We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Wigan, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in April and had a lovely time. We booked through Agoda and couldn't believe what a bargain we'd got when we saw the standard price. The rooms were amongst the biggest I have ever stayed in with a walk in wardrobe with safe and a seperate seating area in the room. The reception staff were great with nothing too much trouble. We bought tickets for the tourist bus from reception which picked up just round the corner. Some people outside the hotel were less than helpful though. The bus finishes at 7pm and we were asked to leave at 6.45 as he wanted to go home! I don't walk very well so we decided to take a taxi but he wouldn't take us as he said it would be quicker to walk! 1.5 miles and at 8.30 we arrived back at checkpoint charlie. Obviously that's no reflection on the hotel though. We had a great time and would strongly recommend it to others. In fact other friends have recently returned having enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,241
    747
    76
    10
    7
See reviews for
501
750
281
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April while visiting Berlin for the first time. Our room was very comfortable, larger than any of our other European hotel rooms, and even had a small covered balcony overlooking a charming courtyard green space. We did not have the breakfast at the hotel as a few minutes walk down the road were several spots for a morning coffee and pastry, even a McD's directly across from Checkpoint Charlie. Staff were courteous, and helpful with directions and reserving a taxi for the airport. Good location, we walked or took the U-bahn to sights and caught the double decker tour bus just down the road at Checkpoint Charlie. I would definitely recommend this hotel in Berlin.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is a very good choice when visiting Berlin. it has large rooms, very good breakfast and friendly, competent employees. It is (of course) close to Checkpoint Charlie, and the center of Berlin. the metrostation is just a few minutes walking.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Th estreet is not busy, but I would go for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in April. I thought it offered excellent value as I got a deal that included breakfast which was excellent. The room was one of the largest hotel rooms I have stayed in and was very comfortable and there was everything you wanted. The bar area was great and you can order small meals there. There is no restaurant for dinner, however there are a few places within 2 or 3 mins walk if you want. Free Wi Fi is available in the lobby area and there are plenty of tables so it is comfortable to use.
The hotel location could not be better as it close to all the attractions in the area, which you can walk to. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are staying in Berlin for value and location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for over a week in april. The hotel is clean, the room looked better than on the photos, perfect beds and a quiet area of Berlin. There are some restaurants and shops just a few minutes away from the hotel. And it is very close to the U-bahn station Stadtmitte. Be aware that one of the 2 lines are temporary out of service due to construction work.

The service level needs improvement, ecpecially regarding the maid service. I had to ask for more soap, shampoo and a new laundy bag. My girlfriend visited me for 2 days, and it was ok to pay 30 EUR for this, but the room did not get not set up for 2 persons. No extra bathrobe or slippers were provided.

I also had problems with the wifi-access. I tried to get some help in the Reception, but they did not seems to bother because it was an external service provider. They told me to call a free hotline (which was not free and added to my bill anyway). This hotline operators had no idea what the problem was. But after calling every day for 4 days, I got an operator that told me she would restart the access point in the hotel. And then it worked. So if you are a business traveller and need wifi access, this might not be the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fownhope, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

An extremely comfortable and convenienetly located hotel. Rooms at the rear of the hotel are very quiet. Good breakfasts. Very helpful staff. Only problem was that the hotel did not offer a sheet and blanket as an alternative to the duvet.

Room Tip: Rooms art rear of hotel are very quier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

the location is perfect. we walked almost everywhere. from kurfurstendamm to the tv tower. when we arrived there was no non smoking room and we were upgraded to a bigger smoking room. the smell was not bad at all and the windows were able to stay open. there was a little balcony. the personnel was very polite and helpful. they gave some suggestions for dining. we did not eat breakfast in the hotel. did have a few beverages at the bar. the bartender olivia was very friendly and nice. we did a lot of sightseeing in berlin and if we come back, would stay in this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Berlin
#19 Business Hotel in Berlin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 135 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstraße and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, 1 meeting room, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.