We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scheers Schnitzel

Scheers Schnitzel
Warschauer Strasse Ecke Stralauer Allee | 10245 Berlin, 10245 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)
+49 1578 8948011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 6,277 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: French, German, Fast Food, Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Friedrichshain
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well, even though you will eat your schnitzel from paper plate you may find it really enjoyable, we did. 5€ portion of schnitzel, fries and salad is great value for what you get. Schnitzel was tender and tasty, selection of good local beers and sodas is was good too. I'd go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    64
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ALTERNATIVE RESTAURANT BUT EXCELLENT FOOD AT A BARGAIN PRICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Scheers Schnitzel is a rather unique restaurant: very "alternative" in the sense that the customer helps himself, eats in disposable paper dishes and can make drawings in the walls. But the schnitzel is excellent!!! Actually, it is the only option available in practice since the vegetarian dish does not seem to be very enticing. Some reviews claim the Scheers serves the best schnitzel in Berlin and this may be true. And to make it even better: at a bargain price!!! My wife and myself ate three shnitzels with coke and we paid Euros 13.30! We spent one week in Berlin and we went there twice. Besides the excellent food, the location of the Scheers is very convenient for two simple reasons: (i) it is located in the final metro station Warsaw and (ii) the East Side Gallery (the old Berlin Wall) is just in front of the Scheers. One just has to cross the street. Whenever we return to Berlin, we will certainly eat in the Scheers again. Meton Gadelha

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A good tender schnitzel, could use more flavor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

The schnitzel was very thin and tender, and the crust had a good crunch. Could have used some spice in the batter, wanted to use some ketchup. Location is easy to find, but might be a little off the beaten path for many tourists.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Found this little gem through Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. We had a nice Salat (salad), warm German Potato salad, and schnitzel for 5 Euros. You had a choice of several topics for the Schnizal, and we tried them all. I liked the garlic best. The food was really good and the service was great. The food was served on paper plates and it was just a little hole in the wall, but that is what gave it its charm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Schnitzel is PORK! Not chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Ordered some schnitzel and being an ignorant engrishman that I am, did not know what it was.

It looked a lot like thinly sliced battered chicken, which I dreaded trying because I HATE chicken!

Thankfully, schnitzel turned out to be pork!

The schnitzel sandwich was ridiculously nice! Especially with a bit BBQ sauce on top. Could have ate 3 more!

I never had the fries, but they looked nice and all the lads didn't complain!

If you're staying at the Plus Berlin hostel, it is a stone's throw away! Definitely a visit for some quick, cheap, tasty food!

Also, there's an american guy working in there (the rest are german I think). He seemed to think we'd all be happy for some shots of Jäger! (BLOODY AMERICANS! Haha) Great guy, Jäger's obviously disgusting on it's own and not with redbull.

All the staff were friendly and quick at serving. Seems to be a really laidback café.

Also, 500ml bottles of Berlinger are a must! 2 of those as we were eating at a cheap price of €1.50.

A MUST SEE/EATING PLACE IN BERLIN!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scheers Schnitzel also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Scheers Schnitzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scheers Schnitzel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.