We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value - would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth Western Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent value - would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for three nights and would recommend it to anyone visiting Berlin. The hotel was clean - rooms large and well designed. The hotel staff were friendly and very happy to help with any requests. the breakfast which was included was great - plenty of choices and again clean and the staff were efficient.
The location of this hotel is great - just over the road is an excellent French restaurant - can't remember the name but well worth visiting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    837
    100
    13
    12
See reviews for
550
830
293
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The room is really huge with porch and cloakroom. The bed is big and specious that I guess it's possible to contain one more single bed. That's amazing.Then the bathroom is large too with powerful shower facility.
The hotel is convenient, easy to reach tourist attractions and metro (around 5 mins).
The staff is nice and helpful. There are welcom drink and fruit in the lobby also.

I like this hotel a lot and find there is no drawback except paid wifi (Free ;wifi is only available i lobby).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a family sized room overlooking the interior courtyard of the block - so no view of the front street. Very good room just no WiFi in room unless you paid extra. Free WiFi is available in the lobby but this means you having to be down there. There is a free fitness gym upstairs too available to guests.

Location is good near to Checkpoint Charlie and walkable to the nearest U-Bahn.

There is an upmarket fancy coffee/expresso machine but there are limited numbers of sachets to use - only 2 teas. Not sure if we could get more as we were mainly out. There is a minibar fridge which you can use - go to the nearby Kaisers (German chain of grocers).

Ask at reception to point you to nearby restaurants to eat out. We had a lovely pork knuckle and roast duck in an Austrian themed place - highly recommended!

Note if you are travelling with luggage and using public transport the area is cobbled and your wheels will be rattling away, but it is not impossible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Checked in yesterday for 4 nights (room 623) - paid in advance for a suite at a higher rate to include breakfast, wifi and welcome gift. No welcome gift upon check-in. Never mind. No wifi in the room unless I go out of my room and stand in hallway. Even then its intermittent - wont stay on for longer than 30 seconds. Enquired at reception and was advised room above us had the same problem. Was told I have to take up the issue with the internet provider as the hotel is not responsible. WHAT?? Why should I spend my holiday time doing the job for the hotel for something that I paid to the hotel? I asked for a room change to get better reception but the request was not taken into consideration by the supervisor.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I booked this hotel on hotels.com for the end of December. It was an excellent stay. When we arrived they upgraded our room free of charge. They were one of the few hotels on our trip that I did not have to prove that I pre-paid for breakfast. The room was very clean, the location is a perfect location in the city near Checkpoint Charlie and within reasonable walking distance to anything else you might want to see. The breakfast service was great and the buffet selection was outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family and it was a very well positioned hotel close to checkpoint Charlie and in the east part of Berlin. The staff are very attentive and polite and will always try and assist wherever possible. The rooms are huge, very comfy and well appointed. The free wifi in reception gets a bit slow if too many people are using it. better to use early in the morning when few people are there. Some of the best value for money we have had.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here while visiting Berlin for the Christmas markets, really friendly front desk staff, very helpful, rooms were massive, spacious, very comfortable, great locations, short walk to lots of the sights - 15minutes to the Bradenberg gate, of course very close to Checkpoint Charlie, great hotel, highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#23 Family Hotel in Berlin
#34 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#41 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 135 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.