We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Newest Berlin Tourist Attraction!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scheers Schnitzel

Scheers Schnitzel
Warschauer Strasse Ecke Stralauer Allee | 10245 Berlin, 10245 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)
+49 1578 8948011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 6,386 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: French, German, Fast Food, Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Friedrichshain
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
194 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“The Newest Berlin Tourist Attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This tiny restaurant is located under the bridge on Mühlenstraße, down the street from the Warchauer subway (U-Bahn). From the outside it doesn't look like much, however thankfully to all the TripAdvisor posts, I decided to drag my girlfriend here to try their schnitzel. For 5.00 Euro you get a huge Schnitzel, fries and a salad. You can see from the attached pictures that you get it on a paper plate, but don't let that fool you, it's GREAT!

MY TIP: Get off at the Berlin Ostbahnhof and walk south to Mühlenstraße, turn left and follow the East Side Gallery (artistic Berlin wall) until you get to the bridge. Hidden on the cross corner you'll find this great restaurant. Weather permitting, take your lunch "to go", then head back to grassy area behind the wall. Here you can enjoy your lunch away from the traffic and in peace while getting a moment to soak in the sun and relax by the lazy river!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    66
    19
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good German Fodder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A sneaky little gem. The Schnitzel is cheap and authentic, located just around the corner from the East Side Gallery and down the road from Warschauer Strasse and Michelberger Hotel.

It's a place that even locals go to, which says a lot.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible: Schnitzel, Fries, and green salat €5,=”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

In the neighbourhood of O2 stadium we visited Scheers Schnitzel.
5€ à plate.
Incredible!
Schnitzel, fries and salat was ok and sufficiënt.
Dont except any service, but who cares. You' ll for five euro.
:-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well, even though you will eat your schnitzel from paper plate you may find it really enjoyable, we did. 5€ portion of schnitzel, fries and salad is great value for what you get. Schnitzel was tender and tasty, selection of good local beers and sodas is was good too. I'd go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ALTERNATIVE RESTAURANT BUT EXCELLENT FOOD AT A BARGAIN PRICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Scheers Schnitzel is a rather unique restaurant: very "alternative" in the sense that the customer helps himself, eats in disposable paper dishes and can make drawings in the walls. But the schnitzel is excellent!!! Actually, it is the only option available in practice since the vegetarian dish does not seem to be very enticing. Some reviews claim the Scheers serves the best schnitzel in Berlin and this may be true. And to make it even better: at a bargain price!!! My wife and myself ate three shnitzels with coke and we paid Euros 13.30! We spent one week in Berlin and we went there twice. Besides the excellent food, the location of the Scheers is very convenient for two simple reasons: (i) it is located in the final metro station Warsaw and (ii) the East Side Gallery (the old Berlin Wall) is just in front of the Scheers. One just has to cross the street. Whenever we return to Berlin, we will certainly eat in the Scheers again. Meton Gadelha

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scheers Schnitzel also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Scheers Schnitzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scheers Schnitzel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.