We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cheap, it doesn't get any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Circus Hostel to your Saves list
The Circus Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean and cheap, it doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was the cleanest accom that we had in Europe, I know that's a big call - we booked one night last minute and expected a shabby hostel - instead it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again instead of an hotel - loved it and the service was superb

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    182
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
188
203
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is mostly a good hostel, very clean and very secure - card swiping is required at every door. Good location near the metro and trams.

There's a really large bar in the basement and they have a lot of info available, even a special landing website with information on their wifi.

Free dinner in the evenings, though unfortunately they didn't have a vegetarian option, but you can't have everything...

Unfortunately I had issues with some of the guests here in the rooms, in particular people with really really loud snoring problems - I think this could be a side-effect of too much German beer, as I haven't had this issue in any other countries :-( The hostel isn't to blame for this, and to be fair they did give me ear plugs!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed with my sister in a double room and it was pretty nice experience! It's a super pretty and well decorated hostel but the prices are still ok. The room was very spacious and clean, as well the bathrooms.Free lockers and free wifi availiable. The location is also great! In front of a metro station and pretty near the Mauerpark. Staff are friendly and heplfull.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I loved the Circus Hostel. From the David Hasselhoff memorabilia to the awesome bar & DJ area downstairs, I was more than satisfied with my stay here. The location is great - easy to move between different parts of the city via walking or the nearby metro station. The staff was very helpful and gave me a lot of ideas for what to do while in Berlin. I would stay here again without a doubt! (Traveled in December 2011)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We loved this place so much we stayed here twice. It's a great central location, walkable to Alexanderplatz and across the road from Rosenthaler metro station. Fantastic social atmosphere with a bar downstairs that has different events every night, and a great cafe that serves free dinner and a really good 5 euro breakfast buffet. The interior is very modern, quirky and most importantly, clean. We really liked that every bed has its own small locker with personal charger inside. The staff are definitely amongst the best and very willing to help you with anything you need. They really thought about what a typical backpacker wants and delivered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great hostel. I stayed with 2 other friends in a ensuite room (room 101). It faces the main street, so it's a bit noisy, but no too much. Room and bathroom were clean and nice. Staff was super friendly, they offer walking tours everyday and help with tips. They serve dinner at 7pm for free! Great for ones on a budget. Lots of young folks. Great breakfast buffet for $5. Location is the best part: metro station is steps away and super easy to visit Berlin main attractions. Close to the hostel there are tons of restaurants and bars with live music!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuggiono, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have been recently again at Circus: they are always the number one!
Yes, the city is great and helps a lot, but the hostel is wonderful, well placed (with Tram and UBahn you can reach from there the whole city), well furnished, perfectly organised... I think a lot of 4 stars hotel are worst than it! And everything so cheap!

Just one suggestion: try to find a solution to include breakfast in the price, at list for "high standard" rooms (not just adding 5€ to the price, of course!), it will be the cherry on top!

Keep on!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circus Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.