We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to Berlin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Frühbucher zahlen weniger
Ranked #23 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First Trip to Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Berlin in early September 2012 for a long weekend city break. We chose the Hotel because of its location and were not disappointed, Checkpoint Charlie around the corner; Unter den Linden, Brandenberg Tor and Potsdamer Platz all easily walkerable! The surprise was Gendarmenmark - great bars (Newtons), restaurants, and a shop devoted totally to chocolate (Fassender & Rausch). Our room was upgraded to an apartment and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,287
    745
    76
    9
    7
See reviews for
471
726
275
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Mercure Hotel & Residenz is a wonderful hotel in the centre of Berlin. Great value for money, good service. Nice, spacious room with a good level of service. With free wifi in the rooms I would have given it five stars!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hat's off for this hotel, great management, great team, great service ! Would highly recommend it for everyone going to berlin, it is 100 meters from checkpoint charlie, and major shopping areas in alexader platz

Room Tip: room 223 the suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our first trip to Berlin, so we chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. The location is very good. It is around the corner practically from Checkpoint Charlie and many restaurants and cafes and lots of shopping, as well as several U-bahn stations.
We had a triple room and it was very large by European standards. The single bed was creaky and not too comfortable and the "air conditioning" was very weak. We had one bathroom with a sink and toilet and the other with shower and sink, so that was interesting. Lots of windows in the room which was nice. I didn't like that they only provide you with a sample of coffees and when they are gone, they don't refill. There is no note of this but I asked at the desk and I guess you have to pay if you want more. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel since it is pricey and was not included in our rate. They have one computer in the lobby to use and free wi-fi in the lobby and bar area. The staff is helpful and speaks English.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo,CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great room. Very clean, spacious, quiet with comfortable beds. The hotel staff pleasantly answered our many questions and were exceedingly patient with our non existent understanding of the German language. The buffet breakfast was part of the hotel package and it was amazing. Great foods to satisfy every palate, including wonderful breads, many cheeses, fresh fruit, various yogurts, eggs and different kinds of coffee. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Look for specials on Venere.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The staff were all attentive and accommodating. Breakfast offered a fantastic choice of meats, eggs, yogurts, cereals, and coffee. Excellent value for money. The only negative was no free in-room wifi. I had mistakenly taken "free wifi" to mean "free in-room wifi." Instead, I had to use either the one computer in the lobby, or sit at a non-desk chair with my ipad. Not ideal. Don't know if this is common practice in Europe, for I found the same thing at the Marriott in Leipzig. Yet, now in Munich at a dive of a hotel, I have dirty carpet, dingy room, and no toiletries, but I DO have free in-room wifi! What a surprise!

The one thing the hotel could do to improve customer service is hire staff with better English skills. For most inquiries, they did just fine, with only minor language problems that were easy to handle with gestures. One evening, my daughter tried to call me. At first, she was told no such person was staying at the hotel. Then, after repeated requests to spell my name, she was put through--to a dead line! She didn't want to go through the same exercise again, so gave up and emailed me. Not quite the best way to convey a sudden family problem at home.

Room Tip: I asked for, and was given, a nice quiet room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

These two older buildings have been converted into a hotel. The rooms are very spacious and well equiped. The beds are very good.

Housekeeping did not live up to the rest of the Hotel. They forgot to replenish the in room coffee and toiletries on two days in a row even though I reminded the fornt desk on one of the two days. I think this is a consisitent policy to save money by the hotel as one time the front desk tried to charge me for supplies which usually belong for free in a room - such as the coffee sachets. I protested and the hotel gave me additional free sachets but this should not and would no happen in a quality hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as they can hive nice views and some even have terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Berlin
#17 Family Hotel in Berlin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 135 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstraße and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, 1 meeting room, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.