We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alternative hostel with lively bar + quiet rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Fabrik

Die Fabrik
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Die Fabrik
Save
You added Die Fabrik to your Saves list
Schlesische Strasse 18 | Kreuzberg, 10997 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“alternative hostel with lively bar + quiet rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Alternative hostel in an old factory which is ideally situated if you are going to a gig @ Treptow Arena. Staff speak good English + the downstairs bars is lively + fun. Rooms are basic, as you would expect, but are clean + quiet. Shower areas are clean + funtional. We really couldn't fault Die Fabrik, its obviously a hostel, not a hotel, so i feel some reviewers have been rather unkind as they appear to expect 3 star hotel standards in a hostel. I you want a cheap, alternative + laid back base in Berlin i would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
15
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I have been to Die Fabrik a couple of times, but this time was definitely the last. During some of my first visits, I found the hotel alternative and charming. But it isn't, really.

First the price: You pay 58 euros for a dubbel room, which isn't really a bargain in Berlin, where hotels are cheap. The toilets and showers are in the hall, and there is no elevator.
No problem if you get a room on the first or second floor, but I can promise you it's not that nice to carry you luggage up and down four floors... one time is ok, two times also, but then you get really tired of it.

But ok, I can live with that. What I can't accept is the poor service you get in Die Fabrik. It's really bad!
They don't really care about you, you feel as a guest rather as a burden to the people working there.

The worst thing was when we were checking out. We were 10 minutes late, and were getting dressed. Two employes just unlocked the door without even knocking, and were really rude. Isn't Kreuzberg supposed to be relaxed and chilled? Well, not in Die Fabrik...

Then there are other irritating things with Die Fabrik:

You have to pay cash - no creditcards accepted
if you want to travel with public transport, you have to walk quite a long time to get to Warschauer Strasse, the nearest stop (Schlesische strasse) has only one slow line going "nowhere"...
The toilets and showers are not as clean as they used to be
no wireless internet
old furniture and seperate beds that you can't put together
and so on...

Die Fabrik has to lower it's prices, employ some service-minded people, instill wireless internet and accept credit cards - then maybe I'll come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, ne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

This hotel is in an old factory. By euro standards the rooms were large . . . very comfortable (but basic) . . . shared bathrooms but zero problems and clean. Neighborhood around is awesome with lots of good inexpensive places to eat. The S and U Bahn are both near . . . friendly and helpful staff . . . its a good choice to see Berlin without investing a ton in a place to sleep. Note there may be a dormitory on site, but this is a european style hotel with private rooms and shared baths from what I saw . . .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English South Coast
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I wouldn't really consider this place to be a hostel, so don't be put off by that. The rooms are all perfectly sized with beds, tables and lockers. There are plenty of bathrooms on each floor, infact we never really saw anyone else during our stay. The hotel is easy to get to from the U and S Bahn and trams etc and the cafe on the ground floor does great food at any time of the day.
Ok there's no en suites, no chocolate on your pillow and no minibar but if you want clean, spacious accomdation with very friendly people this is for you!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hostel is in a spacious old building; the rooms are a very good size and there's a charming courtyard in the middle. My room had old maps of Berlin on the walls and a lovely hanging basket with a plant in it.

It's perfectly clean and the beds are comfy. The showers are of the kind that you push the knob and it turns off after half a minute, though, which is a bit annoying. And there's only one computer so you might have to wait to use the internet.

It's also a good location - not really walking distance to the central attractions, but it's near an underground station and also near plenty of riverside bars and nice cafes. It has its own cafe, too, which does a great breakfast.

I would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We stayed in one the the doubles with wash basin and I have to say it's one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in...! Huge bright airy room with about a million windows. Really enjoyed staying there.. only downside would be the rather long walk to the shared toilet but you can't have everything.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

The hostel is clean, bed linen is provided as are the towels.
You share the bathrooms with others (and anyway most of hostels in Berlin are clean).
The place was quiet and you get to have a good night sleep. There is absolutely nothing else on offer in terms of fun, no kitchen where you could make yourself a coffee or a soup...nothing. No TV's, no bike hire facility, but we had our son with us so as they were keen to have kids we opted for this place.
The position of the hostel is OK, the area is very arty, good caffes around, die fabrik also has a small restaurant on the first floor, although it wouldn't kill them to offer a free coffee for die fabrik costumers!
Don't get me wrong - I'm not chasing the "free"anything, but the prices you pay compared to the other hostels are quite higher therefore a little bit of an effort, or a TV room, or a free internet usage (you pay 1 euro for 20 minutes) and down the road it costs 1 euro for 1 hr.
Not bad if you want a good night sleep, closest U bahn is Shlesiche Tor which is ok for sightseeing , there is also a small garden for usage...anyway Berlin is UBER COOL so it'll make up for any faults you may encounter!

  • Liked — sleeping soundly in it, rooms are warm and ok
  • Disliked — no tv, no fun on offer, no lift...and berlin has too many stairs!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Fabrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Fabrik

Address: Schlesische Strasse 18 | Kreuzberg, 10997 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our House - an old factory building from the turn of the century - was restored and developed in 1995. The typical Berlin-Kreuzberg charme of a brick building has been retained with light, spacious rooms and a courtyard garden. On each floor you can find large bathrooms.To maintain a private atmosphere we do not have TV or telephone in the rooms. International calls can be made at any time in the lobby. Our rooms are bright, spacious and very quiet. For your convenience you can book single and double accomodation or rooms for more than two people.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the FABRIK-CAFÉ. Our hotel is located near the old and new center of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Die Fabrik Hostel Kreuzberg Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Fabrik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.