We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

I chose this hotel as a result of the reviews on Tripadvisor and was again delighted that I had. It is very easy to access from the Schonfield Airport, though the local metro station has a lot of exits, some closer than others. Round the corner from Checkpoint Charlie, it is a modern business style hotel. The room service, though not extensive, is excellent value. There is a lovely Italian Restaurant locally The Lungmare Trattoria - we ate there twice in three days. There was limited availability of reasonable restaurants that suited teenagers so we were happy to find this. The junior suite had 2 good size bedrooms and was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    837
    100
    13
    12
See reviews for
550
830
293
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

We booked this hotel based on recommendations made here at Trip Advisor and am very happy to confirm that they were true! This is a very good hotel indeed.

Hotel service was very friendly, efficient and faultless. Front desk was especially good, arranging a lovely night out for us at the Berlin Philharmonic. All the staff in the hotel seemed happy and made us feel welcome.

The double room was large, clean, modern with a powerful shower. Hotel was ideally located if you are interested in seeing Checkpoint Charlie and the other major central sites of Berlin. We did however think that there was not a profusion of places to eat nearby.

We paid for the weekend package including the buffet breakfast - which had plenty of choice, from multiple choices of bread and rolls, cereals, cakes, bacon, eggs, jams even spring rolls and bio-yogurt drinks. The dining room was quite classy with quiet classical music playing in the background - provided a perfect start to the day.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

This must rate as one of the best hotels I've stayed in. For a very reasonable price I had a huge room, very good breakfast and pleasant, friendly service. I wish there were more hotels like this one. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Have just returned from 2 night stay in the Mercure Hotel Checkpoint Charlie and would definitely recommend it. We had a large double suite with separate bathroom - very large, bath plus shower, under floor heating - and separate toilet. The two double rooms were very spacious and perfect for 4 adults. The decor is basic and functional but we were really impressed by the cleaniness of the whole hotel. Staff were friendly and the food was good. The buffet breakfast is a little pricey at 18 euro but the selection was great so if you like to fill up in the mornings then it is well worth the price! They also serve breakfast until 11.30 am at weekends.

The location was really good too. Just minutes from checkpoint charlie. We were able to walk to many of the sights within 30 mins (Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag, Jewish Memorial, Berliner Dom) and took a bus tour from outside the checkpoint charlie haus museum which covered other areas of the city.


I would

Stayed March 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Location is great. very clean and quiet. large rooms and nice staff. Great service, above all the shuttle to the fair ground.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed in this hotel last week and were very pleased with the roominess and cleanliness. Well located near Checkpoint Charlie and subway stops. Also within blocks of Unter din linden which we walked to several times. Value for hotel is good. Breakfast is definitely overpriced at about 13 Euros per person with the selection of food being very limited. I'd skip that. Other than the breakfast, everything else was great. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

The room were very spacious and bathrooms had heated towel racks and heated floor.
Room service food simple but vey good value. They even do a takeaway lunch pack
for 3.5 Euro of roll, drink and piece of fruit.
Location was excellent just on the old east/west Berlin border around the corner from Checkpoint Charlie. Recommend the Checkpoint Charlie Haus for great exhibits and information about escapes and the cold war.
Don't bother though with the 18 Euro breakfast unless you are happy to pay that as there are
plenty of cheap breakfast deals at coffee shops nearby.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#23 Family Hotel in Berlin
#34 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#41 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 135 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.