We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spacious room with good facilities but unreasonably priced breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schuetzenstrasse 11 | 10117 Berlin, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save
Ranked #39 of 668 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious room with good facilities but unreasonably priced breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Really pleased to be able to access our room on arrival at midday. We requested a courtyard facing room as recommended by other TA reviews. Very quiet room but also because of being on the sixth floor.
As other reviewers have commented the 18 euro per person charge for breakfast seems particularly steep. Found it somewhat annoying that on arrival at the hotel, we were offered a deal of having breakfast for 15 euros per person if we took all three days but if we want to have just once it would be at the 18Euro rate and we need to say in advance. This way of charging does not seem very welcoming to the guest in my opinion. Instead went to nice cafes for croissant and coffee within five minutes walk.
Back to the positives - the hotel has a nice bar with comfortable areas of different seating and had a warm atmosphere on each evening. Very comfortable room with good quality fittings and furnishings. Bathroom had a separate walk in powerful shower.
Great location for restaurants. Ten minute walk to Gendarmenmarkt. Easy to use the efficient public transport system to get wherever you want to visit around the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,399
    899
    106
    15
    13
See reviews for
592
865
303
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MIDLAND
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and and I spent 3 days at the Murcure Hotel. We picked this property based on review from Trip Advisor. I good decision. Our room was well maintained and very clean. The bed was also very good. The baths were excellen; plenty of water pressure and room in the bath. We had 1&half baths. There was a setting room and balcony and 2 TV's. We found this property well managed.We did not eat breakfast here; it was to expensive! Our check in and out experience was very efficient. The staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: Ask for inside courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is truly affordable with excellent and spacious room. I can't believe that the room was so big and very nicely decorated...and also has two bathroom! for less than 150 euros!!! The location is perfect to go anywhere in Berlin. When I visit Berlin, I will definitely use the hotel at checkpoint again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just a round the corner from Checkpoint Charlie, this hotel has a great location. Within walking distance you will find a plethora of very good, authentic German restaurants (have the Concierge make reservations early, though!) The hotel itself has an adorable bar right off the lobby, which also serves food (try the apple streudel). The staff was extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. The expresso machine in the room was an exceptionally nice touch. Location wise - smack in the middle of Check Point Charlie, easy enough access to public transport and tourist bus. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days in Sept 2013. This hotel is in an ideal position for a tourist wishing to walk to the main attractions, which we did including the isle of museums. We were very impressed by the service and organisation of the hotel. Nothing was too difficult. Service was swift and great every time including trivial requests like ...can I borrow an umbrella.... No issue - there was an umbrella there for us every time. Staff was very friendly, knowledgable and helpful including currency exchange or tour tickets. Very clean spacious room with a comfortable bathroom. A great hotel at reasonable cost. Great apples free for guests in reception!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#8 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#72 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#57 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#21 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstrasse 11 | 10117 Berlin, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#24 Family Hotel in Berlin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#38 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 135 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.