We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALTERNATIVE RESTAURANT BUT EXCELLENT FOOD AT A BARGAIN PRICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scheers Schnitzel

Scheers Schnitzel
Warschauer Strasse Ecke Stralauer Allee, 10245 Berlin, Germany
015788948011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 5,953 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: German, Vegetarian, Fast Food, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ALTERNATIVE RESTAURANT BUT EXCELLENT FOOD AT A BARGAIN PRICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Scheers Schnitzel is a rather unique restaurant: very "alternative" in the sense that the customer helps himself, eats in disposable paper dishes and can make drawings in the walls. But the schnitzel is excellent!!! Actually, it is the only option available in practice since the vegetarian dish does not seem to be very enticing. Some reviews claim the Scheers serves the best schnitzel in Berlin and this may be true. And to make it even better: at a bargain price!!! My wife and myself ate three shnitzels with coke and we paid Euros 13.30! We spent one week in Berlin and we went there twice. Besides the excellent food, the location of the Scheers is very convenient for two simple reasons: (i) it is located in the final metro station Warsaw and (ii) the East Side Gallery (the old Berlin Wall) is just in front of the Scheers. One just has to cross the street. Whenever we return to Berlin, we will certainly eat in the Scheers again. Meton Gadelha

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    44
    13
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A good tender schnitzel, could use more flavor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

The schnitzel was very thin and tender, and the crust had a good crunch. Could have used some spice in the batter, wanted to use some ketchup. Location is easy to find, but might be a little off the beaten path for many tourists.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Found this little gem through Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. We had a nice Salat (salad), warm German Potato salad, and schnitzel for 5 Euros. You had a choice of several topics for the Schnizal, and we tried them all. I liked the garlic best. The food was really good and the service was great. The food was served on paper plates and it was just a little hole in the wall, but that is what gave it its charm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Schnitzel is PORK! Not chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Ordered some schnitzel and being an ignorant engrishman that I am, did not know what it was.

It looked a lot like thinly sliced battered chicken, which I dreaded trying because I HATE chicken!

Thankfully, schnitzel turned out to be pork!

The schnitzel sandwich was ridiculously nice! Especially with a bit BBQ sauce on top. Could have ate 3 more!

I never had the fries, but they looked nice and all the lads didn't complain!

If you're staying at the Plus Berlin hostel, it is a stone's throw away! Definitely a visit for some quick, cheap, tasty food!

Also, there's an american guy working in there (the rest are german I think). He seemed to think we'd all be happy for some shots of Jäger! (BLOODY AMERICANS! Haha) Great guy, Jäger's obviously disgusting on it's own and not with redbull.

All the staff were friendly and quick at serving. Seems to be a really laidback café.

Also, 500ml bottles of Berlinger are a must! 2 of those as we were eating at a cheap price of €1.50.

A MUST SEE/EATING PLACE IN BERLIN!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Alternative fastfood - Berlin style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

An awesome and somewhat different fastfood place. Forget McDonalds and other crap, when in Berlin, go to Scheers Schnitzel! Great schnitzels, offered with fries or an absolutely njummy kartoffelsalat! And all that for only €5! Ok, you don't get a fancy plate or cuttery, but a cardboard plate and clearly much-used cuttery, but who cares. The schnitzels taste awesome, and when eating here, you really feel like on of the locals. The staff was superhelpfull and as we tried in our very best German to order, they didn't mind switching to English when we didn't understand something.

So, when visiting the East Side Gallery, and at the end (or start, depending where you start) you get hungry, go to Scheers Schnitzel!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scheers Schnitzel also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Scheers Schnitzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scheers Schnitzel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.