We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable convenient location for Berlin Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gendarm nouveau

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gendarm nouveau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gendarm nouveau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlottenstr 61, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 664 hotels in Berlin
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A comfortable convenient location for Berlin Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I ended up at this newish boutique hotel as part of a business meeting in Berlin, where our local office is a couple of streets away, and we took on the 7th floor dining area/meeting room for about 20 people. It certainly would not do for more, and I only counted about 35 rooms in total. The location is good in the newly refurbished east berlin, near to Stadtmitte subway station. It cost about 20 Euros to get there in a taxi from Tegel airport. There are few staff, and the reception desk seems unmanned some of the time. There is a small lobby and bar, but it is not big enough to make it a focus of the hotel, and I can only imagine that all the drinking happens in the many smart establishments around. It is next to a very famous chocolate shop, and there is an endless bowl of samples.
Rooms are adequately sized by local standard and comfortable. They are limited for working in by size and layout, but there is free wifi, and it is quiet. Beds are comfortable but the duvet could probably be with being bigger, as it is two single covers on two single beds put together. I had a room with a wet-room/shower. The sink was one of the modern kind that you cannot put a plug in. Seems strange for a country that is so obsessed with the environment that (hot)water is allowed to drain away immediately. One thing I could not find was a control for the heating, and as Berlin is somewhat colder than London at the time of the visit, I would have appreciated some control.
We had our breakfast in the 7th floor panorama room. Not really a panorama, more a roof height view. Breakfast was up to standard, but the hot food had been lying around for some time, and the scrambled eggs were so solid, that I did not even bother with them. If I was paying the 23 euros that is normally charged for this privilege, I would have been mightily distressed.
Everything was clean and fresh in the hotel and at the time of writing nothing showed signs of age and wear.
We did have a business finger food lunch, and this was excellent.

Room Tip: Room on the 7th floor east view might be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
62
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a really excellent hotel, small, very comfortable and within walking distance of many of the main sight such as Checkpoint Charlie, Unter den Linden, Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag. If you are into shopping it is only a block away from Freidrichstrasse with many fine shops including the only branch of Galleries Lafayette outside Paris.

At the hotel we found the rooms extremely well designed and comfortable. The beds were great and my friend was lyrical about the comfort of the pillows. Some other reviewers have found the rooms and especially the bathrooms a bit on the small side. We did not find this at all though we each had a room to ourselves so this obviously helped. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Some have commented on the price of the breakfast as being on the high side at 15 Euros. True but we sampled a number of different places close by and for small breakfasts yes don't use the hotel. But if you want to eat a hearty breakfast and to have a vast choice from bacon and eggs to croissant, meat and fruit, you can't beat the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed there in the early Autumn so weren't bothered by alack of air conditioning. On check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not only is it in a fantastic location, with good transport links, wonderful local attractions and some good restaurants in the area, the hotel itself was great. The service was excellent, the rooms modern and comfortable. Breakfast was perhaps a bit overpriced and I was surprised that something that seemed to have been renovated so recently had no airconditioning - particularly because I was there in June when it was warmer. But overall, a great experience. I will stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Was a really wonderful experience. Would love to stay here again.

We arrived early and got an early check in and an upgrade. The room is modern, clean and beautifully designed. The bathroom was large and the beds were really comfortable. Only problem was we didn't want to leave the room!

The continental breakfast had great quality food. I like that if you pre-booked it was discounted, but you were only charged if you actually had the breakfast.

Location is walking distance to so many tourist attractions and right across the road from the metro.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It's a great little hotel in a great location. But I was at the front of the hotel and experienced disturbed sleep due to noise from the streets - I had to have the windows open as there was no AC or Fan .. and the room was hot without the window open. I also found the pillows far too soft and loose to be comfortable. Otherwise a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lovely, small and friendly hotel with great location, easy walking distance from many of the Berlin sights. If you do not want to walk, the subway is just around the corner. Tip: If you are 4-5 persons, buy "Gruppenkarte" from the ticket machine, it allows you to travel all the day in Berlin for EUR 15,50, you just need to travel together.
Rooms are lovely, modernly decorated with spacious bathroom, also very clean. We paid some extra and booked a room with air condition and got a wonderful room with even a small balcony overlooking the Gendarmenmarkt. We did not use the AC, it was not so warm, we just left he balcony door ajar for the night and were not bothered about the noise in the street. We stayed four nights and slept like logs after huge German dinners and a couple of night caps at the very reasonably priced hotel lobby bar. Friendly staff, very good breakfast. We will give full points for this hotel. and whenever in Berlin, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. It was a real find. The hotel has been beautifully renovated and the rooms are lovely, spacious, clean, fantastic bathroom and a most pleasant and helpful staff and the price is right!!!!! I would say that the only drawback might be the lack of airconditioning, though we were there just last week (August 4-9) and the nights were cool and breezy and the lack of airconditioning was not a problem. Also, no need to spend 16 euros for the hotel breakfast as there are many cafes in the area that are open for breakfast as well as the food court in the Q Center right across the street.
To make the stay even better is the LOCATION of this wonderful little hotel. Located on the corner of the beautiful Gendarmen Market you are literally in the center of all of the wondorous sites and museums in East Berlin. We were able to walk anywhere and everywhere --the farthest walk being about 35 minutes --and that was due to my slow walking husband!!! There are countless restaurants of every price range and food types right in the area.
The Underground is right on the corner and the hotel is a short ride from and to the Tegel Airport.
The taxi was about 19 Euros and the TXL Bus to and from the airport is about a 7 minute walk from the hotel.
Again this hotel is a JEWEl and for LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION well, I've said it all.

Room Tip: We had an inside room and our son had a room facing the street. A bit of street noise on the weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gendarm nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gendarm nouveau

Address: Charlottenstr 61, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#82 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gendarm nouveau 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most beautiful places in Europe.To keep Berlin and the Gendarmen Markt in wonderful remembrance,the Gendarm nouveau Team will give its best to create you an awesome time through charming service, little surprises and great comfort during your stay.We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Gendarm nouveau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gendarm Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gendarm nouveau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.