We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt to your Saves list
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leipziger Str 65, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #436 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights. The hotel is easily in walking distance of many of the historic sites. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
14
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel is modern and conveniently located for tourists between Gendarmenmarkt to the North and Checkpoint Charlie to the South.

The rooms are adequately large with OK bathrooms (shower stall not tub; included hairdryer & soap) and small TVs (two English-language news channels). The bed was a bit lumpy but OK.

The staff works in a cramped little lobby/office area. They are helpful and friendly. But there is no lobby area as such if you wish to "get away" from your room or read late at night when jet lag occurs.

Here are the "extras": First, to get wifi, you must pay a daily or weekly rate. Ouch. There is a Starbucks three blocks or so away on Friedrichstrasse with free wifi.

Second, the breakfast is not included but 10 Euros extra. The staff is quite up front about this but please ask if price is critical for you. There is a market less than 100 meters away for do it yourself breakfast folks.

Overall, I still give it 4 stars because of the friendly staff, reasonable prices (for Berlin) and great location. The Stadtmitte Ubahn station is two blocks away and there are numerous good eateries just north of the hotel in the general Gendarmenmarkt / Friedrichstrasse area. And for you folks who consume your meals in liter steins, there is a Lowenbrau restaurant on the street next to the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from Leipzigstrasse side and the noise from the Lowenbrau bier garten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel from 23 to 29 march 2011 and overall it was a very pleasant experience.We had a very spacious room on the second floor,very claean and well furnished,the beds were very comfortable.Bathroom also first class.I Breakfast was more than adequate,coffee very good. All the personnel are very friendly and helpful.The hotel is very good situated for sight seeing.U bahn very near,busses also.We took a 5 day pass on public transport,which works perfectly as is to be expected in Germany.We would certainly go back to this adress when we are in Berlin again.

Room Tip: I think they are all (very) good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

I pretty much agree with the nice reviews below. It's a modern(-ish) and clean place, close to a lot of interesting places, and pretty much in the middle of everything (though I'd probably rather stay in Kreuzberg, Prenzlauer Berg or even Friedrichshain).

Anyway, I just wanted to register one very large complaint:
Nowhere in the hotel - not the rooms, not the lobby, not the restaurant - is it possible to get a cup of coffee outside of breakfast opening hours!

The minibar was ridiculously overstuffed, but no coffee. And the receptionist, nice and friendly as she was, didn't know where to get a cup nearby. Luckily I found one (1!) cafe that was open until 9 pm - all the other, Starbucks, Einstein, etc. closed earlier) - so I got my fix, but it's very close to being a dealbreaker when you're on a business trip and need to work in the evenings.

Oh, and by the way - the paid wifi is pretty expensive and only has 30 or 120 minute deals. I really, really hate that - I would rather pay an extra 10-20 Euro per night and have free wifi and not have to bother with paying and registering credit cards and so on. Will they ever learn?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens,Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Excellend spot in the midle of Mitte, spacious rooms, cleanness, good personnel,
good breakfast
The only bad thing was that they asked us to pay in advance!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We have stayed at this great hotel before, and if in berlin we will always come here. It has a great location, just a 5 min walk to check point charlie, 5 min walk to underground, a good base for exploring Berlin. The hotel itself is quite small but that suits us, rooms clean and fair size. Nice breakfast room, serving usual continental breakfasts, all very tasty. our breakfast was included in the price of the room, I think it is better to deal direct with the hotel. Joined to the hotel is a lowenbrau beerkeller, they have a good menu at reasonable prices, please note however there is more choice on the german menu, than the english this is due to menu changes, the staff are friendly and very helpful. And are happy to go through the menu with you. Would I come back to this hotel again - you bet. I recomend a visti to the Ka Da We department store, especially the 6th floor a must for foodies, plenty of food options. If in Alexanderplatz have a drink by the river on the outside terrace of the radison, go inside and see the giant fish tank in reception, look up it is not at eye level. Take a boat trip from here at only 7 euros it was very good value, please note the guide may only speak german, this didn't bother us, had a nice relaxing boat ride. weather was fantastic, take sun cream.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing- couldn't fault it.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

we stayed there 2 nights.
the location is simply perfect, just 1 building (the hilton hotel) far from gendarmenmarkt.
bus M48 close to the hotel and metro stop Stadtmitte 1 minute far.
checkpoint charlie is at 5 min walking., the same for friedrichstrasse and unter den linden.

the room was perfectly clean, quite big, with enough space for the luggage. hot water without problem.
we payed 93 euro for a double, with private bathroom and buffet breakfast included.

very kind and smiling staff, at the reception and in the breakfast room too.

breakfast room is lovely! and the same is for the restaurant "lowenbrau" that is part of the hotel, but open to everybody.

i'd come back to this hotel for sure, and i'll tell to all my friends.

  • Liked — location, cleaness and kind stuff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Leipziger Str 65, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Cph Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.