We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean , nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel BelAhr

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel BelAhr to your Saves list
Hotel BelAhr
Stresemannstrasse 97, 10963 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“clean , nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

very clean, beds as said before are soft but you do get a good nights sleep, room very spacious , bathroom very clean and hot water every time used, no mini-bar, and no safe in room, but free bottle of spring water and free bottle of red wine, no tea/coffee facilities in room, shops close by and supermarket 10 mins walk away turn right out of hotel, over traffic lights and on opposite side of road, 5 mins walk to potsdammer platz, breakfast is 10.5euros but worth it if you dont want to walk to shops to make your own, very good choice, all food fresh. all hotel staff very friendly and speak good english, pub next door does very good food. i would use again when i come back to berlin.

Room Tip: the higher up the better view. but all rooms good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    56
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
28
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Room very clean and staff very professionnal.
We were very to Postdamer platz by walking and from the train station it was the bus #11 who brought us just to your door. Also very closed to the Berlin wall and Check point Charlie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very convenient no matter what type of transportation you need. The rooms were spacious with a nice kitchen. The front desk was very helpful to us. Would stay again and my daughter stays there every year as she works short times in Berlin

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in hotel rooms rather than the apartments over the Berlin Marathon. The location is spot on! Minutes walk from Postdamer Platz and the Sony Centre and the hustle and bustle of countless restaurants and cuisines and a shopping mall nearby. There is another S-bahn station even nearer to the hotel if you turn right. Checkpoint Charlie is 1-2 blocks away. Brandenburg gate is about 15 minutes walk away.

The hotel rooms were spacious, the bathroom was roomy and extremely clean. Like most average continental hotel rooms, there is no kettle or tea/coffee making facilities (we brought our own!). You can hear the cars from the rooms that face the main street, but we felt 'at home' as this is similar to our normal bedroom! The rooms on the other side has a more peaceful view of the church, and you get woken up by tweeting birds instead.

Took a while to work out the door lock, once you work it out, it's easy! As you unlock the door from the outside, you have to pull the door towards you to open the door.

It says wifi available in the hotel rooms, but there was hardly any signal in our rooms. The only place I can get a good connection is at the lobby. The lobby also has a computer for use, also it is in German, with a German keyboard so you can't touch type if you're not used to the layout.

The staff are very helpful, both with travel directions and types of tickets to get. They also helped with printing out boarding pass and booking taxis.

The breakfast is recommended. Eventhough we didn't include breakfast in our package, we were very happy to pay for breakfast every morning. Good choices, good quality, very enjoyable. They even started breakfast on the Sunday of the marathon at 6am to cater for the runners - earlier than their usual sunday breakfast hours.

I would highly recommend this hotel, very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was recommend by German friends and lived up to our expectation. It's conveniently located near Potdamer Platz where you can catch the Underground train that takes you anywhere you choose, you may have to switch to the S Bahn at times. It was very clean and quiet in the hotel. The rates are around $100 for a double. Unfortunately, breakfast is not included but is available for an additional 10 Euro, very scrumptious. The staff speaks English and was always very helpful in explaining the subway system and recommending tours.
We'd stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel is near to 2 train stations. We have the biggest appartment for 3 with a kitchen. Everything is good and meet our needs although there is no air conditioning and some noise (most probably from the bar downstairs). The saucepans are so scratched that we dare not use them.

Room Tip: higher floor may have a city view. Maybe above 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in hotel 2 wks at the beginning of July. Apt on 11th floor had nice view of the city. Big living room area, clean bathroom, 2 bedrooms and a good size kitchen. Washing machine in bathroom was convenient. The tree lined street is fairly quiet in the evening. No air con, but opening the windows in living room & bedrooms cooled the apt quickly. The television is outdated (not flat screen) and could not get wifi in apt, but it was okay because Starbucks at Sony Center has free wifi. Short (5 min) walk to Potsdamer Platz and Sony Center where U-Bahn stations and bus stops can take you just about anywhere you want to go in the city. The Topography of Terror (Berlin Wall Monument and Documentation Center) is about a 3 minute walk from the hotel. Look for tour buses turning down the side street. The reception staff was really fantastic especially Julia and Peggy. They helped to translate the washing machine dials (it's all in German), gave us U-Bahn & bus directions to Charlottenburg Palace and Humboldt University, translated our mobile phone top up receipt, and greeted us cheerfully in the morning and in the afternoon when we returned from sightseeing. The apt is cleaned daily and the 3 of us had no complaints. There is a Kaisers market in the Arkaden mall in Potsdamer Platz where you can pick up food and drinks to put in the refrigerator. Would stay here again. Staff is wonderful and the location is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel BelAhr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BelAhr

Address: Stresemannstrasse 97, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel BelAhr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel BelAhr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.