We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schuetzenstrasse 11 | 10117 Berlin, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Sale
Ranked #36 of 667 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in April and had a lovely time. We booked through Agoda and couldn't believe what a bargain we'd got when we saw the standard price. The rooms were amongst the biggest I have ever stayed in with a walk in wardrobe with safe and a seperate seating area in the room. The reception staff were great with nothing too much trouble. We bought tickets for the tourist bus from reception which picked up just round the corner. Some people outside the hotel were less than helpful though. The bus finishes at 7pm and we were asked to leave at 6.45 as he wanted to go home! I don't walk very well so we decided to take a taxi but he wouldn't take us as he said it would be quicker to walk! 1.5 miles and at 8.30 we arrived back at checkpoint charlie. Obviously that's no reflection on the hotel though. We had a great time and would strongly recommend it to others. In fact other friends have recently returned having enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnieWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April while visiting Berlin for the first time. Our room was very comfortable, larger than any of our other European hotel rooms, and even had a small covered balcony overlooking a charming courtyard green space. We did not have the breakfast at the hotel as a few minutes walk down the road were several spots for a morning coffee and pastry, even a McD's directly across from Checkpoint Charlie. Staff were courteous, and helpful with directions and reserving a taxi for the airport. Good location, we walked or took the U-bahn to sights and caught the double decker tour bus just down the road at Checkpoint Charlie. I would definitely recommend this hotel in Berlin.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is a very good choice when visiting Berlin. it has large rooms, very good breakfast and friendly, competent employees. It is (of course) close to Checkpoint Charlie, and the center of Berlin. the metrostation is just a few minutes walking.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Th estreet is not busy, but I would go for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kees V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in April. I thought it offered excellent value as I got a deal that included breakfast which was excellent. The room was one of the largest hotel rooms I have stayed in and was very comfortable and there was everything you wanted. The bar area was great and you can order small meals there. There is no restaurant for dinner, however there are a few places within 2 or 3 mins walk if you want. Free Wi Fi is available in the lobby area and there are plenty of tables so it is comfortable to use.
The hotel location could not be better as it close to all the attractions in the area, which you can walk to. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are staying in Berlin for value and location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 98Davew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for over a week in april. The hotel is clean, the room looked better than on the photos, perfect beds and a quiet area of Berlin. There are some restaurants and shops just a few minutes away from the hotel. And it is very close to the U-bahn station Stadtmitte. Be aware that one of the 2 lines are temporary out of service due to construction work.

The service level needs improvement, ecpecially regarding the maid service. I had to ask for more soap, shampoo and a new laundy bag. My girlfriend visited me for 2 days, and it was ok to pay 30 EUR for this, but the room did not get not set up for 2 persons. No extra bathrobe or slippers were provided.

I also had problems with the wifi-access. I tried to get some help in the Reception, but they did not seems to bother because it was an external service provider. They told me to call a free hotline (which was not free and added to my bill anyway). This hotline operators had no idea what the problem was. But after calling every day for 4 days, I got an operator that told me she would restart the access point in the hotel. And then it worked. So if you are a business traveller and need wifi access, this might not be the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Morku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fownhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

An extremely comfortable and convenienetly located hotel. Rooms at the rear of the hotel are very quiet. Good breakfasts. Very helpful staff. Only problem was that the hotel did not offer a sheet and blanket as an alternative to the duvet.

Room Tip: Rooms art rear of hotel are very quier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fownhopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

the location is perfect. we walked almost everywhere. from kurfurstendamm to the tv tower. when we arrived there was no non smoking room and we were upgraded to a bigger smoking room. the smell was not bad at all and the windows were able to stay open. there was a little balcony. the personnel was very polite and helpful. they gave some suggestions for dining. we did not eat breakfast in the hotel. did have a few beverages at the bar. the bartender olivia was very friendly and nice. we did a lot of sightseeing in berlin and if we come back, would stay in this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchbuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte - The Wall at Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#4 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#22 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,181 reviews
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#68 of 667 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstrasse 11 | 10117 Berlin, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 135 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#