We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back to better era” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Askanischer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Askanischer Hof to your Saves list
Askanischer Hof
Kurfuerstendamm 53, 10707 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Going back to better era”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

A wonderful Arts and Crafts style hotel, that felt completely unspoilt. A refreshing change to the multi-national chains.

Amazing bedrooms and dining room (where breakfast is served.) It's like stepping back in time -- I expected to meet Christopher Isherwood on the stairs.

Good location, with some excellent restaurants in easy walking distance.

Very good for transportation links too. Lastly, would recommend one of the city walking tours. Fascinating, and a great way to see the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
48
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Great hotel with lots of charm. Staff was friendly and very helpful! Rooms are quiet, but try to get a room near the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard. Room 22 was very clean, spacious, had a comfy bed and a large bathroom.

Only possible concerns were that is was a 10 minute walk from the train and there was some noise from the people that have apartments above the hotel although earplugs took care of that while sleeping. To be expected in a 100 year old building.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

What a wonderful small old hotel, oozing with charm. Furnished in antiques. Spacious comfortable rooms. Owner and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

The personnel are all very helpful and, although they speak very good English, they were willing to help me struggle with my German. My room was #24, on the interior courtyard, which I was thankful for as it was the cool side of the building and there was a heatwave! The room was spacious and very clean, although the double bed would have been very small if there were 2 people in it. It was perfect for one person and a great value. I loved the location, the proximity to Savigny Platz and its restaurants, the KuDamm and virtually all forms of public transportation made it ideal. It was easy to get to all major sights and museums (using public transporation) yet felt more "local" than staying in the former East. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel is brilliant. We stayed in room 12 which was huge.
Rather than me try and describe, just check out the pages on their web site.Thats what we did and at first look went "wow lets stay there". The room 12 photo says it all. We really did sit in our room a few times and thought about just hanging around and soaking up the details of the hotel!
Try a selection of cheeses, cold meats and breads served with a nice bottle of red wine served in your room for an evening snack after a day of sight seeing!!
All the staff were good and the hotel has too many individual touches to try and mention
The area surrounding the hotel was good with a S-Bahn station not far and buses out the front.
My wife loved the the little knitted "hats" that came on top of the boiled eggs at breakfast.... Brilliant!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Recommend highly except for hot days.

This is a fabulous hotel and I could not have been happier...then the temperature in Berlin increased to 90 - 100 degrees with little breeze. The hotel does not have air conditioning and due to the sunny view, our room was sealed by metal blinds to keep the temperature down. We lost our great view of the K'Damm and felt somewhat like prisoners! We asked for a fan and were provided one. We were simply miserable unless sitting closely and directly in the small fan area. I thought our misery was due to our lack of experience in "hot" places but was told by another guest, from Texas, that they had never sweated so much!

The owner commented that it is not necessary to have air conditioning for the 2 weeks of hot weather in Berlin. I agree that this is a waste, however, I would definitely recommend another hotel for that 2 week period!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, NL
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
229 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
345 helpful votes 345 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Difficult to describe this hotel. I stayed here years ago but I always kept it in mind as being special. Now I returned and I was not disappointed. It is not a chain hotel as you have everywhere in the world. It is a small but unique property with its own old-fashioned atmosphere. Look at their website to get a good impression. Free internet. The service was great. The first day I had only 5 minutes left for my breakfast but the lady at the reception desk ensured me that I could not leave without and that she would make me something within a couple of minutes!

Make sure that you know the number at the Kurfürstendamm (number 53), my taxi driver from the airport did not know the hotel and it is not so easy to find along this very long street if you don’t know the number.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Askanischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askanischer Hof

Address: Kurfuerstendamm 53, 10707 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Askanischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Askanischer Hof Berlin
Askanischer Hof Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Askanischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.