We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I could ask for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Circus Hostel to your Saves list
The Circus Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything I could ask for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is a precious finding! Right in front of Rosenthaler Platz metro station, on a walking distance from everything and surrounded by bars and restaurants. The room itself was tidy, comfortable and clean, even if I was staying at a 10-bed dorm! Big windows, perfect heating, comfortable beds, energy plugs everywhere, lockers and mirrors. This room just didn't have big lockers for luggage though, which can be a problem for some travelers (luckily not for me!). The staff was very helpful and nice, and the common area is just beautiful! I will definitely make Circus my official place to stay in Berlin!

Room Tip: My 10-bed dorm was just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    164
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
35
179
183
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great time staying at the circus hostel. Being a solo traveller, the hostel was friendly, accommodating and helpful. The hostel is right next to subway tram and bus stops which is really convenient. Rooms were clean and comfortable although being next to a busy street, it can seem a bit noisy. Having personal power points and lock boxes were great.

A great offer from the hostel is a free street art tour that is run every tuesday. A great tour where you get to see areas of berlin that would be otherwise difficult to find. The hostel has public transport cards (usable on subway, bus and trams) for hire at 5 euro/day. I found them to be really handy to have.

Room Tip: High floors and smaller dorms are usually the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Circus Hostel was a perfect experience for me. Clean rooms, funky-designer corridors and spacious, clean shower rooms. The staff at the reception are smiling and always warm. I stayed in a 10-bed dorm and there wasn't any reason for me to complain through the four nights I lived there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the corner, opening to the street can be a bit noisy. Blame the bloody trams!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our pick of the bunch of European hotels during our month long trip. We stayed in one of the private couple rooms which was perfect for our needs. You had to walk through a heavy security door separating the mixed dorms from the private rooms and our stuff felt very secure. The location was perfect; right across from the station and in the heart of Berlin. It was also cleaned to an extremely high standard. The only slight negative was the door to our room was very thin - but that was nothing really. And at the end of our stay the most pleasant part was when they rang up the bill and it was so much less than all the other hotels we'd stayed at and didn't enjoy half as much. Have recommended this hotel to absolutely everyone!!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Neat rooms, very nice bar and it's convenient location - near to the Rosenthaler Platz, which is very close to Alexander Platz, one of the main subway stations (maybe the main one) - make this hostel a very good choice . I haven't sem big lockers, only small ones for your valuables (at least they have inside an AC outlet, you may leave something charging with the door closed).
Although breakfast is a bit pricey (5€) you may have a decent start at the morning - it has cheeses, different types of bread, ham , salami, eggs, etc.
Summarizing: that's my second time on this hostel, I'd come back for sure!

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hostel is very well presented and unlike many hostels I've stayed in in the past was cleaned to a high standard every day :)

I stayed in an 8 bed mixed form which had 4 bunk beds, table and chairs, storage lockers and lamps by each bed. There were separate toilets and showers located further down the corridor.

The hostel has many items which they loan out including hairdryers which are free. They also have a luggage storage area which is free to use before and after checkout which is at 12pm The Wifi is good and you can access it in the lobby and in your rooms.

The hostel is also located in front of a tram stop and over the road from the underground.

The only thing which would make this hostel better is if it organised things for guests to do at night or during the day.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed in a double room and we were so impressed with the cleanliness and size of the room. The heater in the room was excellent to combat the Berlin chill. The staff members were fantastic, one in particular accompanied us to a club after his shift ended and we had the best night. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the location was perfect and we will be telling our friends about this hostel!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circus Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.