We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon - Green

Saigon - Green
Kantstrasse 23 | Stadtteil Charlottenburg, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
03045086342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 5,796 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mitte
Hull
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a nice evening meal here a few days ago.....me and my girlfriend tried a mixture of 6 starters and rice along with a beer and a non alcoholic fruit cocktail for around 25 euros. The food was all fresh, decent portion size and a couple of the starters in particular very very tasty! Place was busy but managed to get a table, staff very friendly whilst very busy! Very good value and i would definately return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    51
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Perfect Birthday Dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I recently had a birthday in Berlin; not a common thing for someone from Australia who took a 22hr flight to get here. I wanted something nice but not expensive as we had 4 other countries to visit in Europe and Saigon Green was perfect!

I wanted Vietnamese food because I was born there and I am from a traditional Vietnamese family. The reason why I didn't go to the #2 ranking restaurant in Berlin which is also Vietnamese was because the review about the owner was over the top for me. I just wanted a quiet dinner with good food and atmosphere so I chose Saigon Green.

On to the review. When we arrived the place was packed. Like most busy Asian restaurants they try to seat as many ppl in as little space as possible so at the start we shared a table with another couple. But as space freed up we moved across and had our own table. The owner is a Vietnamese woman who was very accommodating. Knowing the food, ordering was easy but rest assured the menu has an English translation. So between the both of us my partner and I had 6 starters (costing 3.5euros each), he had a beer and I had a fruit mocktail and our bill came to 28euros. Wow. It was cheaper than expected. I will say that the starters are small but they are perfect tasting plates for 2 people. Had we been hungrier we would have added on a main or 2 more starters and being full (and he's a big eater!). I highly recommend the duck wrapped in pancake and pork buns. Yum!

Well worth it for the price; go there!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good food, good service. Very calm on Sunday afternoon, not too many tourists. Fresh and inexpensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Great food, great staff, a bit too busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Really enjoyed the food and the staff were eager to get everything right. We went on a Tuesday night (but it was January 2nd) and the place was packed. Thanks to the fast turnover we got a table fairly quickly, but it took a while for them to take our order and for the drinks and the food to arrive. Both food and drink were delicious and light. The service was in English and very friendly. There was a misunderstanding with the drinks and one of the mains, but this was promptly corrected at no charge to us. Overall, a great meal out :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing quality at honest prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from eating at Saigon - Green. All I can say is wow - the food was tremendous, good service and very cheap, unlike many other restaurants in this part of Berlin. We ate 8 'small' dishes to sample as much as possible and each dish was immaculately presented and tasted exquisite - all for just 3.50 euros each! The drinks on offer were cheap and the Ice fruit juices excellent and complimented the meal well. Staff spoke good English and were very friendly. All in all diner was 40 euros with drinks for 2 people and at that quality the price is extremely impressive. I would definitely eat here again if in Berlin!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon - Green also viewed

 

Been to Saigon - Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon - Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.