it. Be warned though: the portions are really enormous and sharing one three-course meal between 2 would do most people! It is excellent value but eating out in Berlin is generally.
All in all, a definite hit. We liked it (and Berlin!) so much that we stayed an extra night.

  • Liked — location, food
  • Disliked — didn't feel they went the extra mile in some areas - felt slightly stingy and unnecessaryly so
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed at the Honigmond for a few days in April while we explored Berlin. Good location within walking distance of a bunch of the sights and with a number of public transport options close by. Great room, spacious and clean, cool decor! The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was awesome: the best breakfast / brunch buffet I have come across so far! We did not have dinner in the hotel restaurant as there a few good restaurants close to the hotel (Sarah Weiner, the Restaurant in the Brechthaus). Can't think of anything bad to say about this hotel!

  • Liked — The breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

We booked this on the strength of other reviews and were not disappointed. With only a couple of weeks notice the hotel could only offer an apartment: this gave us slight over-capacity but we were very pleased with the rooms, which were extremely spacious, clean and stylish. The staff were polite and helpful (although not altogether fluent in English). The hotel was well-situated for our interests, which mainly lay in the museums. Moreover, we found the immediate surroundings fairly quiet and nice to escape to after the bustle of the city centre. Breakfast was superb - we have never seen such a spread! The restaurant, although (we are told) under different management, is well worth it, with particularly large portions. All in all, an excellent stay. We hope to be back sometime.

  • Liked — Spaciousness, breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honigmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honigmond Hotel

Address: Tieckstrasse 11 | Mitte, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#73 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#109 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honigmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Honigmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honigmond Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honigmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.