We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Perfect for us.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Fabrik

Die Fabrik
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Die Fabrik
Save
You added Die Fabrik to your Saves list
Schlesische Strasse 18 | Kreuzberg, 10997 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
English South Coast
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay. Perfect for us.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I wouldn't really consider this place to be a hostel, so don't be put off by that. The rooms are all perfectly sized with beds, tables and lockers. There are plenty of bathrooms on each floor, infact we never really saw anyone else during our stay. The hotel is easy to get to from the U and S Bahn and trams etc and the cafe on the ground floor does great food at any time of the day.
Ok there's no en suites, no chocolate on your pillow and no minibar but if you want clean, spacious accomdation with very friendly people this is for you!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
15
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hostel is in a spacious old building; the rooms are a very good size and there's a charming courtyard in the middle. My room had old maps of Berlin on the walls and a lovely hanging basket with a plant in it.

It's perfectly clean and the beds are comfy. The showers are of the kind that you push the knob and it turns off after half a minute, though, which is a bit annoying. And there's only one computer so you might have to wait to use the internet.

It's also a good location - not really walking distance to the central attractions, but it's near an underground station and also near plenty of riverside bars and nice cafes. It has its own cafe, too, which does a great breakfast.

I would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We stayed in one the the doubles with wash basin and I have to say it's one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in...! Huge bright airy room with about a million windows. Really enjoyed staying there.. only downside would be the rather long walk to the shared toilet but you can't have everything.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

The hostel is clean, bed linen is provided as are the towels.
You share the bathrooms with others (and anyway most of hostels in Berlin are clean).
The place was quiet and you get to have a good night sleep. There is absolutely nothing else on offer in terms of fun, no kitchen where you could make yourself a coffee or a soup...nothing. No TV's, no bike hire facility, but we had our son with us so as they were keen to have kids we opted for this place.
The position of the hostel is OK, the area is very arty, good caffes around, die fabrik also has a small restaurant on the first floor, although it wouldn't kill them to offer a free coffee for die fabrik costumers!
Don't get me wrong - I'm not chasing the "free"anything, but the prices you pay compared to the other hostels are quite higher therefore a little bit of an effort, or a TV room, or a free internet usage (you pay 1 euro for 20 minutes) and down the road it costs 1 euro for 1 hr.
Not bad if you want a good night sleep, closest U bahn is Shlesiche Tor which is ok for sightseeing , there is also a small garden for usage...anyway Berlin is UBER COOL so it'll make up for any faults you may encounter!

  • Liked — sleeping soundly in it, rooms are warm and ok
  • Disliked — no tv, no fun on offer, no lift...and berlin has too many stairs!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

+ :
great location in Kreuzberg (alternative place in Berlin)
great access by subway
great street
great location for breakfast

- :
cash only accepted
not super friendly staff
shared bathroom
no elevator

The overall critic is great cause the building and the place is just very cool. But don't expect to have super services. Nothing is included.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

For me, the FABRIK was definately the most overrated "hotel" i´ve ever been.

A double-room in august costs 58euro (!!!) a price which would allow you to book any good 2-3 star hotel even in the centre of berlin.

The location is rather untidy - its not really clean actually.

The personel in the Bar is enormously rude.

I would recommend this so called "hotel" to nobody - if you really want a clean and tidy hostel in Berlin there are much more alternatives ... Or if you want to stay in a better hotel thats no problem you´ll find many good and beautiful places in berlin for that price.

If you just want a bed in a dorm the Fabrik is rather expensive (around 20euro) - so just walk down the street there´s another one cheaper or in Prenzlauer Berg you´ll find hostel dorms where the bed is under 10 euros

There is not so much noise in The Fabrik, even though its Kreuzberg.


Therefore my conclusion:

FABRIK is definately the most OVERRATED hotel I have ever been - too expensive, and no extras for expensive nights...
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody ...

I am hugely dissappointed with my stay at the fabrik because i was told it would be great....

So if you have too much money and you wanna waste it...just go to the Fabrik in Schlesischer Strasse, Berlin-Kreuzberg.

  • Liked — nothing really interesting or recommendable
  • Disliked — rude personel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

Not impressed at all. The pictures on the website present something that doesnt exist unless you want to pay through the nose for this hostel (not a hotel by my account). Staff was exceptionally rude, and our room was not worth the 58 euros we paid.

We were also informed at payment time that the cost of the rooms was more than what was advertised, so be alert.

Too bad, because it is in an interesting part of town, although there are so many interesting areas of Berlin that it doesnt much matter where you are situated.

This place was a huge disappiontment for us both. We were really looking forward to it from what we had read in other opinions and seen on the website.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Fabrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Fabrik

Address: Schlesische Strasse 18 | Kreuzberg, 10997 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our House - an old factory building from the turn of the century - was restored and developed in 1995. The typical Berlin-Kreuzberg charme of a brick building has been retained with light, spacious rooms and a courtyard garden. On each floor you can find large bathrooms.To maintain a private atmosphere we do not have TV or telephone in the rooms. International calls can be made at any time in the lobby. Our rooms are bright, spacious and very quiet. For your convenience you can book single and double accomodation or rooms for more than two people.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the FABRIK-CAFÉ. Our hotel is located near the old and new center of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Die Fabrik Hostel Kreuzberg Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Fabrik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.