We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon - Green

Saigon - Green
Kantstrasse 23 | Stadtteil Charlottenburg, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
03045086342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 6,236 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
szeged
1 review
“just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

excellent food and service! fair price. will defenitely go again, delicious!! the rice and chicken slices in lime, pumpkin and coconut souce was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    63
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a very enjoyable meal here, the food was very good quality and well priced. We did however find the menu a bit confusing (but dd not ask for an english version!). If you like Wagamammas you will love this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine. Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Saigon Green is an authentic Vietnamese restaurant in West Berlin. The food is awesome but the service is okay. After receiving five star service at Saigon and more, the service here cannot even begin to compare. They CHARGE you for TAP water. If you order more than one glass then they charge. I have never heard of this kind of nonsense before.

To start, we tried the following spring rolls

Autumn Rolls: Rice paper rolls with marinated beef, sesame salad, cucumbers, spring onions, rice noodles, and herbs

Lucky Rolls: Rice paper spring rolls with vegetables and plum chili noodles. These rolls are fried. I wish the description clearly stated this but they were still tasty.

We tried the following Pho soups:

Pho Bo: rice noodles with beef in broth, ginger, and green lemon

Bun Mang: Vietnamese rice noodle soup with spicy bamboo, tofu, chili, and ginger

Sup Mien Ga: Glass noodle soup with chicken broth, vegetables, sesame oil, chives and ginger

Sup Wan Tan: Homemade spicy soup with vegetables, classic wontons stuffed with shrimp and chicken, snow peas and herbs

For salad supplements, we tried the following:

Goi Chay: Salad of fresh cabbage, tofu, red onions, celery, glass noodles, herbs and peanuts.

Goi Mekong: Flavored spicy glass noodles with shrimp, vegetables, peanuts, sesame seeds, and herbs.

I loved both sets of spring rolls. The Goi Mekong salad was the best. The shrimp was so fresh and the flavor was absolutely delightful. All four pho soups that we tried had their own unique and flavorful broths. The only one I did not like was the Bun Mang. The rice noodles in this soup were okay. I think the glass noodles in the Sup Mein Ga are much better. All of the dishes with glass noodles were phenomenal.

Overall, the food here is authentic and certainly worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If you like Thai u will love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very lively, plenty going on.
Food excellent, service great, lots of choice, all freshly cooked, very vert tasty,
Everybody seems to speak English, menus also in English

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very tasty takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We used this for takeaway only unfortunately, but that was excellent - very tasty and well priced. Judging by passing the place by in the evenings - it is very popular, always full of people, even in workdays.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon - Green also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Saigon - Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon - Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.