We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent base if you know Berlin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Berlin Heinrich Heine

Save Saved
You added NH Berlin Heinrich Heine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Berlin Heinrich Heine
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Heinrich Heine Platz 11, 10179 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A decent base if you know Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Although this hotel is in a need of a little updating we had a lovely stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful and our suite was huge, with a lovely lounge/kitchen area with huge corner windows, a bedroom leading off with a very comfy bed and an immaculate bathroom. The tv could have been better ( no English speaking channels, not even CNN) plus it had a built in video ( which shows how in need of updating it is!), but since we had come to enjoy Berlin this didn't matter. I should add that tyeh price was extremely competitive.This hotel is a little away from the main sites but very accessible: a 5 minute walk to the U bahn and then 2 stops to Alexanderplatz.. There are also bus routes nearby which take you to the Hbf and the Ku'damm. The neighbourhood is quiet and pleasant, with some nice restaurants nearby at Oranienplatz and a lovely cafe bar just up the road by a lake (Michaelkirchplatz).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
41
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Fantastic stay here at NH hotel in Berlin.
We were upgraded to a suite and the amenities and room were fantastic.
The location of the hotel is in a good area of Berlin, 5 mins to U-bahn station. There is a good range of shops and supermarkets near by the hotel.
Will stay here again when next in Berlin!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We booked this hotel for one night in November 2010 while in Berlin for a concert. The hotel was slightly difficult to find, being near the back of a mixed residential/commercial project. Check-in was quick and efficient and we were pleased to find out that we had been given a suite for the price of a standard room. The hotel had probably been constructed ten years ago, so the interiors were slightly dated. The staff gave us tips for a restaurant in the area, which was quite good. Otherwise, this is a residential area at the southernmost part of the Mitte district of Berlin. In order to reach other neighborhoods, one has to drive or take the subway. The beakfast was of a high standard, with a diverse selection of foods typical for a German buffet breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for someone who has a car or other transport and wishes a good, clean hotel in Berlin.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days in March 2010. It really exceeded our expectations. We stayed at the Juniour Suite.

The apartment had a very big living room plus a medium-sized sleeping room and a very good bathroom. A well-equipped kitchenette was available which was very valuable for us as we had to cook for our kid. Nothing really to complain about the room. The staff was helpful, speaks good English.

The area is very, very quiet and for those who don't want to have dinner at one of brilliant berlin restaurants, a supermarket is available within some 200 meters. The location is good - 5 minute walk to U-bahn and 10 minute to S-bahn, and the area is within reasonable distance to all major sites (not 'walking distance', though, but come on, Berlin is big).

A few disadvantadges: room view is nothing special (urban and plain), and so is the surrounding area (can't be compared to Charlottenburg, for instance), could be a little hard to find the right door at first, room wi-fi didn't work. But all in all, we had a lovely stay, and would definetely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Our room at the NH Heinrich Heine was huge, included a small kitchenette, and was impeccably clean. The furnishings (bed and small couch) were not particularly comfortable, though, and the location is in a fairly residential area, a healthy 15-20 minute walk from downtown sights like Alexanderplatz - not the plush, central place we were expecting for the price. As a side note, you have to pay with a credit card in order to use the internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in August for a week. The first room we were given faced directly at the construction site. It was very noisy! We requested another room facing the courtyard and were given one later in the afternoon.

The room itself was very large. We had nice views facing the courtyard, a large living room with the only TV, kitchen area with microwave, fridge and small freezer, tons of storage space for clothes. It does feel like you're in your own little apartment in a neighborhood.

There are several--what I would consider--minor caveats about the hotel and neighborhood, but that I think deserve to be pointed out.

1. The construction is still going on and it's very loud. We were still able to hear it even though we were on the other side. Also, there are very loud church bells that go on for five minutes at 7:00am on the weekdays. Because our room faced the courtyard area, every noise outside was magnified. Someone rolling a cart outside can sound like thunder. If you're a light sleeper, you might want to take those factors into account.

2. The bed was comfortable for me but the mattress was very hard.

3. There was no air-conditioning but they did provide a fan that kept the room cool with it on. If there is a heatwave, however, the room might get too hot.

4. The tub was huge, which is nice if you like to really soak, but getting out was slippery and difficult for me being 5'3". However, my husband also commented (unsolicited) that the tub was a bit too deep for him as well.

5. The TV only has German channels. It would have been nice to have CNN or SkyNews.

6. The hotel will give you a code for 30 minutes of Internet use per day with your own laptop but if you want to use it for a longer period of time then you have to pay.

Some of the more positive points were:

1. There's a grocery store literally right outside the front of the hotel for snacks. Super convenient! We never bothered with the hotel breakfast because we were able to have whatever we wanted each day from the grocery store. There's also another larger grocery store less than a block away that's open later.

2. The metro stop is a five minute walk from the hotel. It's only a couple of stops to Alexanderplatz. We walked to Alexanderplatz one day. It's about a 30 minute walk at a normal pace.

3. The hotel staff are very courteous and professional. The housekeeping service was very good. They do the dishes and clean the room to the guest's schedule, earlier or later, whatever you prefer each day, and are quiet in the hallways.

4. The room is large, clean and comfortable.

There are no restaurants really close to the hotel, but since we had the kitchen it wasn't a problem. You can also take a quick trip on the metro to busier areas.

If you like to be in the middle of the action, near restaurants and clubs, you probably wouldn't be happy staying here. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would consider it again on a future trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed in 2 rooms at this hotel in June 2010. We had originally booked a different hotel for our trip to Berlin, but changed the reservation to this NH hotel because of our excellent experience at the NH in Dresden at the beginning of the year.

We arrived at the hotel at 10.30 PM after a relatively long trip via public transport from the airport (Bus 50 mins followed by 3-5 min walk to the underground, 2 stops, followed by 5 min walk to the hotel). We had hoped to be able to get a sandwich/snack and drink in the bar before going to bed. Unfortunately, the receptionist told us they only serve breakfast and there is no bar. The NH Hotels website lists this property as a FOUR star hotel. There is no mention of the word "Garni" or "B&B Hotel" on their website. The official German (DEHOGA) hotel classification requirements state that a four star hotel has to have a minimum of one a la carte restaurant and hotel bar http://www.hotelsterne.de/uk/system_kriterien.php. This was also our minimum expectation when we booked. Simply leaving out a reference to such a basic facility should not automatically mean that it does not exist.

We had already read in trip advisor that all rooms are of suite standard with a small kitchenette, and we were not disappointed. Both of our rooms were very large, with a kitchen and living room, big bathroom and a very nice bedroom. All spotlessly clean. The bed was most comfortable, although there is no TV in the bedroom, only in the living room. At approx €80 per room per night, the rate was truly excellent for this standard of a room.

Unfortunately our plan to "sleep-in" until 9am on our 1st morning did not work out as the builders on the site directly outside our 2nd floor window promptly started work at 7am. Even the bed shook when they started work with some kind of earth compressing machine. Thankfully my parent’s room (towards the front of the hotel) was not so bad, however we did not get another minute’s sleep once the builders started to work. We complained to the receptionist, mainly about the fact that we had not been advised in advance that the hotel was directly beside a building site (we had had phone contact with the hotel at the time of our reservation and the hotel’s website makes no mention in regards to the building site) and she did offer us a room change to a side-room, but we turned it down as we felt that this would have only made minimal difference to the noise level. Furthermore, as we had already unpacked and had a tight schedule for the remainder of the day, we did not have time to repack in order to facilitate a room change.

The next morning (Saturday) was not as bad, although the action did begin again early in the morning. We did not notice any noise on Sunday. This noise must be a big issue for the locality as several of the apartments around the square (facing the park/building site) had large banners hanging from their balconies with some choice protest messages for the builders and development company.

We did not eat breakfast, as we felt that the €16 per person charge was excessive. Instead we found a bakery/café nearby and had breakfast for all four of us (rolls, cheese, pastries and excellent coffee) for less than what one breakfast would have cost at the hotel.

Contrary to other comments on this site, we did not find the hotel very central and other than the above mentioned bakery, there is not a great range of restaurants and bars nearby, unless you take the underground back to Alexanderplatz or further. On the Thursday night we arrived, we had to walk for nearly 10 minutes to find even one single restaurant which was open and served food.

On the whole, at the price, if you can get a room towards the front of the hotel for this rate, and if you don’t expect or require any services, this hotel will suit you perfectly. If you are looking for any kind of four star service or comfort outside of your room, our recommendation is to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Berlin Heinrich Heine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Berlin Heinrich Heine

Address: Heinrich Heine Platz 11, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Family Hotel in Berlin
#139 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Berlin Heinrich Heine 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, NHHotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your NH Berlin Heinrich Heine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Berlin Heinrich Heine Hotel Berlin
Nh Hotels Berlin
Nh Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Berlin Heinrich Heine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.