We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #35 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
palo alto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was my favorite of the 5 hotels I stayed at during 2 weeks in Germany and France. Upon check-in, I was surprised to be upgraded to an apartment (Residenz) in the adjacent building. Considering I only paid 110 USD per night, this was unexpected. The front desk clerk was very friendly and gave me a free walking map of the city, which was just what I needed. The apartment was beautiful, spotless, and featured tall ceilings and a view of the courtyard. I heard no noise what-so-ever overnight. The apt featured a full stove, microwave, fridge/minibar and plenty of cabinets (no plates pans or cutlery, so I would have needed to furnish that in order to cook). The apt also featured a very nice espresso machine, which I must say was brilliant. I don't think I'll ever be happy with the rudimentary coffee machines in other hotels after experiencing this. Bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was well appointed. Only disappointment was the lack of free WIFI. I finally gave up and paid 3 EUR for 1 hr of access, but it was only because I had an urgent need. Also, there was no free bottled water in the room, unlike some hotels. I didn't try the breakfast, since I can't imagine whatever it was would have been worth 18 EUR extra/day. There is Coffee Fellows and other places within walking distance for morning fare. Location was good, with Checkpoint Charlie (tourist trap) nearby and the excellent Jewish museum under 10 min away by foot. I had to walk about 15 min with my luggage from the Friedrichstrasse S-bahn station since the U-bahn is under construction right now. My biggest disappointment was that I only got to stay here for 2 nights. For the price, location and city, I would have gladly spent a week here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    798
    93
    12
    10
See reviews for
528
792
287
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a huge, well-designed superior room. It was like a suite with a large lounge and two other lounge chairs, wardrobes, a fridge, coffee machine & a balcony. The bed was very comfortable. The toilet was in a separate room off the foyer area and the bathroom had a walk-in shower with good water pressure. The room and all the hotel public areas were very clean and tidy and all the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfasts were excellent both in variety and quality of food. The hotel is in a good location for exploring Berlin & I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we are in Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixensart, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Excellent hotel, quite impress by this Mercure Hotel. Everything perfect from the welcome desk to the room with separate WC . Breakfast quite extensive. Great location near the U bahn Stadtmitte, very near the Check Point Charlie. About 30 min walking through the Gendarmemarkt towards the museum isle. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Had room 118 with view to an interior courtyard with trees. Very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a great hotel within walking distance to lots of interesting places. Our room was clean and quiet, food in bar area and breakfast was great. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We usually stay at at least one Mercure hotel while traveling in Europe and we were happy with our stay at this hotel. The room was large for 2 people with ample room to move around and it had 2 closets, 1 for each of us. The bathroom had a large walk in shower and the the basin area was a decent size. Breakfast was in a nice bright room and the offerings were plentiful and all of the food was really good, with various egg dishes, bacon and sausage, great cereal/muesli selections and lots of fruit. There was a large selection of other meats and cheeses and the coffee was very good and you could request a take away cup for coffee too. It was very easy to get around to the different sights from the hotel location. All in all we were very happy with this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beware to check your reservations with this hotel. As the name implies, there are apartments (residenz) also next to the hotel. We wanted two regular rooms, but were shuttled off to the apartment side and there the bedrooms are on another floor than the main part of the apartment. So, for carrying luggage, or for those that have a difficult time with slippery / varnished stairs, do NOT look here.

The breakfast was decent but a bit over-priced (very typical of Berlin, so no surprise). Overall, avoid the apartments! Even the idea of a sky light over the bed is crazy when the sun rises at 4 AM!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bauru, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is in an exelent location, near 2 metro stations, and near some touristic attractions like Gendarmenmarkt and Checkpoint Charlie. And it´s also possible to walk towards the Berlin Dome, the Brandenbourg Gate and the Reichstag.
Very friendly hosts. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 135 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstraße and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, 1 meeting room, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.