We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Circus Hostel to your Saves list
The Circus Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The perfect hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Everything you could ever want.
The decor is great and fun. The breakfasts are amazing and really set you up for a day of sightseeing. I have stayed at this hostel three times I LOVED it that much, both in a dorm and in a private double. I would stay here over any hotel. The rates are really reasonable and it has everything you could want. The staff and so so friendly and so interested in what you want to do and have done.
They are really good at zooming in on the kind of thing that you like to see and guiding you around the city.
I would be lost without being able to hire the U-bahn pass.
The bar downstairs is a really good way to meet people and I couldn't hear it anywhere else in the hostel as its in the basement.
You can store your luggage here on your day of departure which is amazing!

Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    182
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
188
203
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Best hostel I`ve stayed in Europe, clean, organized, reasonably priced and well located. The dorms are spacious and you get your own power outlet inside your safe box. The showers bathroom is very well designed and clean. The location is great and there is a store across the street with all the food and drinks you need.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I found this hostel on the internet and all looked amazing. The staff were extremely helpful and very eager to share info about Berlin. Big ups to the staff. On the other hand the noise spoiled my whole stay. People in and out of the room, slamming the heavy doors and noise from the street is beyond ear plugs. I was quite annoyed since I had 18 hours of traveling ahead.

they do however have great coffee in the cafe and an all you can eat buffet for 5euro. Very well located close to funky bars and cafes. very close to all means of transport. if u don't need to sleep this is a good choice

Room Tip: as far from the street if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

First of all let me put it out there, for the price .. I am not really impressed because there are better hotels around the area for cheaper price withbetter amenities. I booked the double room with ensuite bathroom that cost Euro 85 per night. I thought I had a good deal because hotels in Berlin can we really expensive.

I know this is a hostel and shouldn't expect much from it. Service was alright as they catered to the younger crowds and didn't give much attention to us, "old folks". The front desk dude named Stephan didn't even bother to explain to us that the hostel offers good rates for daily S+U subway/tram card.. however the next day.. I overhead him explaining to 2 pretty young ladies while they were checking in. Oh well.

No, that is not the reason why I am not happy with this property. The reason is this.... just right in front of Circus hostel is "ibis styles Berlin Mitte" http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g187323-d1942810-Reviews-Ibis_styles_Berlin_Mitte-Berlin.html the room rates is around Euro75 per night, if you book in advance (which is waaaaay cheaper than Euro 85) which includes wait for it.... air conditioning and breakfast. Circus hostel charges an additional Euro 5 for breakfast. Oh yea, if you pay using credit card, Circus Hostel charges another Euro 2 on your bill.

Air conditioning is pretty important especially in the summer and I agree with the previous reviewer that when we had to sleep with the windows open .. and oh my... it can get pretty noisy.

I felt pretty bummed that I didn't book the hotel across the street (especially those nights where we had to open the window to sleep and I can hear drunks screaming at 3 in the morning). I am no way affiliated to ibis (I wish I was though, sigh). My advice is please spend your money elsewhere if you plan to book a private room. There are better options.

The location is SUPERB. There are cafes, convenience stores, post office and laundromat within a short walking distance.

We didn't experience anything "bad" per se, but compared with the options.. Circus Hostel needs to work harder.

Room Tip: If you plan to book a private room, don't. Not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days and (despite my getting a 24 hour big) had a great time here! The service is great, atmosphere excellent, and location very good! Our room faced out towards the street which was unfortunate though. It was SO LOUD the whole time we were there because of the traffic. Every 3 minutes there would be honking and every 5 minutes the S-Bahn would rattle through the streets. Both these stop around 11 at night but if you want to sleep before that, good luck. The windows are quite sound proof but there's no ac in the building, so you have to sleep with them open in the summer. I would still stay here again, despite the noise, as there are only a few rooms like the one we were in that had this problem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had the best stay here at The Circus Hostel Berlin, located next to a tram station and is surrounded by boutiques, cafes, and really nice restaurants. Breakfast is well priced, quick and easy. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and trendy rooms that really match the Berlin lifestyle. Highly Recommend this Hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a brilliant time. The whole hostel is really clean and bright making it appealing. Free dinner every day was excellent and tasty and the bar has great value beer particularly in happy hour! Staff also really helpful. Only slight problem is the rooms get very hot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circus Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.