We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting food, slightly different, nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basim

Basim
Imanuelkirchstrasse 7, 10405 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)
030 400 568-10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #655 of 6,035 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting food, slightly different, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The evening we arrived in Berlin we walked to this restaurant that was at a corner of 2 streets close to our hotel. It was a hot summer night, all tables outside were occupied. But we were seated inside, close to the door and open windows. I was starving for a beer, and my wife had a Chardonnay. I had the Spargel Schnitze, very original and very tasty, with a glass of red housewine. My wife had trout with a Sauvignon blanc, which she enjoyed very much. Coffees were very good, perfect Berlin style. Icewater was free, and that is how it should be.The cook has an interesting ecclectic cooking style, we did not have before, so an interesting experience. The restaurant itself is very friendly, they also have a nice collection of magazines to read. It was a little bit more expensive: we paid € 65 for 2 main courses and drinks. If you like something different in this area (Prenzlauer Berg), you will enjoy this reastaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food that is interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Everything was outstanding and eye opening and fun. Never has interesting food tasted so good. My only regret is that we had too much good food and didn't have room for desert.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Grear place and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Great cuisine, tasty food with a twist, big portions even for my teenager sons. Worth going. The only minus came from a long wait between the starter and main course.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basim is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is absolutely one of the best restaurants in the Prenzlauer Berg neighborhood of Berlin. Perhaps it's because he is half Lebanese that Basim knows how to take fresh, regional ingredients and turn them into delightful continental meals. His chicken with chanterelle mushrooms is light but satisfying, his shakshuka is wonderful and his pumpkin soup is divine.
We've eaten there twice and were thrilled with his perfect combination of traditional and new cooking. The atmosphere is warm, quiet and attentive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

The corner is as beautiful but not as crowded as the streets around Kollwitz Platz on the other side of Prenzlauer Allee. We went here one warm Friday evening when tables were moved out to the pavement in order to seat all the guests outside. It seemed that waitresses were more busy than usual but they coped reasonably well and with a pleasant behaviur. The menu is fairly short but well balanced. They also have a selection of Flammkuchen. We had some delicious main dishes and deserts. Inside the restaurant is very simply decorated, without the clinical feeling of minimalistic design. Just white walls, wooden floor and square wood tables with rustic chairs. Prices are average which means you get good value for your money here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basim also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Basim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.