We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schuetzenstrasse 11 | 10117 Berlin, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save
Ranked #39 of 668 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
palo alto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was my favorite of the 5 hotels I stayed at during 2 weeks in Germany and France. Upon check-in, I was surprised to be upgraded to an apartment (Residenz) in the adjacent building. Considering I only paid 110 USD per night, this was unexpected. The front desk clerk was very friendly and gave me a free walking map of the city, which was just what I needed. The apartment was beautiful, spotless, and featured tall ceilings and a view of the courtyard. I heard no noise what-so-ever overnight. The apt featured a full stove, microwave, fridge/minibar and plenty of cabinets (no plates pans or cutlery, so I would have needed to furnish that in order to cook). The apt also featured a very nice espresso machine, which I must say was brilliant. I don't think I'll ever be happy with the rudimentary coffee machines in other hotels after experiencing this. Bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was well appointed. Only disappointment was the lack of free WIFI. I finally gave up and paid 3 EUR for 1 hr of access, but it was only because I had an urgent need. Also, there was no free bottled water in the room, unlike some hotels. I didn't try the breakfast, since I can't imagine whatever it was would have been worth 18 EUR extra/day. There is Coffee Fellows and other places within walking distance for morning fare. Location was good, with Checkpoint Charlie (tourist trap) nearby and the excellent Jewish museum under 10 min away by foot. I had to walk about 15 min with my luggage from the Friedrichstrasse S-bahn station since the U-bahn is under construction right now. My biggest disappointment was that I only got to stay here for 2 nights. For the price, location and city, I would have gladly spent a week here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,404
    901
    106
    15
    12
See reviews for
595
867
303
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a huge, well-designed superior room. It was like a suite with a large lounge and two other lounge chairs, wardrobes, a fridge, coffee machine & a balcony. The bed was very comfortable. The toilet was in a separate room off the foyer area and the bathroom had a walk-in shower with good water pressure. The room and all the hotel public areas were very clean and tidy and all the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfasts were excellent both in variety and quality of food. The hotel is in a good location for exploring Berlin & I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we are in Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixensart, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Excellent hotel, quite impress by this Mercure Hotel. Everything perfect from the welcome desk to the room with separate WC . Breakfast quite extensive. Great location near the U bahn Stadtmitte, very near the Check Point Charlie. About 30 min walking through the Gendarmemarkt towards the museum isle. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Had room 118 with view to an interior courtyard with trees. Very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a great hotel within walking distance to lots of interesting places. Our room was clean and quiet, food in bar area and breakfast was great. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We usually stay at at least one Mercure hotel while traveling in Europe and we were happy with our stay at this hotel. The room was large for 2 people with ample room to move around and it had 2 closets, 1 for each of us. The bathroom had a large walk in shower and the the basin area was a decent size. Breakfast was in a nice bright room and the offerings were plentiful and all of the food was really good, with various egg dishes, bacon and sausage, great cereal/muesli selections and lots of fruit. There was a large selection of other meats and cheeses and the coffee was very good and you could request a take away cup for coffee too. It was very easy to get around to the different sights from the hotel location. All in all we were very happy with this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beware to check your reservations with this hotel. As the name implies, there are apartments (residenz) also next to the hotel. We wanted two regular rooms, but were shuttled off to the apartment side and there the bedrooms are on another floor than the main part of the apartment. So, for carrying luggage, or for those that have a difficult time with slippery / varnished stairs, do NOT look here.

The breakfast was decent but a bit over-priced (very typical of Berlin, so no surprise). Overall, avoid the apartments! Even the idea of a sky light over the bed is crazy when the sun rises at 4 AM!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bauru, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is in an exelent location, near 2 metro stations, and near some touristic attractions like Gendarmenmarkt and Checkpoint Charlie. And it´s also possible to walk towards the Berlin Dome, the Brandenbourg Gate and the Reichstag.
Very friendly hosts. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#8 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#72 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#57 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#21 of 668 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstrasse 11 | 10117 Berlin, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#24 Family Hotel in Berlin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#38 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 135 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.