We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient but unfriendly to a solo traveller.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Circus Hostel to your Saves list
The Circus Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Efficient but unfriendly to a solo traveller.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This is difficult to review as the circus hostel offers most of what you would expect from a good hostel. It was generally clean (although lacked toilet paper on a number of occasions), efficient but staff lacked friendliness, well situated and breakfast was pretty good. I, however, as solo female traveller did not feel hugely welcomed. Having come straight from the friendliest hostel in Amsterdam this was a real disappointed. Perhaps this comes from the fact it is a big hostel, or maybe I was unlucky with the people in my room who didn't seem to be bothered about meeting new people. Even when I was sat downstairs not even a smile was returned to me. Would I recommend the circus hostel? Yes if you are with a group of friends looking for a drunken few days in Berlin but no if you are a solo traveller looking to meet like minded people.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    163
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
35
179
183
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is one of the best Hostels i have stayed in, the rooms were big and well equipped, the common areas were great , the bathrooms very clean and comfortable, excellent location , i'd definitely would stayed there again in my next visit to Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an apartment in the top floor.
Really spacious and has a great view.

Across the road for the subway and the best restaurants in Berlin a walking distance away.

We highly recccomend!


...............................................

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We arranged a lads trip to Berlin for 3 nights, 4 days. We were allocated a 10 bed dorm for 8 of us which was nice as it meant we could all be together. The hostel itself is very modern & clean. Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Berlin on a budget! The all you can eat breakfast is also a must!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Having stayed at the Circus Hotel in 2012 with wife and in-laws, this time I found myself in Berlin alone (for a fieldtrip). Based on the strength of experience last time, and the good rating on this site, I lumped for a room in a 4/5 bed dorm.

First to the positives. The hostel is clean (rooms were fine, showers scrupulously clean, toilets took a beating but were cleaned regularly). Sound insulation from Torstrasse (I was in 218 so facing that road) was fine indeed. The reception staff were largely helpful, the location is great, the wifi was serviceable (signal sometimes poor in my room), the bedding and bed fine. On this basis I would say it's an average hostel, which I would have bumped up to very good (not excellent) bar some issues below.

On check in, clearly the person on the desk was poorly drilled. Granted it was 11pm on a Saturday night, but they failed to note I had ordered breakfast (I realised on day 2 other people had vouchers issued), so I ended up paying each morning for breakfast. When I came to settle my account a few days later, another desk clerk attempted to charge me then - which they of course did not do when I explained I had not received any vouchers.

Another mistake on check in was the padlocks you rent (small lockable units by each bed, with a charging socket, neat idea) was that I paid a 10 euro deposit. On checking out I was handed 5 euros back and when I queried this, I was told that the deposit had changed recently and the check in person had made a mistake. Again, I got my 10 euros back, but I know a fellow room mate paid 10 and got 5 back, hmm. Good money spinner rather than a change of price?

Two issues related to sound were a) slamming doors from down the long corridor - fortunately I sleep soundly so this didn't bother me but would others. b) is a little more frustrating: on my final night I turned in at midnight, with 3 out of 4 beds occupied in the room. When I awoke next at 1.20am the 4th bed had been taken by another person; now the Circus can't help that he snored, but putting a 4th in a room, after midnight, in a room already with 3 in is a poor show unless the building was absolutely full to the gills. I don't know if that were the case but it was a little gripe.

So, all in all, an average hostel which could be made much, much, much better by better education of the reception staff on late. A few other tweaks like room allocation late at night wouldn't hurt if possible. Perhaps soft closers on doors in long corridors would be a bonus too? These things would have hiked my rating. As it is, I am glad to be married and mostly a hotel guy these days! As this wasn't the best 4 nights sleep I have ever had.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvisburg, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed at this hostel three years ago (June 2011) and am still reminiscing about how amazing this place is. I was originally only going to stay two days but was having such a great time that I ended up changing my entire itinerary just so I could stay here for almost a week! Yes, this is because Berlin is a great city, but I would not have experienced it to the fullest without the recommendations from the staff or the friends I made here at this hostel.

I stayed in a dorm room. It was clean, had lock boxes, individual bed lights, and a table and chairs for people to meet and hang out together in the room. The shared bathrooms were clean and very well-kept. The breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced. The hostel is in a great location and is right next to public transportation stations. There is also a bar downstairs that makes it really convenient to meet other travelers staying in the hostel. I was traveling alone, so this was really helpful.

One day, I rented a bike from the hostel with a friend I met in my dorm room. Upon renting the bike, the front desk attendant gave us a map and drew a great biking route around the city. He also noted good places to stop along the way, including restaurants, bars, and parks. The route he gave us was amazing. I saw so much of Berlin and had what may have been one of the best days of my life!

I also used the computers there and took a recommended tour of Potsdam, which was excellent. From what I remember, this hostel was a bit more expensive than others, but please shell out the few extra dollars to stay here - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last summer and loved it. The bed was comfy and clean and the toilets and shower facilities were great. The staff were friendly and very helpful. It's located at Rosenthaler platz and has most of what you need around there ie shops, takeaways, restaurants, bars and cafes etc definitely try a kebab and Currywurst round there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circus Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.