We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above mediocre, not 4*, good price&location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zoo Berlin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zoo Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Zoo Berlin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurfurstendamm 25, Charlottenburg | *** Currently Closed, Reopening in 2014 ***, 10719 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #494 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Above mediocre, not 4*, good price&location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Between 3 and 4 stars.
Good location in Kurfurstendam, close to two metro stations. Walking distance to Europa center- KaDeWe and to fashion boutiques. By metro you can go everywhere in Berlin.
Single room was little small, with single but comfortable bed and ok bathroom. It was a bit old, but it had a safe.
The breakfast was good. Not great.
The people who worked there were polite, with easy check in and check out.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    101
    82
    51
    42
See reviews for
21
89
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel needs renovating in every area. the staff are not proud of where they work The rooms are dirty and the basic amenities are awful the showers smell and the amenities are poor no wifi no spa no airconditioning and no refund if you hate the place . do not stay here.

Room Tip: Go Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I found Hotel Zoo Berlin to be disappointing.

The location is a bit far from the main sites - the U-Bahn is very close, and it's only a short ride to get to the main area, but you aren't walking distance to anything. There are tour bus stops directly across the street, as well as some good restaurants.

The rooms are shoddy - very worn furniture and linens reminiscent of a dorm and not a four star hotel. My room faced the street, so it was a very noisy night.

The staff was very friendly, allowing me to store my luggage as I arrived very early in the morning, but unfortunatly there was no early check-in. While I know this is not always the fault of the hotel, it was the only hotel out of eight that I stayed in across Eastern Europe on this trip that did not allow me an early check-in, even if I offered to pay for the privilege.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Hotel was priced well (about £200 for three nights for a twin room) without breakfast. Bathroom a bit smelly as not vented, but room was clean. Internet is available in common areas for €5 per day (not in rooms) but is very slow if downloading any attachments. Hotel refunded me without a quibble.
Great location just 5 mins from Zoo Station & short U-Bahn ride to Branderberg Gate & all the sites. 40 mins by S-Bahn from Schonefeld Airport.
Good also for shul (sephardi) & kosher cafe, both within a 10 minute walk by on Passau / by Augsburger Strasse U-Bahn.
Was fine for a 3 night trip with minimal time spent in the hotel.

Room Tip: We were in 510 - good size, but no venting in bathroom which was a bit smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at the Zoo Hotel for three nights during mid-August 2012 on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel has all the appearance of a four star hotel which it claims however, it was not an entirely four star experience.

Checking in was particularly quick and the receptionist friendly and helpful.

I was allocated a single room on the first floor at the back of the hotel with a view of a car park. The bedroom was dated and the furniture worn and there was debris behind the intermediate door which was only apparent when the door was opened. This suggested that the door wasn’t opened to clean. There was a small TV in the room but no tea and coffee making facilities. On a positive note, the room contained a safe which was free to use.

The bed was the most uncomfortable bed that I have ever experienced in a hotel. I could feel the springs in the mattress and the pillow case had several holes in it and the double glazing didn’t do enough to keep out the continuous rumble of the trains just a block away, contributing to a fitful sleep.

The bathroom with walk in shower was relatively clean but didn’t contain any toiletries which I would have expected in a four star hotel.

The public lounge and restaurant were comfortable but alas had no bar. Breakfast was taken in the first floor restaurant and comprised a typical range of continental breakfast foods and a selection of hot dishes. However, you had to be in the restaurant early if you wanted to eat whilst still hot.

The hotel is in a great location on the Kurferstendam, one of Berlins major shopping streets and just metres from the U-Bahn underground station. The S-Bahn station, Zoologischer Garten, is just two blocks away.

All in all, I was extremely disappointed with this Hotel given its four star rating and the price I paid. I think that the hotel requires a general makeover and until that is completed then I suggest it removes one star and reduces its prices.

Sadly, I will not be staying at the Zoo Hotel Berlin again.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Located on the main shopping street in the centre of Berlin, this hotel is ideally suited for exploring Berlin around Tiergarten Park, but it also has a very good connection through U (Metro) and DB (railway) network to the Mitte (centre) and elsewhere. There are plenty of restaurants and pubs around it, for example Hardrock Café is just across the street - Rock on! Sadly, location was the most impressive part of this hotel. Interior of the hotel is old and the room that I got had twin beds, although I asked for double. It was clean but stuffy. Internet is also available only in the lounge (payable), so no surfing in the room. Rooms have no air conditioning and it was quite hot and stuffy in August when I was there. I must say that staff was quite helpful when I asked for a room change (old one overlooked the street and it was noisy) and gave me a new room right away. Breakfast is good and is worth the money that you pay for it. There is also a parking behind the hotel for a reasonable price. All in all it is not a bad hotel and with some renovation it could be great.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the inner courtyard, because then you can have windows open. It is simply to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I am a TV-Documentary Director, travelling a lot and having very long and busy days, sometimes with rough working conditions. That is why I keep a keen eye on where my company books me a room. Here I was happy. The Room I got was small, but tidy and perfect. The Pillow was old, but I told the Hotel already. The ceiliing is high, which makes the room airy and comfortable. Breakfast was perfect with friendly staff, good coffee and a big variety of cooked foods. The reception was very friendly. The clear advantage is the location on Kurfürstendamm. It is one of the most beautiful boulevards in berlin, offering shopping, food, luxury shops and a vast promenade. Opposite the hotel is a old-fashioned 24h open Bistro with a big terrace. The Hotel is not brand new, but shows in the lobby some architecture and chic furniture and decoration of the late seventies, which i personally find very charming. The Hotel has a sauna, which in July looked a bit deserted, but it works fine. Fitness and solarium just the same. I would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Zoo Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zoo Berlin

Address: Kurfurstendamm 25, Charlottenburg | *** Currently Closed, Reopening in 2014 ***, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #494 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zoo Berlin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are closed for renovations until the end of 2013. We are looking forward to welcome you to the NEW Hotel Zoo Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Zoo Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zoo Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.