We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off WiFi !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Berlin Heinrich Heine

Save Saved
You added NH Berlin Heinrich Heine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
NH Hoteles Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
NH Berlin Heinrich Heine
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Heinrich Heine Platz 11, 10179 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover NH - as of €70!
Ranked #196 of 663 hotels in Berlin
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Rip Off WiFi !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Whilst I agree with other reviews that this is a great hotel for location and size of rooms (almost like a small appartment), their Wifi charges are not mentioned.....as they're a complete rip off! Their hotel descriptions all say they have WiFi connections and you get 30 minutes free BUT in the lobby ONLY! After that they charge 8.92€ per 24 hours!! That would be approx 267€ for a month - I pay around 26€ for a month at home!!! Most little cafes in many major cities have free WiFi these days so why doesn't this hotel - its not like I'm using their PC....I took my own tablet.
This hotel lies behind an Aldi supermarket off the actual road so is mostly hidden from view so not that easy to spot initially. We picked this hotel mainly for its closeness to our German side of the family - they live at No. 9 and the hotel is No 11 !!

So while this is a nice hotel, if I saw a hotel with free wifi, I would NOT choose the NH hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    52
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
37
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for a 3 night city break a couple of weeks ago, mid November 2011. The place looked right on its website, in fact I thought it looked a little too good and was ready to be disappointed, but goodness me we couldn't believe just how good for us it was and at a very reasonable price! We arrived at 11 in the evening and found the entrance shut, but by using the intercom near the door we were soon inside. The room was huge with its own kitchen - perfect for us as we like to get our own breakfast; the 'Kaiser's' supermarket opposite the hotel was also a big plus. The queen-sized bed was comfortable and the bathroom couldn't be faulted. U-bahn 5 minutes walk, and just 2 stops from Alexanderplatz and S-bahn and buses - good if you like to use public transport as we do. The only fault was that the room smelt slightly of cigarette smoke and we are both non-smokers. Doubt I'll be happier with a hotel for quite a while.

Room Tip: Our room smelt a bit of cigarettes, so if you are non smokers perhaps you should stress this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Although this hotel is in a need of a little updating we had a lovely stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful and our suite was huge, with a lovely lounge/kitchen area with huge corner windows, a bedroom leading off with a very comfy bed and an immaculate bathroom. The tv could have been better ( no English speaking channels, not even CNN) plus it had a built in video ( which shows how in need of updating it is!), but since we had come to enjoy Berlin this didn't matter. I should add that tyeh price was extremely competitive.This hotel is a little away from the main sites but very accessible: a 5 minute walk to the U bahn and then 2 stops to Alexanderplatz.. There are also bus routes nearby which take you to the Hbf and the Ku'damm. The neighbourhood is quiet and pleasant, with some nice restaurants nearby at Oranienplatz and a lovely cafe bar just up the road by a lake (Michaelkirchplatz).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Fantastic stay here at NH hotel in Berlin.
We were upgraded to a suite and the amenities and room were fantastic.
The location of the hotel is in a good area of Berlin, 5 mins to U-bahn station. There is a good range of shops and supermarkets near by the hotel.
Will stay here again when next in Berlin!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We booked this hotel for one night in November 2010 while in Berlin for a concert. The hotel was slightly difficult to find, being near the back of a mixed residential/commercial project. Check-in was quick and efficient and we were pleased to find out that we had been given a suite for the price of a standard room. The hotel had probably been constructed ten years ago, so the interiors were slightly dated. The staff gave us tips for a restaurant in the area, which was quite good. Otherwise, this is a residential area at the southernmost part of the Mitte district of Berlin. In order to reach other neighborhoods, one has to drive or take the subway. The beakfast was of a high standard, with a diverse selection of foods typical for a German buffet breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for someone who has a car or other transport and wishes a good, clean hotel in Berlin.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days in March 2010. It really exceeded our expectations. We stayed at the Juniour Suite.

The apartment had a very big living room plus a medium-sized sleeping room and a very good bathroom. A well-equipped kitchenette was available which was very valuable for us as we had to cook for our kid. Nothing really to complain about the room. The staff was helpful, speaks good English.

The area is very, very quiet and for those who don't want to have dinner at one of brilliant berlin restaurants, a supermarket is available within some 200 meters. The location is good - 5 minute walk to U-bahn and 10 minute to S-bahn, and the area is within reasonable distance to all major sites (not 'walking distance', though, but come on, Berlin is big).

A few disadvantadges: room view is nothing special (urban and plain), and so is the surrounding area (can't be compared to Charlottenburg, for instance), could be a little hard to find the right door at first, room wi-fi didn't work. But all in all, we had a lovely stay, and would definetely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Our room at the NH Heinrich Heine was huge, included a small kitchenette, and was impeccably clean. The furnishings (bed and small couch) were not particularly comfortable, though, and the location is in a fairly residential area, a healthy 15-20 minute walk from downtown sights like Alexanderplatz - not the plush, central place we were expecting for the price. As a side note, you have to pay with a credit card in order to use the internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Berlin Heinrich Heine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Berlin Heinrich Heine

Also Known As:
Nh Berlin Heinrich Heine Hotel
Nh Berlin Heinrich Heine Hotel Berlin
Nh Hotels Berlin
Nh Hotel Berlin
Address: Heinrich Heine Platz 11, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Berlin Heinrich Heine 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your NH Berlin Heinrich Heine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Berlin Heinrich Heine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.