We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon - Green

Saigon - Green
Kantstrasse 23 | Stadtteil Charlottenburg, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
03045086342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 6,375 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a very enjoyable meal here, the food was very good quality and well priced. We did however find the menu a bit confusing (but dd not ask for an english version!). If you like Wagamammas you will love this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    71
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine. Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Saigon Green is an authentic Vietnamese restaurant in West Berlin. The food is awesome but the service is okay. After receiving five star service at Saigon and more, the service here cannot even begin to compare. They CHARGE you for TAP water. If you order more than one glass then they charge. I have never heard of this kind of nonsense before.

To start, we tried the following spring rolls

Autumn Rolls: Rice paper rolls with marinated beef, sesame salad, cucumbers, spring onions, rice noodles, and herbs

Lucky Rolls: Rice paper spring rolls with vegetables and plum chili noodles. These rolls are fried. I wish the description clearly stated this but they were still tasty.

We tried the following Pho soups:

Pho Bo: rice noodles with beef in broth, ginger, and green lemon

Bun Mang: Vietnamese rice noodle soup with spicy bamboo, tofu, chili, and ginger

Sup Mien Ga: Glass noodle soup with chicken broth, vegetables, sesame oil, chives and ginger

Sup Wan Tan: Homemade spicy soup with vegetables, classic wontons stuffed with shrimp and chicken, snow peas and herbs

For salad supplements, we tried the following:

Goi Chay: Salad of fresh cabbage, tofu, red onions, celery, glass noodles, herbs and peanuts.

Goi Mekong: Flavored spicy glass noodles with shrimp, vegetables, peanuts, sesame seeds, and herbs.

I loved both sets of spring rolls. The Goi Mekong salad was the best. The shrimp was so fresh and the flavor was absolutely delightful. All four pho soups that we tried had their own unique and flavorful broths. The only one I did not like was the Bun Mang. The rice noodles in this soup were okay. I think the glass noodles in the Sup Mein Ga are much better. All of the dishes with glass noodles were phenomenal.

Overall, the food here is authentic and certainly worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you like Thai u will love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very lively, plenty going on.
Food excellent, service great, lots of choice, all freshly cooked, very vert tasty,
Everybody seems to speak English, menus also in English

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very tasty takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We used this for takeaway only unfortunately, but that was excellent - very tasty and well priced. Judging by passing the place by in the evenings - it is very popular, always full of people, even in workdays.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunspeet, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good Vietnamese restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We've been to this restaurant during our 5 day trip to Berlin and we loved it! The restaurant looks very modern, nice and clean and has a good atmosphere! The staff is very friendly, helpful and quick! And the food is delicious! We have been to another Vietnamese restaurant in Berlin as well, but this one was definately better and more authentic! We took about 8 little bites (we were with 3 persons) which was enough and they were all good! It's also qute cheap, the starters/little bites are about 3,50/4,00 each and the main dishes (pho) around 7,00/8,00! I would love to have a restaurant like this close to me in Holland

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon - Green also viewed

 

Been to Saigon - Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon - Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.